Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 2

Choosing which series to watch and which ones not to watch based on just one episode is a risky business – I’ve ended up watching some right rubbish in the past thanks to misleading first episodes. Fortunately, most of those listed had decent second episodes too (in my opinion). 🙂

 

1 – Binbougami ga! (2)

2 – Sword Art Online (2)

3 – Eureka Seven AO (13)

4 – Natsuyuki Rendezvous (2)

5 – Uchuu Kyoudai (15)

6 – Joshiraku (2)

7 – Moyashimon Returns (2)

8 – Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita (2)

9 – Tari Tari (2)

10 – Rinne no Lagrange Season 2 (2)

11 – Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2 (14)

12  Yuru Yuri ♪♪ (2)

13 – Kokoro Connect (2)

14 – Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse (2)

15 – Oda Nobuna no Yabou (2)

16 – Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon II (2)

17 – La Storia Della Arcana Famiglia (2)

 

 

General comments:

  • Moving up: Natsuyuki Rendezvous. A love triangle with a twist! Have to say that Rokka is a refreshing change from the usual romance series’ love interests.
  • Moving down: Joshiraku. Unfortunately, my enjoyment of this series will always be directly related to how well the jokes translate. 😦 Aside from that, a good episode.
  • One standout disappointing 2nd episode would be Arcana Famiglia – I wanted action, not an ep about returning a lost kitten to its owner! (Even though I like cats!)
  • Uchuu Kyoudai is very good at the moment – really looking forward to finding out what’s going on with the broken clock and the late night alarm in the next episode.
  • Sword Art Online is by far the best non-comedy offering this season so far – apparently I died on the first day at level 3, though. How would you fare in the game? 😛

 

3 Responses to Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 2

  1. Arcana Famiglia is low down on my list, too. There isn’t anything more capable of putting me to sleep than entire episodes about people returning lost kitties. Except random episodes of Kimi to Boku, since cats are the main theme there.

    • I realize that since its a reverse harem, the main focus is meant to be the large cast of bishonen pretty boys looking good and appealing to the target female audience… but it was the tarot card based powers and promise of a fighting tournament that made me keep watching past the first episode. I hope they don’t leave that until the end and rush it in a couple of episodes, like a certain bread-themed series did with its ‘plot’. 😦

      • Agreed, the plot is too slow to begin. While I can’t say I have any problem with bishonen’s looking good, I do take issue with any anime that fail to have a point and keeps on giving us filler instead of actual plot progression. My love of pretty things does not exceed my love of intelligent writing! I was so bummed out when The Bread Show crashed and burned, I was hoping we would be proven right having taken a chance on it.

Leave a Reply

