Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 3

So I recently bought Pokemon Black (a couple of years late, I know)… and if I get into it in the same way I got into the previous generation, I may well fall even further behind on this season’s anime. I’ve only stopped to write this because my DS is currently charging. 😛 Some anime series are good enough to demand my attention, though, and if I put my DS down to watch those, chances are I’ll be able to fit in a few other episodes before the urge to resume playing gets too much. It’ll work out somehow, I’m sure. 😛

If anyone can prepare our heroes for facing Titans, it's this guy.

If anyone can prepare our heroes for the Titans, it’s this guy.

1 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 3

2 – Hataraku Maou-sama! ep 3

3 – Suisei no Gargantia ep 3

4 – Kakumeiki Valvrave ep 3

5 – Chihayafuru 2 ep 15 (↑ 1)

– Karneval ep 3 (↑ 6)

7 – Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% ep 3 (↑ 1)

8 – RDG: Red Data Girl ep 3 ( 1)

9 – Devil Survivor 2 The Animation ep 3 (↑ 2)

10 – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko ep 3  ( 5)

11 – Date A Live ep 3 ( 2)

12 – Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride ep 3 (↑ 1)

13 – Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W ep 3 ( 3)

14 – Aku no Hana ep 3 (↑ 3)

15 – Hunter x Hunter ep 76

16 – Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge ep 3

17 – Mushibugyou ep 3 ( 3)

Gareki's reaction to the doctor's revelations was PRICELESS.

Gareki’s reaction to the doctor’s revelations was PRICELESS.

Moving up:

It probably shouldn’t be this high, but I just really liked episode 3 of Karneval. Nai turning out to be a chibi rabbit thing makes him even cuter, which I’d assumed was impossible, and I’m liking the interactions between him and Gareki too. Other than that, the show is introducing new characters and changing locations at a rate that’s a little hard to keep up with, but I’m looking forward to learning more about the Niji forest and the odd creatures that inhabit it.

Oni no pantsu wa ii pantsu…

Moving down:

Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko became a bit more serious and less comedy focused in this episode… hence the decline. It was the humour that kept it in my top 5, as aside from Hataraku Maou-sama! (and maybe Valvrave, whether intentional or not) it was the show that made me laugh the most. Can’t say I find the characters interesting enough to care about the drama yet, but it’s only the third episode I guess. I just hope the protagonist doesn’t become boring now that he’s regained his facade.

The protagonist of Mushibugyou is a standard kind-hearted but simple minded shounen lead, seemingly oblivious to the fact that his new colleagues all find him weak and annoying, but he’s gradually winning them over one by one. The last two episodes have served as character introduction for these other Mushibogyou members, and next week’s ep looks to be more of the same. As I said back in Week 1, Mushibugyou is fun, but generic – it’s not trying to be the best series of the season.

He's gonna have a pretty major hangover in the morning...

He’s gonna have a major hangover in the morning…

General comments:

Shingeki no Kyojin seems as though it’s up there to stay, as after the first episode of Hataraku Maou-sama!, nothing has come close to being as impressive all-round. It has managed to fit a surprising amount of action, world and character introduction, and even comedy without feeling rushed or poorly paced. Also, foreshadowing… what’s up with Eren’s weird dreams!? Aside from the main trio, the rest of the new recruits introduced in this ep seem like an interesting bunch… especially Potato girl. 😛

Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge is a mystery… I feel as though I should love it, it has all the things I usually like in anime (action, gore, comedy, nice character designs, fanservice, hair fetishism)… but it really feels as though something is missing. Perhaps it’s the absence of a ‘main villain’ so far? Or the fact that Iwai and Kiri have little to them aside from the cursed hair/hair fetish that binds them together? I honestly don’t know.

This season isn't short of girls who look like they could do with some sleep.

This season isn’t short of girls who look like they could do with some sleep.

Leave a Reply

