Winter 2012 Anime – Final Thoughts (Part 2)

Here’s my top seven series that ended last season! A less interesting post than Part 1, as there’s not been much change from my mid season rankings (aside from Danshi Koukousei’s plummet to 10th, which resulted in all the one place increases). Still, at least that proves these series are consistent!

7: Inu x Boku SS (Up one place)

A very enjoyable romantic comedy with a supernatural/fantasy twist! What I liked most was the character development – I pretty much wrote off the main characters as a generic tsundere loli and a perfect bishonen butler early on, but as the series progressed I soon realized there was more to them than that. A fun cast of side characters were the icing on the cake – Kagerou’s S&M labeling methods were hilarious! Overall, Inu x Boku is difficult to fault, but for me didn’t stand out quite as much as some of the more plot driven series.

Rating: 4/5

 

6: Bakuman S2 (Up one place)

As with Rinne no Lagrange, Bakuman didn’t last long on my ‘stalled’ pile. I was beginning to find it a little repetitive, plus Mashiro and Takagi’s lack of enthusiasm for their gag manga seemed to be rubbing off on me, but the series soon recovered as the side characters were developed further, and character relationships became more intertwined. Ashirogi’s decision to drop a marginally successful publication and gamble on something that’d put them back up with Niizuma in the ratings further strengthened the latter part of the series. I look forward to season 3!

Rating: 4/5

 

5: Persona 4 The Animation (Up one place)

I don’t have much to add to my mid season thoughts really – somewhere along the line Persona 4 found its groove, changed from a fairly average show with a bland main character to an awesome show with a very likable protagonist, and it never went back. Have to admit I guessed the true culprit long before their identity was revealed, but that didn’t diminish my enjoyment of the last few episodes at all. So in the end, I’m glad I gave Persona 4 a shot despite having never played the games, and I’d highly recommend it to anyone who skipped it for that reason.

Rating: 4/5

 

4: Another (Non-mover)

From what I’ve read there seems to be a lot more hate than love for this series in the wider blogosphere, but personally I enjoyed it. The ending was a bit rushed and confusing, but that’s about the only negative that springs to my mind; the revelation itself was great, and took me completely by surprise. Side characters lacked development (something I’m usually quick to complain about) but so do most side characters in horror films – they exist mostly to die in horrific ways for our enjoyment, and they did their job well in Another. I even liked the OP, being a fan of Ali Project. 😛

Rating: 4/5

 

3: Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing (Non-mover)

While it failed to live up to the original, The Silver Wing remained enjoyable from beginning to end. The plot and (new) characters were average at best, but it’s the animation that made  it stand out for me. Firstly the gorgeous backgrounds (Sorry Rinne no Lagrange, you lose this one). Secondly and most importantly for a series like Last Exile, the action scenes. The CGI for the battleships and vanships was arguably better than the original, making for some spectacular battles, especially in the later episodes. Well worth checking out if you haven’t already. 🙂

Rating: 4/5

 

2: Chihayafuru (Non-mover)

Twenty five episodes really was not long enough for Chihayafuru; I am DESPERATELY hoping for a sequel here! The ‘ending’ was sudden and felt a little forced as a result, but that’s a minor flaw in an otherwise very strong series. With some of the best, most varied and well developed characters of its season, great animation and a superb mix of romance, drama and comedy, Chihayafuru should have been on everyone’s watching list over the past couple of seasons. If it wasn’t on yours, do yourself a favour and add it now!

Rating: 4.5/5

 

1: Mirai Nikki (Non-mover)

It was a tough call between Mirai Nikki and Chihayafuru for 1st place, but in the end Yuki & Co. won this survival game! Another anime with an incredibly varied cast of characters (the only common factor being their insanity), Mirai Nikki’s fast pacing and multiple plot twists made it one of the most gripping and unpredictable series since… well, Kaiji S2 the season before it. 😛 The promise of themes by Yousei Teikoku and voice acting by Wakamoto Norio made it seem as though the series was made for me before it had even begun, and it did not disappoint.

Rating: 5/5

Now that’s done, it feels as though the Spring season has truly begun! 😀 All that remains is to start following one of its series weekly…

2 Responses to Winter 2012 Anime – Final Thoughts (Part 2)

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    You know I enjoyed Another even with its ending. I wasn’t shocked about the “surprise” so that may have been part of it. I was more disappointed with Mirai Nikki than any of the shows I watched. I started watching Persona 4 but stalled for the very same reason you did. I may pick it back up again depending on my mood.

    • I do know that you and at least one other blogger (can’t remember who off the top of my head) liked Another, and me of course, which is why I didn’t say ‘universally hated’ 😛 – I’ve still read a lot more negative thoughts and reviews on the series than I have positive, but maybe I’m just looking in the wrong places. 😕

      I can’t say I was disappointed in Mirai Nikki though, the ending (while a little rushed) tied everything up and provided enough closure to make me happy.

      Persona 4 really improved around the midway point in my opinion, but whether or not I’d recommend it would definitely depend on whether you feel up to watching all the average eps required to get to that point.

Leave a Reply

