Autumn Anime Knockout – Intro

Normally, I have eighteen ongoing anime series… well, ‘on the go’ at once. For every series that finishes at the end of a season, I pick up a new one at the beginning of the next season. I’ve done so for well over a year, only making small changes to this pattern when outside influences have forced me to cut back on my viewing. Unfortunately, my ongoing internet issues are one such influence – I’ve decided to only pick up five shows this time. Which would make weekly rankings for Autumn a little pointless.

The question is, how do I choose from everything that this unusually epic season has to offer? I figured, why not pair a bunch of first episodes against each other, watch both, then drop the less impressive of the two in sort of a knockout tournament style? If nothing else, it’d give me something new to post about here.

And so I divided twenty series into ten matches, with the winners from each progressing to round 2, where their second episodes will battle it out until only five remain standing. Of course, if the draws were completely at random, there would always be a chance of all the good shows and sequels getting drawn against each other, allowing some generic rubbish to slip through. In an attempt to avoid that, while still giving the generic-looking shows a chance to prove me wrong, I’ve seeded the ten anime that appeal to me most (whether they’re sequels/spinoffs of series I liked first time around, or just sound awesome) so that they won’t meet until at least round 2.

The lineup is as follows (with the seeded shows to the left, in bold):

Match 1: Hidamari Sketch x Honeycomb vs Little Busters

Match 2: Robotics;Notes vs Ixion Saga DT

Match 3: JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure vs K

Match 4: Bakuman 3 vs Zetsuen no Tempest

Match 5: Jormungand: Perfect Order vs Code:Breaker

Match 6: BTOOOM! vs Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

Match 7: Shin Sekai Yori vs Busou Shinki

Match 8: Psycho-Pass vs Girls und Panzer

Match 9: Magi vs Kamisama Hajimemashita

Match 10: Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! vs Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

I’ll be posting my brief thoughts on all these first episodes, along with the results of the matches of course, as and when I’ve downloaded and watched them (so they might not necessarily be in the exact order posted above). Will my predictions be correct? Will there be any surprise hits this season? Will my internet speeds return to normal overnight, allowing me to pick up the whole lot instead? Heh, I can dream, can’t I? 😛

Leave a Reply

