The land of no internet…

Tomorrow I’ll be visiting friends over at Aberystwyth, which is where I went to university until last May. It’s a nice place. But these friends currently have no internet, and haven’t really had a stable connection for over half a year. They’re anime fans like myself, formerly relying on the internet for their fix of weekly ongoing series, but from what I last heard they’ve not been watching much outside of the university’s anime society. Plenty of other things to do in Aber at least; if I had no internet for, say, the next 6 months, I would struggle to cope. The reserves on my hard drives could last a while if I rationed them carefully, but it wouldn’t be much fun. It would make job searching pretty tricky as well…

Anyway, when we meet up I’ve no idea what we’ll talk about. For me, the past month has all been about the winter anime season, along with a few older series on the side that I know they haven’t watched. For them, I’m guessing it’s been nothing but exams, not the most thrilling topic once you’ve got past the basic ‘how did it go?’ question. In terms of anime, when I last spoke to them properly they hadn’t even seen the endings for some of the spring/summer series of last year. I’m sure the conversations will come easily once I’m there and talking to them, but when I think about how we were living together this time last year, watching a lot of the same series and discussing them over food and at the society etc, it really shows how much things have changed in the last year.

I’ve been updating my blog daily without fail, but this weekend failure is my only option. Next post will probably be Monday. 🙂

One Response to The land of no internet…

  1. keoje says:

    no internet? *dies*

    Back to TV. 😛

Leave a Reply

