Spring 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 1

As promised, a personal ranking of the first episodes of every new series this season that I’ve picked up – if a series isn’t on the list, you can assume I haven’t picked it up. I realize many of these series are on their second, even third eps by now; hopefully I’ll get around to those a bit quicker now that I’ve caught up with everything else. 🙂

Starting with the best – the opposite of how I normally rank things, but as this is just a plain old list, I see no need to build up suspense:

1 – Tsuritama

2 – Fate/Zero S2

3 – Sakamichi no Apollon

4 – Eureka Seven AO

5 – Sankarea

6 – Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

7 – Jormungand

8 – Uchuu Kyoudai

9 – Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? of the Dead

10 – Nazo no Kanojo X

11 – Saki: Achiga-hen – Episode of Side-A

12 – Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2

13 – Upotte!!

14 – Acchi Kochi

15 – Zetman

16 – Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan

17 – Queen’s Blade Rebellion

General comments:

  • Tsuritama was the surprise hit of the season for me – VERY similar to the first episode of Apollon, but the bright colours and insane characters won it for me.
  • Acchi Kocchi is no Nichijou, but it fills the comedy/4-koma slot quite nicely this season. Hoping it’ll improve in time, if/when we get some running gags.
  • Fate/Zero is, of course, the best of the sequel/spinoff group, but Eureka Seven, Kore wa Zombie and even Phi Brain S2 impressed me. Queen’s Blade… not so much.
4 Responses to Spring 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 1

  1. Robert Tene says:

    That’s a really nice list and it’s pretty much very similiar to mine as well. Altough I like Space Brothers more than Sankarea.

    • Thanks. 😀 I think Space Brothers may have suffered a bit from airing so long before the other first eps, so Sankarea and especially Tasogare Otome x Amnesia were fresher in my mind. But there’s not much separating those I’ve rated 4 – 8 anyway.

      I made a point of watching episode 2 late, at the same time as most of the other 2nd eps, so hopefully that bias will be gone from my Week 2 post. 🙂

      • Robert Tene says:

        Ah, I see. Sankarea and Tasogare are based on fanservice and I tend to hate when they do it excessively. Kind of ironical because the stories involve zombies and ghosts. And you definetly don’t think of zombies and ghosts that way! xD

        • The Sankarea protagonist’s zombie fetish isn’t my thing, I’ll put it that way! But I can’t say the fanservice has been bothering me in it, and my early impressions of the premise and characters were much better than I was expecting!

          Tasogare’s first episode impressed me with the same scene, different viewpoint idea – I like things that are different like that. The second episode didn’t quite live up to it in my opinion though – I don’t know whether there was more fanservice in it, or whether it was simply more noticable because I wasn’t distracted by it being shiny and new. 😛

Leave a Reply

