Spring 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 3

I struggled with the rankings this week, a lot of close calls, but I’m happy with how they look now. It made me think hard about what I really look for as I rank series – production values, plot, pacing and characters are probably my main criteria, but simple enjoyment (irrespective of any faults a series may have) plays a big part too.

1 – Sakamichi no Apollon

2 – Fate/Zero S2

3 – Tsuritama

4 – Eureka Seven AO

5 – Sankarea

6 – Jormungand

7 – Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

8 – Uchuu Kyoudai

9 – Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? of the Dead

10 – Upotte!!

11 – Nazo no Kanojo X

12 – Acchi Kochi

13 – Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2

14 – Zetman

15 – Saki: Achiga-hen – Episode of Side-A

16 – Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan

17 – Queen’s Blade Rebellion

General comments:

  • Sankarea holds its 5th place spot for a third week, a seemingly impenetrable barrier separating those series that are ‘epic’ from those that are just plain ‘good’.
  • Kore wa Zombie has also kept the same 9th place spot from the start – it’s a great show and I’d love to rate it higher, but the competition is fierce this season!
  • Saki dropped to the bottom three because this series needs more mahjong! Building up Bansei’s club as strong rivals only to not show their match didn’t impress me.
4 Responses to Spring 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 3

  1. monsterenvy says:

    Check out Medaka Box it gets really Meta despite what first impressions might be.

    • I’m pretty much overloaded with series already, but cheers for the recommendation as I’m bound to come back to this season afterwards and pick up some of the shows I’ve skipped. I’m thinking I missed out on Hyou-ka and Mine Fujiko to Iu Onna as well, but TBH I think they’d make ranking things even more difficult. 😛

  2. Anime says:

    No Way! There’s no Kuroko No Basket! *Sob* but but but but…. It’s Good!!!!

    • Why is it that, when I pick up well over half of the new anime, people only want to talk about the ones I DIDN’T pick up? 😛 I’ve heard a few good things about Kuroko since it started airing though, so I’ll throw it on the list of series to check out later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

