Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 6

Half way through the season already! Amazing how time flies. I don’t think I’ll be making a separate post for my mid-season thoughts this time around though, mostly because of the time constraints now that I’m working, but also because it’d be fairly redundant now that I’m ranking the shows weekly and commenting on any major changes of opinion. Still, if anyone wants to know what I think of a series in more detail, feel free to ask in the comments!

Still no Eureka Seven AO, but episode 16 should be airing tomorrow, and will be included in my Week 7 post. 🙂

1 – Natsuyuki Rendezvous (6)

2 – Kokoro Connect (6)

3 – Uchuu Kyoudai (19)

4 – Sword Art Online (6)

5 – Yuru Yuri ♪♪ (6)

6 – Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita (6)

7 – Tari Tari (6)

8 – Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2 (18)

9 – Moyashimon Returns (6)

10 – Rinne no Lagrange Season 2 (6)

11 – Oda Nobuna no Yabou (6)

12 – Binbougami ga! (6)

13 – Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon II (6)

14 – Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse (6)

15 – La Storia Della Arcana Famiglia (6)

General comments:

  • Moving up: Yuru Yuri ♪♪. I complained that it wasn’t funny back in week 4, but the two episodes since then have been fantastic! I only hope it stays good this time…
  • Moving down: La Storia Della Arcana Famiglia seems to be going nowhere fast. At least Muv-Luv is trying to progress its plot! Still, it can hardly go any lower!
  • Is Binbougami-ga! actually that dull now, or does it just feel that dull because I’ve come to expect better? Of everything, it’s the show I struggle to rank the most. 😦
  • I feel I should comment on Rinne no Lagrange S2, as it’s the only anime I’ve yet to mention here. It’s pretty, and I like the characters and music… but not much else.
  • Natsuyuki Rendezvous was a little too slow-paced for me this week – it keeps the top spot, but I wonder whether it would have done so if Eureka Seven AO had aired.

9 Responses to Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 6

  1. Sushi GoKart says:

    Kokoro Connect took the top spot for me this week. It surprises me in ways that #Jintai doesn’t. Week in and week out we peel off another philosophical layer with KC. Natsuyuki is just the most solid show this season, with a great cast, pacing and writing.

    • Kokoro Connect was close to coming first for me too, as Heartseed’s new form of ‘entertainment’ has the potential to be even more troublesome for the characters than the last one! But as you say, Natsuyuki Rendezvous is fantastically written – a tough show to beat.

  2. -blacksheep says:

    I guess it’s not surprising to see Arcana Famiglia right at the bottom. I think that each episode it’s just getting worse…

    It’s definitely a difficult pick for Natsuyuki and Kokoro Connect. I’ve been liking Natsuyuki most especially now that Shimao is in Hazuki’s body. While Kokoro Connect, on the other hand, had also become more exciting because of Heartseed’s new scheme ^^

    • The first episode of Arcana Famiglia was definitely the best. If it had been like all the episodes that followed, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up. 😦 But I’m a completionist, so I’ll watch it to the end, and who knows, maybe the Arcana Duello will actually be good?

      Natsuyuki and Kokoro Connect are quite a step up from Space Bros. in third, definitely. Both have gone through some pretty major plot twists over the last couple of episodes, and that always helps keep a series interesting. 🙂

      • -blacksheep says:

        have to agree that the first episode of Arcana Famiglia was the best. When the following episodes turned out pretty bad, I got really disappointed. I also plan to finish the series but I’m not really betting so much on the Duello cause I think that it’ll be rushed… Probably it’ll start around the last 3 or 4 episode 😦

  3. That last picture says it all, the boys in Tari Tari cracked me up last time.

    • Tari Tari seems to be slowly getting better, now that we’re seeing more in the way of character development and drama, but I like the fact they’re still throwing in hilarious scenes like that to make things more light hearted. 🙂

      • Yes, Tari Tari is improving each time. The best shows usually do combine a great sense of humor and moving drama in an effortless way. In my opinion, improving over time is better than when a show starts great and gets worse as it goes, like Binbougami Ga.

        • Definitely agree with you there. Still, ep 7 of Binbougami wasn’t bad at all, there’s still time for it to recover! It’d be better if this particular series stuck to the humour and kept the drama/romance to a minimum.

Leave a Reply

