Spring 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 12 (Final)

Late because Shining Hearts only just got subbed, and I didn’t want to put it in last place without even giving it a chance to redeem itself in its final episode. 😛

As I mentioned last week, a few series are going on for 13th episodes, but there’s not enough of them to warrant a post of their own. Phi Brain, Uchuu Kyoudai and Eureka Seven will carry on to my Summer rankings, which I won’t start until I’ve decided which of the new season’s series will be joining them on my watching list. I also have a few format changes in mind for these posts next season, as I realize a simple list of names and numbers doesn’t look all that interesting on its own. 🙂

1 – Tsuritama

2 – Fate/Zero S2

3 – Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

4 – Eureka Seven AO

5 – Sakamichi no Apollon

– Sankarea

7 – Uchuu Kyoudai

8 – Jormungand

9 – Zetman

10 – Saki: Achiga-hen – Episode of Side-A

11 – Acchi Kochi

12 – Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2

13 – Nazo no Kanojo X

14 – Queen’s Blade Rebellion

15 – Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan

General comments:

  • Tasogare Otome x Amnesia, in green!? Personally, I loved the finale, even if they did back down from the unhappy, dark ending they seemed to be building up to. 🙂
  • Sakamichi no Apollon, on the other hand, fails to make my top 3 for the first and last time, with a silly, overly dramatic ending – it was like Winter Sonata all over again!
  • Unsurprisingly, Shining Hearts finishes last, with one of the most boring eps of the whole series. But more on that later, when I finally catch up with blogging it. 😛

Thanks to everyone who commented on or followed these posts, or even just looked at one or two of them. 😀 I’ll try and make them more interesting from now onward! And as ever, my more detailed opinions of all the series that ended will be shared in my ‘Final Thoughts’ posts, which will hopefully be up within a week.

2 Responses to Spring 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 12 (Final)

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    I actually enjoyed Sakamichi no Apollon’s ending but it was definitely not in my top 3 (the list in my mind). It definitely had more energy in it than the majority of the previous episodes. Tsuritama, overall, won it for me with Jormugand a close second. I think Jormugand is getting a second season.

    • I didn’t dislike the ending for Sakamichi no Apollon, I just hoped for a bit more… it seemed to reach its peak in the middle of the series. But overall, it’s still a great anime in my opinion.

      Tsuritama definitely got stronger the closer it got to the finale, though; there could be only one winner this week, the gap between it’s final episode and Fate/Zero’s in second was pretty huge.

Leave a Reply

