2012 Anime – Top 12 OP Themes

It begins! As before, the first of my many traditional end-of-year posts is a list of what I consider to be 2012’s greatest anime opening themes, only this time there will be 12 instead of 1o – I figured that since my upcoming ACAA list will consist of my top 12 anime titles, I may as well keep to the same format for my non-meta posts. 🙂

I always find the OPs and EDs a fun place to start. Also, since most shows keep to the same themes for at least one season, I don’t have to put as much thought into this as I do with my things like my ACAA list, where my opinions on ongoing series continue to change on a weekly basis.

Would you believe that 'Anime Headphones Jellyfish' bought up a choice of five pictures. :razz: This one by Ame Yamori

Would you believe that a search for ‘Anime Headphones Jellyfish’ bought up a choice of five pictures? 😛 This one by Ame Yamori~

So here’s my list! Links to the OP videos in the titles for anyone interested!

12: Psycho-Pass (abnormalize – Ling Tosite Sigure)

[Commie] Psycho-Pass - 02 [3406ADD5].mkv_snapshot_01.46_[2012.12.02_00.10.23]

This one took a while to grow on me… my ears and brain honestly didn’t know what to make of it for the first few episodes, but after a brief course of therapy my Psycho-Pass returned to normal levels and I found myself quite enjoying it. 😛

11: Zetman (dots and lines – You Hitoto feat. Mummy-D)

[WhyNot] Zetman - 02 [C65405BA].mkv_snapshot_01.02_[2012.12.02_00.20.11]

This one is a guilty pleasure. I’ve only discussed this OP with two people before (one online, and the other was my sister who was in the same room while I was playing it). Their reactions when I said I liked it were very similar, somewhere along the lines of this: https://i0.wp.com/static.tsrfiles.co.uk/images/smilies/lolwut.gif

10: Inu x Boku SS (Nirvana – MUCC)

[Commie] Inu × Boku SS - 02 [4474D732].mkv_snapshot_02.12_[2012.12.02_00.24.09]

Every year that I’ve put together these lists, there’s always been at least one anime that makes me stop and think ‘wait, that aired THIS year!?’ January – March seems so long ago now! Suffice to say this particular OP has been on my mp3 player for most of that time!

9: Jormungand: Perfect Order (UNDER/SHAFT – Maon Kurosaki)

[gg]_Jormungand_Perfect _Order_-_02_[C126BBC3].mkv_snapshot_01.47_[2012.12.02_00.28.42]

If Inu x Boku’s Nirvana has lasting appeal working in its favour, then Jormungand’s UNDER/SHAFT has the advantage of being new and current. It’s just a really great song that gets me into the mood for watching a really great anime, what more could you wish for?

8: Senki Zesshou Symphogear (Synchrogazer – Nana Mizuki)

[Commie] Senki Zesshou Symphogear - 02 [299D8361].mkv_snapshot_01.34_[2012.12.02_00.33.28]

LISTEN TO MY SONG~ I couldn’t find the anime TV version on Youtube (not with audio at least…), but the version linked to is apparently the original voice without any editing! Anyway, in a series in which music plays such a large role, it’s only natural that the OP would be good as well.

7: Uchuu Kyoudai (Feel So Moon – Unicorn)

[Commie] Space Brothers - 02 [0755C430].mkv_snapshot_01.19_[2012.12.02_00.35.24]

I rage at the fact that I can’t squeeze this song into the top half of my list! And that wasn’t the only tough decision I had to make regarding Space Bros. either – I very nearly went with the third OP over this one!

6: Eureka Seven AO (BRAVEBLUE – FLOW)

[gg]_EUREKA_SEVEN_AO_-_18_[25CC2FAE].mkv_snapshot_00.47_[2012.12.02_00.37.56]

I read somewhere that this OP might be a response or follow up of some sort to the first OP of the original Eureka Seven. I’ve not compared the lyrics of both songs myself, but they’re by the same band and sound very similar, so I don’t doubt it for a second.

5: Tsuritama (Tsurezure Monochrome – Fujifabric)

[Commie-Fishing] Tsuritama - 03 [39121A7E].mkv_snapshot_00.27_[2012.12.02_00.39.25]

This is one of those OP themes that’s more about the dance than the song. I mean, I have the mp3 of Hare Hare Yukai… but I never play it, because it’s nothing without the dance! I just hope that I’ll see Tsuritama’s Enoshima dance being performed at an expo as well one day. 😛

4: Fate/Zero 2nd Season (to the beginning – kalafina)

[Commie] Fate ⁄ Zero S2 - 02 [4265B333].mkv_snapshot_02.35_[2012.12.02_00.41.31]

It’s kalafina – including it is compulsory. Though having said that, while it’s easily good enough to rank 4th in this list, it’s not one the group’s better songs IMO. The epic Kara no Kyoukai EDs are pretty hard to beat, though.

3: Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse (Go to the top – Kumi Koda)

[Commie] Muv-Luv Alternative - Total Eclipse - 05 [7814F742].mkv_snapshot_01.18_[2012.12.02_00.43.12]

Probably the song getting the most plays on my mp3 player at the moment (from a series that aired this year, at least), this song is simple, loud, catchy, and about the only good thing that Total Eclipse has going for it. 😛

2: Rinne no Lagrange (TRY Unite! – Megumi Nakajima)

[Underwater] Rinne no Lagrange - 02 (720p) [99517157].mkv_snapshot_02.17_[2012.12.02_00.44.44]

Another anime where the OP is far better than the show itself, I more or less accepted the fact that this would be my number 1 anime OP of the year way back in January. It came SO CLOSE, and I’ve played it so often since then… but it fell at the final hurdle when the Autumn season brought with it our clear winner:

1: Little Busters! (Little Busters! ~TV animation ver.~ – Rita)

[UTW-Mazui]_Little_Busters!_-_02_[720p][D634FD46].mkv_snapshot_04.59_[2012.12.02_00.45.39]

This song. Is awesome. Even if I’ll always associate it with Commie’s April Fools day Russian Masters video, that somehow just makes it even better! No doubt it’ll be stuck in my head for many seasons to come, and I won’t be complaining!

That’s the OP themes done… EDs and more to follow~

Leave a Reply

