2010 Anime – Best 10 ED Themes

Okay, I failed to cut the list down. What can I say, it’s been a particularly good year for EDs. They must make up at least 75% of my anime theme downloads this year. So starting from 10 this time:

10: Shin Koihime Musou ~Otome Tairan~

Easily the weakest of the Koihime Musou themes, but still catchy as hell. For me, it’s one of those songs that I can’t get out of my head once it’s there. It takes a special series to last 3 seasons by basically repeating the same jokes over and over with a wafer thin plot and yet still remain funny, yet Koihime manages just that.

9: Hakuouki Shinsengumi Kitan

Here you go, all the bishonen characters that the lack of A-P screenshots deprived you of when I last brought this series up. For all this series’ faults, I like that ED. Not my usual kind of song either. But my taste in music is pretty random to begin with.

8: Assobi ni Iku yo!

LOL, SEE WHAT I DID THERE? This is actually ED 3 of 4, quite a few songs for a short series, but that seems common these days (Hanamaru Kindergarten and High School of the Dead had even more). While the ED sequence is just one long fanservice shot, the song is quickly becoming one of my most played this month.

7: Hidamari Sketch Hoshimittsu

This, and the song at number 6, are the reason I couldn’t cut it down to 5 songs. 10 – 8 are fun, but they’re not ‘awesome’. Hidamari Sketch is a series I usually associate with having great OPs, but Marble won this time around. Here’s hoping for more Hidamari Sketch seasons and more great themes to go with them!

6: Seikon no Qwaser

MOAR FANSERVICE! Don’t know why the video is labeled uncensored though, there’s nothing there that wasn’t on the massacred TV version. Oh, and guess what just got green lit for a sequel? Breast milk as a plot device is weird, admittedly, but everything else about this series was awesome IMO, and that certainly includes the music.

5: Yumeiro Patissiere Professional

Sowa sowa sowa, so-waffle wonderful… That’s put Yuuki Rinrin out of my head at last. 😛 But yeah, cycling spirits floating in the sky to a song full of Engrish and shooby dooby sweets. Despite the fact that season 2 is quickly becoming a trainwreck, the themes definitely beat those of the original series.

4: Arakawa Under the Bridge x Bridge

Yes, it’s live action, but this is the actual TV version. And it’s awesome. Getting a group together to cosplay Arakawa would be hilarious, but not many people in Aber’s anime soc have seen it, and they have their own cosplay ideas. Stupid free will. Also, I wouldn’t know where to begin making a kappa suit. Oh, the song… it rules!

3: Ookami-kakushi

The ED suffered the same youtube cull as the OP did, though this time at least one version lived to tell the tale… Same warning applies as always – get the soundtrack by all means, the music is spectacular,  but don’t subject yourself to the series.

2: Angel Beats!

Part of me wonders whether this should be at number 1, but it’s difficult to compare two such amazing yet completely different songs. And based on what I feel like listening to right now, Brave Song just misses out. The series itself started strong, had it’s moments mid-series, and didn’t end terribly either, but the bits inbetween were quite painful.

1: Shiki

I make no apologies for constantly praising this series. Once again, Buck Tick made a song that I like, that’s even better than their OP! Forget playing it in my head, I’ve caught myself singing this aloud (badly) on many occasions. It’s great background music for when I’m playing internet games, hence the huge increase in plays now my assignments are over.

Honourable mention: Katanagatari

This series had a lot of decent EDs, though I’ve picked the first one, Yousei Teikoku’s Tasogare no Getsuka. Just beats Ali Project’s Yuki no Onna. Since each ED was only played once I decided not to include them in the main ranking, but suffice to say both songs would be competitors for places in my top 3.

My next post will be an extension of my OP post – it’s only fair I make that a top 10 list too now (the worst series will remain at 5 though, or I’d be forced to include decent stuff). I realize things are starting to get a bit messy, but this was never the most orderly of blogs to begin with.

Leave a Reply

