Update – AngryJellyFails Again!

On April the 4th, a week after one of the hottest days of the year, my phone line was brought down in a strong blizzard which I assumed was an April fools joke when I heard the forecast three days before. This took out my phone and internet. We were quick to report the problem, and BT were quick to respond, saying they’d fix it within four working days. The problem is, working days are in short supply over Easter… so it ended up being seven days overall. And then I had a power cut the morning after it was fixed, just to troll me further.

Everything is back to normal now, including the amount of free time I have – my work placement at the libraries has ended, and very fun it was too. However, I have a week’s worth of Spring season episodes to catch up on, as well as all sorts of other responsibilities (I have job searching to do, I’m running the village pub quiz next Tuesday, and I should probably find out what day I’m graduating as well). All this at a time I’m supposed to be preparing to thrash Cara in the Aniblog Tourney… she’s been very busy with new seasons impressions in the week I’ve been disconnected. 😐

Anyway, just an update on what I have planned for the near future: obviously catching up on Mirai Nikki is a priority, since I’m now two weeks behind. My end of season post will follow soon after, as Mirai Nikki is the only thing from last season which is due to finish but hasn’t yet. The aforementioned Aniblog Tourney match against Cara is scheduled for the 16th (ours HAD to be one of the earliest matches, didn’t it :?) – a full list of dates for the other matches can be found here. I haven’t given up on my ‘Overlooked and Underrated’ posts, and hope to have at least one posted this month (no promises). Finally, I plan to have some sort of weekly ranking post up for the new season’s shows. Inspired by Anime Power Rankings, but it’ll be own personal list, and I won’t go into detail about why I’ve ranked them the way I have – I still plan to do mid and end of season summaries, which is when I’ll really say what I think, though feel free to ask the reasons behind my weekly rankings in the comments. 🙂

I decided to do this because my thoughts change so much from week to week; examples from recent seasons would be my rapidly declining opinion of Guilty Crown and Amagami SS+, and Danshi Koukousei‘s mix of fantastic eps and dire eps. I also have a tendency to up-rate series if the later episodes were good, and down-rate series if the later eps were bad, regardless of the quality of the series overall, so hopefully having a record of my thoughts over the whole season to refer to will help prevent that from happening in future. 😛

8 Responses to Update – AngryJellyFails Again!

  1. Emperor J says:

    Rankings posts can be good. I think Guilty Crown’s reputation is about at lowly as is humanly possible. Amagami’s 2nd season probably never should have been made. I also found Nichibros episode quality seemed to be proportional to the amount of screen time Ringo had.

    • I just think it’d be a good idea to have something that I can post about every week without fail, with very little preparation required. A basic list of the week’s episodes, ranked from best to worst (in my opinion) seems perfect for the job.

      I honestly don’t know what to make of Guilty Crown’s reputation… Anime-Planet ranks it #401 out of thousands of shows, with an average score of 4 out of 5 based on over 4,000 votes… but aside from one person I know who considers it fantastic, all other opinions I’ve read or heard are negative – at best they consider it a guilty pleasure. 😕

      I agree with you on Amagami SS+ (another which is very highly rated on A-P, mind). The moment I found out the ‘arcs’ were only going to be 2 eps long, I stopped expecting anything from it. I think you may be onto something with Nichibros, too. 😛

      • Emperor J says:

        As for Guilty Crown, I suspect it’s people who don’t visit blogs or visit any places in the community that rate it highly. That’s the only thing I can think of.

  2. Caraniel says:

    Nice to see you back amoung the living AJ!

    Just so you know, I have launched an elaborate smear campaign besmirching your good name while you’ve been off-line – all in the name of a nice fair fight (also I will attempt to better your Paint skills – we shall see who emerges victorious!)

  3. GoodbyeNavi says:

    Yeah, you’ve been slacking on those Mirai Nikki posts. Loads of fun has been happening, mischief all around.

Leave a Reply

