Return to Aberystwyth

So I’m now back in Aberystwyth, a student once more. Still adjusting to the unfamiliar surroundings that are my new house and bedroom. This move was a week later than planned, thanks to the previous occupant leaving the in no fit state for inhabitation, but I’d only planned on lazing around and watching anime in that time since registration + lectures don’t start until later this week. Now I’m being forced up to campus at 9:30 AM for an induction session the day after arriving, and I expect to be increasingly busy from then onwards.

And it seems that a delayed arrival wasn’t the only bad omen in store for me. I’ve already locked myself out once, forcing me to make my way to the landlady’s house barefoot and without my glasses (don’t ask). Thank goodness she lives just across the road. The fact that getting locked out supposedly happens to everyone doesn’t make me feel any less stupid, it just makes me empathize with the 100s of other idiots (mostly students I’d guess) who’ve probably made the same mistake today.

I had hoped that would be the end of my bad luck, but less than an hour ago I made myself a cup of tea (peppermint – haven’t bought any milk yet)… and my brand new cup started leaking. Cracked right down the side. It’s very reminiscent of my first ever day as a student in Aber, four years ago, when I managed to break the handle clean off a new cup. I ended up keeping that one as a desktop pencil holder for the three years that followed, and that’s what I’ll be using the cup I broke earlier for as well.

To top it all, I swear I was told by the landlady when I first visited the place that it had unlimited broadband. It isn’t, it has a 60 GB download limit. And since there’s 6 of us in the house, I’m can only use 10 GB of that or get into trouble with the other housemates when our connection gets slowed/stopped. Apparently the rest of the house uses some software to monitor their usage (and thus prove they’re not to blame if it happens), which I’ve requested they send to me too. As long as I’ve got that to keep count for me, I should be able to keep within my fair share.

But it’s not all bad. My room as it is now is definitely inhabitable, I’ll remember to keep my key on me whenever I lock my door in future, I have a new pencil holder, the three housemates I’ve met all seem nice, and the former occupant’s laziness/forgetfulness means that, as well as all the junk he left lying around that’s now been dumped, he’s also left behind plenty of potentially salvageable food, and a cup to replace the one I broke. WIN.

3 Responses to Return to Aberystwyth

  1. “the landlady’s house barefoot and without my glasses” Im asking :|, explain this please 🙂

    hmmm this previous guy going over the download limit and leaving his room unfit for human habitation, maybe he was a stereotypical otaku :O

  2. trueredesu says:

    I had a 50gb cap at a 4 person house. For the first year it was generally ok, but there were times when the internet would slow to a grind for the last week or so of a month .__.

  3. trueredesu says:

    Oh looking over this again (forgot I’d read this post) I didn’t lock myself out once in three years at Uni :smug:

Leave a Reply

