Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 2

I’m falling further and further behind… for a good reason, though. Had a friend over for the weekend, and ended up rewatching virtually all the season’s first episodes with him. And a lot of the second episodes. Even some of the third eps, but I’ll try and forget about those until next week so that they don’t impact on these week 2 rankings. 😛

As before, I’ll be using up () and down () arrows to indicate how each anime has changed in my rankings compared with the week before, while the absence of any arrows means a series hasn’t moved at all.

I like this guy already.

I like this guy already.

1 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 2 (↑ 1)

2 – Hataraku Maou-sama! ep 2 ( 1)

3 – Suisei no Gargantia ep 2 (↑ 4)

4 – Kakumeiki Valvrave ep 2

5 – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko ep 2

6 – Chihayafuru 2 ep 14

7 – RDG: Red Data Girl ep 2 (↑ 3)

8 – Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% ep 2 (↑ 5)

9 – Date A Live ep 2 (↑ 6)

10 – Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W ep 2 (↑ 2)

11 – Devil Survivor 2 The Animation ep 2 ( 2)

12 – Karneval ep 2 ( 4)

13 – Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride ep 2 ( 2)

14 – Mushibugyou ep 2 (↑ 2)

15 – Hunter x Hunter ep 75 ( 12)

16 – Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge ep 2 (↑ 1)

17 – Aku no Hana ep 2 ( 3)

...I think Shining Saotome is going to feature in my screencaps a lot.

…I think Shining Saotome is going to feature in my screencaps a lot.

Moving up:

Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% is a guilty pleasure, there’s no denying that. I think it was that feeling of guilt that made me rate it so low last week, when despite the cheesiness it was actually one of the most amusing first episodes of the season. However, I’ve since felt guilty about feeling guilty about it, and that’s a double negative, hence why it’s moving up! Confused? Don’t be. This show has no plot to confuse you, so just sit back and enjoy the fabulousness of it all.

Date A Live was a surprise. Before it’d even aired I’d already written it off as another generic ecchi rom-com battle anime based on the trailer and synopsis, and that’s not a completely inaccurate description of the show… I just wasn’t expecting the romance side to be this funny! The introduction of the Fraxinus’ dysfunctional team of romance ‘experts’  was hilarious, and their method of choosing the protagonist’s words for him from a selection of three terrible dating sim-style replies is truly ingenious.

Annoying as Wdwune was, I can sympathise with him when it comes misspelt names.

Annoying as Wdwune was, I can sympathise with him when it comes to people misspelling my name.

Moving down:

A shame to see Hunter x Hunter crash by so much a week after I was singing its praises… part of it is simply due to tough competition from shiny new anime, but also, the scene awaiting Gon after all his hard work collecting the cards was a huge anticlimax. I get that was the whole point… but that doesn’t make the episode any better. It answered a few questions about Greed Island though, and set the scene for the next episode, where Gon *might* finally get to meet up with Ging. I have high hopes for ep 76!

As with Maoyuu Maou Yuusha last season, Aku no Hana, my most anticipated series of the Spring, has already dropped into last place by week 2. Again, this is more to do with the pacing than the animation… it’s just so slow! I’m hoping it’ll speed up as appropriate during the more intense, ‘thriller’ moments. Either way, I doubt it will cover much of the manga at this rate, but there’s still plenty of good scenes in the first couple of volumes, so hopefully it’ll rise up again soon.

Who wouldn’t run?

General comments:

Kakumeiki Valvrave could end up being one of those epic trainwrecks that only Sunrise can pull off… giant robots, eyepatches, space nazis and body-swapping vampires? Why not? 😛 The show makes for great entertainment – it has fantastic action scenes, a nice soundtrack, and it’s one of the series I find myself looking forward to most next week, if only to see what ridiculous plot development or twist will occur next. There’s been so many already, it’s hard to believe I’ve only watched two eps!

How is she alive? Her death flag was raised so high it was in orbit!

How is she alive? Her death flag was raised so high it was in orbit!

Leave a Reply

