Winter 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 9

These series are getting better every week as they approach their finales, with at least one of the anime in my lineup set to finish next week! This definitely seems to impact the rankings, with shows moving up and down a lot more than they did mid-season!

[HorribleSubs] Zetsuen no Tempest - 21 [720p].mkv_snapshot_20.52_[2013.03.09_11.09.34]

1 –  Zetsuen no Tempest ep 21 (↑ 3)

2 – Psycho-Pass ep 20 ( 4)

3 –  Robotics;Notes ep 20 (↓ 2)

4 – Chihayafuru 2 ep 9 ( 1)

5 Shin Sekai Yori ep 22 (↓ 2)

6 – Minami-ke Tadaima ep 9 (↓ 4)

7 – Uchuu Kyoudai ep 47

8 – Magi ep 21 (↑ 6)

9 – Hunter x Hunter ep 69 (↑ 4)

10 – Ixion Saga DT ep 21 (↑ 6)

11 – Tamako Market ep 9

12 – Bakuman S3 ep 22 (↑ 3)

13 – Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai NEXT ep 9 (↓ 3)

14 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure ep 21 (↓ 6)

15 – Mondaiji-tachi ga Isekai kara Kuru Sou Desu yo? ep 9 (↑ 2)

16 – Little Busters! ep 21 (↓ 6)

17 – Cuticle Tantei Inaba ep 9 (↓ 5)

18 – Sasami-san@Ganbaranai ep 9

[gg]_Magi_-_21_[F18CA54A].mkv_snapshot_19.39_[2013.03.09_11.23.14]

Moving up:

Zetsuen no Tempest finally took the top spot for the first time this season, which makes me happy, as if I’d done similar weekly rankings for last season, it would likely have been in first place every week! In comparison to the show’s strong start, the second half has been weak up until last week, when we finally met Fuwa Aika outside of a flashback. A great character, shame to see her die so soon afterwards… but if she hadn’t, there wouldn’t be a story.

I’ve been picking on Magi a lot recently, but this week’s episode reminded me why I picked the show up in the first place: dungeons and djinni! Monsters, traps (no, not that kind) and tons of action! Have to admit I prefer this kind of thing to the politics of recent episodes. Even better was prince Hakuryuu’s tantrum, which (aside from being completely unexpected and hilarious) destroyed my image of his character, but made him more likable in my opinion. 😛

Untitled

Yet another series that has been getting a lot of flak from me for not living up to previous seasons is Hunter x Hunter, but that also bounced back this week. I said I wanted more action and less training/card hunting, and that’s exactly what the dodgeball game offered. Hisoka’s presence always seems to make things more interesting too. 😛 It’s hard to imagine how their makeshift party will overcome this challenge, but I can’t see Gon backing off a second time!

Moving down:

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai NEXT has been slowly dropping in my rankings for a couple of weeks now, the reason being the inevitable shift from comedy to romance as we approach the end of the season. I was hoping for a fun movie filming episode to rival the exploits in The Sigh of Haruhi Suzumiya, but instead all the focus was on Kodaka and Sena, the rumour that they were dating, and the sudden revelation that they’re both childhood friends and fiancés. Somehow, I find myself not caring.

[Mazui]_Boku_Ha_Tomodachi_Ga_Sukunai_NEXT_-_09_[E19E0537].mkv_snapshot_15.25_[2013.03.09_11.54.01]

General Comments:

Chihayafuru 2 is still up there in my top 5, having only left it once in nine weeks… it is one of the most consistently good series I’m watching, but is unlikely to take first place again this season while the majority of other shows are building up to strong endings, especially while Mizusawa are still in the early stages of the team tournament. Plenty of drama in this episode, however, as it looks likely that Arata will be disqualified from the individual tournament!

[HorribleSubs] Chihayafuru S2 - 09 [720p].mkv_snapshot_18.17_[2013.03.09_12.22.28]

4 Responses to Winter 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 9

  1. ninetybeats says:

    This is your own personal list right:p
    Hmmm I think ShinSekai diserves a little higher spot I think. It’s really something else.
    Psycho-pass lost some its charm for me the last episodes. Don’t why exactly, but it began to be a little bit of a cliché thing. Other then that, fun you keep track of a list every week.

    • Yeah, this list is personal, so my own tastes and even my mood when watching episodes have as much effect on the rankings as stuff like plot progression and character development. 😛

      There’s not a lot separating the series at the top. Shin Sekai Yori has placed 1st a couple of times over the past few weeks, with the episode when the fiend first appeared (ep 19 I believe) being my personal favorite so far.

      Psycho-Pass has been going up and down a fair bit, but I liked it this week, it was nice to see Akane take command and give orders for once. Can’t see her being an obedient pawn of the Sybil system for long.

      • ninetybeats says:

        Still the whole cyborg stuff felt kind of ‘I’ve seen this before’:p
        Not that it is a problem, but the execution felt somewhat familiar. Despite that the characters are interesting.
        Zetsuen had its moments. The relationship drama didn’t cut it for me every episode. But the whole setting is really wel balanced, plus the characters are quite likeable.

        • I guess there’s nothing hugely original about Psycho-Pass when you look at it like that, but its still a great combination of things I like: good characters, especially in the villain Makishima, a futuristic ‘utopia’ that isn’t quite as ideal as it seems, high production values and plenty of action!

          As I said in the post, I’ve not been too impressed by Zetsuen no Tempest’s second half either, especially when you compare it to the battle of wits between Yoshino and Samon in eps 8 – 12. The showdown between Hakaze and Aika was definitely the best thing the show has offered since then, though again that’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

