Winter 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 5

Slightly earlier than usual to make up for being late last week… but unfortunately, next week’s rankings will also be delayed. For good reason though: I’ll be at the Midlands MCM Expo! The perfect excuse to spend a load of money on anime, manga and related merchandise!

I’m putting this in writing now, however: starting in next week’s post, I WILL be dropping Maoyuu the least impressive series in my current lineup and picking up another Winter 2013 anime to replace it (suggestions always welcome :)). There, now I have to do it, or I’ll look silly (like I did the last ~10 times I failed to deliver on promises made here). Six weeks in is pretty much the middle of the season though, so doing it any later would be pointless.

Regardless, here’s week five’s rankings! Contains spoilers. Like this picture.

[Commie] Psycho-Pass - 16 [417F7BFB].mkv_snapshot_18.40_[2013.02.09_23.47.28]

1 – Psycho-Pass ep 16 

2 – Uchuu Kyoudai ep 43

3 – Robotics;Notes ep 16

4 – Shin Sekai Yori ep 18 ( 2)

5 – Zetsuen no Tempest ep 17

6 – Chihayafuru 2 ep 5 (↓ 2)

7 – Minami-ke Tadaima ep 5

8 – Cuticle Tantei Inaba  ep 5 ( 1)

9 – Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai NEXT ep 5 (↓ 1)

10 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure ep 17 ( 2)

11 – Little Busters! ep 17 ( 2)

12 – Bakuman S3 ep 18 (↓ 1)

13 – Magi ep 17 (↓ 3)

14 – Hunter x Hunter ep 65

15 – Ixion Saga DT ep 17

16 – Sasami-san@Ganbaranai ep 5

17 – Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? ep 5

18 – Maoyuu Maou Yuusha ep 5

[UTW]_Shinsekai_Yori_-_18_[h264-720p][FAC060C0].mkv_snapshot_14.43_[2013.02.10_00.03.00]

Moving up:

Shin Sekai Yori finally makes its top 5 debut after coming so close so many times! The rapid advancement in the Robber Fly Bakenezumi colony’s technology was inevitably going to result in war against the humans, especially with the treacherous Yakomaru leading them, and in this episode it finally happened. Now the main mystery is whether or not they have humans with cursed powers working for them too, and if so, who are they, and why are they betraying their own kind?

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure is the only series remaining that I haven’t commented on even once, so why not now while it’s on its way up (if only slightly)? I’m glad they sped through the training regimen and got back to the fight against the pillar men in this episode, as they’re proving to be very interesting antagonists. Just what does it take to destroy them completely!? This series remains great fun and is very stylish, but it lacks any real depth in my opinion.

[gg]_Magi_-_17_[1389970D].mkv_snapshot_22.12_[2013.02.10_00.16.02]

Moving down:

Maybe it’s because I’ve seen similar things done so many times in the past, or maybe I’m just heartless, I don’t know. What I do know is that I should probably have been touched by Alibaba’s discussion with Cassim, by their final farewell, and by the ‘happy ending’ where everyone who died came back briefly to embrace their loved ones. But I wasn’t. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love the setting for Magi, but aside from that it’s a pretty generic shonen series.

[WhyNot] Robotics;Notes - 16 [C5812C4A].mkv_snapshot_16.19_[2013.02.10_00.29.51]

General comments:

The battle for first place was closer this week than any other this season in my opinion… Robotics;Notes probably had the strongest and most shocking ending, but the first half of the episode wasn’t overly special, whereas Uchuu Kyoudai and Psycho-Pass were fantastic from start to finish, the latter winning mostly due to my preference for fast-paced action.

Zetsuen no Tempest seems to be stuck in fifth place. I’d say that’s mostly because the pacing has slowed, and recently it’s started to feel more like a romantic comedy than an action/mystery series! Not that that’s a bad thing – the interactions between Hakase and Mahiro are great, and Samon’s (usually deadly serious) group’s attempts at guessing the identity of Mahiro’s girlfriend were hilarious – but it certainly isn’t reaching the same epic level it hit at the end of the previous arc yet.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

