Jellyfish don’t make good gardeners.

At least that’s the conclusion Plas Tan y Bwlch has arrived at. Apparently I work too slowly, probably because I get into so many stinging fights with nettles and midges. And so as of yesterday I’m no longer working there, but if all goes according to plan I’ll be doing the full 25 hours A4e expect of me at Barnardos, starting next week. Which helps Plas because they can get back up to speed with all their tasks, and it helps Barnardos because they’re seriously understaffed.

From my own point of view, this change comes with advantages and disadvantages. I mean, I’d just gotten to like that weird, unnatural ball of light and heat that floats in the sky outside… yes, the potato… and now I’m having to stay inside again. But at least I won’t get eaten by insects. I’ll miss the variation of working in two places, but there’s plenty of variation in the work at Barnardos alone. I’ll have longer lunch breaks (1 hour out of my 5 a day is actually free time!), but it doesn’t take me that long to eat sandwiches and apples, so I read a lot during this time. More reading is good, but it also means more money spent on manga… Very much a case of swings and roundabouts, and I always preferred see-saws myself. One thing I won’t miss is having to bring my own milk in my lunch box for cups of tea, as on hotter days it always seems to go sour by the time lunch comes around.

Not much more to say other than that, I’ll just have to see how it goes next week!

Leave a Reply

