More anime stuff

I expected this post to be about how awesome Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei was, complimenting the animation, music and overall quirkiness of the first episode. But while it excelled in all those areas, it also had a main character who spoke at such a ridiculously high speed that reading subs was virtually impossible. I tried at first, but it just left me raging out loud. Don’t ask me what was actually happening on screen at the time either, as all my attention was on the subs. So by the end of the episode I’d given up entirely, and was just sitting back looking at the pretty pictures. And (unlike some, more straightforward series) there was no way I could follow what was happening just by doing that.

And so, I’ve picked up Shin Koihime Musou ~Otome Tairan~ instead. Just the type of thing I needed to recover. If there’s any series this season that I could understand even without subs it would be this. Searching for rare items is a common theme in many games and game adaptations, though maybe the ‘belly button lint of a Nanban elephant’ is a bit weirder than your usual quest item… Anyway, it’s more or less the same crazy antics as in the last couple of series, but somehow it manages to avoid becoming repetitive.

Other anime I’ve watched today include the ending of Read Or Die (which wasn’t bad BTW), a couple of episodes of One Piece (the fight against the Mr 4 pair, crazy stuff), the third episode of RAINBOW (*rages at file size* dark series is dark) and the first episode of Toradora (WTF?). A really mixed bunch when I look at them together like that. 😛

However, my anime supplies are running on empty. The 10 or so series I have on my hard drives won’t last me long at the rate I’m watching them. There’s loads out there that I want to see, but with my lame internet connection getting hold of even one series will be time consuming. Therefore, I’ve put together a shortlist of anime series that I consider top priority. I say shortlist, but it’s got 42 titles on it. A little bit excessive maybe. And so I’d like to ask a favor of the few people who read this blog: here’s a poll with two series, so please pick the one you’d most want me to watch.

7 Responses to More anime stuff

  1. Caraniel says:

    Guess what I voted!? 😆 *hint: its the one I’ve seen*

    I’ve been neglecting my completed series lately – havent seen much Reborn! and didnt actually get to restart Real Drive yet ❓

    • I could probably guess even without the hint. 😛 And I will be keeping to the result of this poll, no matter what it may be!

      At the moment, all the ongoing series I’m watching seem to keep releasing over the weekend, whereas in the past they’ve been a bit more spread out. So I watch them all on Saturday – Monday, and find myself with nothing other than complete series + my epic One Piece backlog to turn to for the rest of the week.

  2. fuck the poll watch junjou anyway

  3. Caraniel says:

    Nooo! Who voted Marimite!?

  4. Aiko says:

    Although I didn’t vote for Maria-sama ga Miteru above, I have now, simply because I believe you’ll likely to prefer it over Junjou Romantica. It’s the superior to Strawberry Panic!, after all. 😛

Leave a Reply

