Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 1

We’re more than a week into the new season now, but with internet issues combined with some shows airing/being subbed later than others, I only decided exactly which ones I’d keep watching this morning. So here they are: fourteen new anime series, along with three continuing from last season, ranked in order from those I enjoyed the most to the ones I enjoyed the least (not listed: series I disliked to the extent I won’t be continuing with them, whether they were plain bad or just weren’t my cup of tea).

Changes this time around include screenshots (don’t know why I didn’t add them before, it takes so little effort and makes posts look far more appealing), episode numbers (so you know which ones I’m talking about, as I’m not always fully up to date), and I’ll increase the number of ‘general comments’ (because touching on three out of seventeen series each week meant I had to leave a lot out).

1 – Binbougami ga! (1)

2 – Joshiraku (1)

3 – Sword Art Online (1)

4 – Moyashimon Returns (1)

5 – Eureka Seven AO (12)

6 – Uchuu Kyoudai (14)

7  Yuru Yuri ♪♪ (1)

8  Rinne no Lagrange Season 2 (1)

9 – Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita (1)

10 – Natsuyuki Rendezvous (1)

11 – Tari Tari (1)

12 – Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2 (13)

13 – Kokoro Connect (1)

14 – Oda Nobuna no Yabou (1)

15 – Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon II (1)

16 – La Storia Della Arcana Famiglia (1)

17 – Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse (1)

General comments:

  • Comedy reigns supreme in the first week! With a shortage of strong, plot driven series, I’m more than happy to laugh my way through the summer season instead.
  • Binbougami-ga was a surprise – the series didn’t even make my shortlist at the start of the season, but I’m glad I watched the first episode anyway! The clear winner.
  • Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita’s first episode left me fearing for my sanity… but I picked it up anyway. Besides, generic harems are more likely to cause me brain damage!
  • Eureka Seven AO got pushed into 5th, lower than it ever placed last season, but I put that down to new series being new and shiny. I expect it’ll place higher next week.
  • Muv-Luv Alternative places last… but I have it on good authority that the anime-original introductory episodes end this week, so hope it’ll improve from ep 3 onward.

4 Responses to Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 1

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    You won’t lose your sanity by watching a piece of talking bread squirt tomato juice (?) and die in a dramatic fashion. You’ll just be hungry for peanut butter and jelly. Heh. You’re watching a ton of anime which I simply don’t have the time for. Hopefully your internet speeds up soon so you can keep up with your viewings.

    • The bread robot was a refreshing change from Shining Hearts, that’s for certain!

      I have too much free time, and found all the episodes listed to be at least mildly entertaining. 🙂

  2. So, the first episode of Arcana Famiglia was a flop? I heard some bloggers say that they enjoyed it and others that it rather lacked in originality. I’ll probably find some time to watch it if only because Mamiko Noto’s playing the lead role.

    • I enjoyed Arcana Famiglia, and Mamiko Noto’s character seems to have more personality than most reverse harem leads. But it wasn’t overly original, nor is it the kind of series I’d usually watch, which were the main reasons I couldn’t bring myself to rate it higher at this stage.

Leave a Reply

