Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 5

Week 5! We’re approaching the middle of the season (and the year) already! Time is really flying by. It’s also time to start thinking about whether I should drop one of the series I’m not liking so much in favour of one that I didn’t give a chance… Next weekend is likely to be busy for me though, so if I do make any changes to my viewing schedule, it’ll probably be in Week 7. 🙂

Uguu~

1 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 5

2 – Kakumeiki Valvrave ep 5 (↑ 1)

3 – Hataraku Maou-sama! ep 5 (↑ 2)

4 – Chihayafuru 2 ep 17

5 – Suisei no Gargantia ep 5 ( 3)

6 – Uchuu Kyoudai ep 56 ( 2)

7 – RDG: Red Data Girl ep 5

8 – Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride ep 5 (↑ 1)

9 – Date A Live ep 5 ( 3)

10 – Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% ep 5 ( 2)

11 – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko ep 5 ( 1)

12 – Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W ep 5 (↑ 5)

13 – Mushibugyou ep 5 ( 2)

14 – Aku no Hana ep 5

15 – Hunter x Hunter ep 78 ( 3)

16 – Karneval ep 5 ( 3)

17 – Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge ep 5 ( 1)

18 – Devil Survivor 2 The Animation ep 5 ( 3)

Lucifer looks as though he’s seen the devil himself!

Moving up:

Over the past couple of episodes, Hataraku Maou-sama! has proved itself a step above other comedy series such as Cuticle Tantei Inaba and Binbougami-ga! by throwing in plenty of character development, drama and action, yet somehow managing to remain hilarious! The highlight of episode 5 for me? Ashiya/Alsiel lecturing Sadao/Satan about wasting money on movies, having just sustained what could have been a mortal wound! 😛

Following last week’s declaration of independence in Kakumeiki Valvrave, we were treated to several minutes of anarchy, as the academy pupils messed around doing whatever they wanted in their world without adults and their rules. Great fun… until the power fails, the temperature plummets, and there’s no engineers around to fix the problem. Everything turned out fine eventually though, thanks to a winning combination of otaku brains and delinquent brawn, and the episode ended on a high note with the broadcast of a motivational song to show JIOR that they’re doing okay. 🙂 Still absolutely ridiculous, but highly entertaining nonetheless!

Might have to add this to the list of things to do before I die. :razz:

If I were in the same situation, I’d be more likely to go around cleaning up than making mess for the sake of it!

Moving down:

After just missing out on a top 5 place a couple of weeks back, Karneval has fallen far and fast. The main issues I have with it are the poor pacing, the repeated jumping from place to place, and the constant introduction of new characters when the ones they already have are in need of serious development. I guess this two episode mini-arc did provide a little backstory for Gareki, but it was disappointingly generic. It beats Devil Survivor and Crime Edge mostly on account of how cute Nai continues to be. 😛

Undead traps? I think I can overlook RDG's flaws again this week...

Undead traps? I think I can overlook RDG’s flaws again this week…

General comments:

RDG: Red Data Girl has consistently ranked highly, but I can’t see it breaking into my top 5 anytime soon. It’s enjoyable to watch, the production values are very high, and the characters aren’t bad either. Plot-wise, though, I have to admit I don’t have a clue what’s going on. 😕 Maybe it’s a cultural thing, as last season’s Sasami-san@Ganbaranai with its similar Shinto themes and main character who’s a vessel for a powerful god was also lost on me… or maybe they’re both just poorly paced and badly written? Who knows? 😛

Back after last week’s recap episode, Chihayafuru 2 seemed much more exciting than before. I think it’s because all five of Mizusawa’s current players are losing… which makes me sound like a bad person, I know. But while I liked seeing them win their way to the finals, their early opponents weren’t exactly tough, whereas the reality that they could all lose their current match by a huge margin is providing much more in the way of drama. I’m still hoping Chihaya and her team will somehow make a comeback and win, though!

Chihaya's hand injury is an interesting twist, too - it would've never occurred to me that such a thing could sometimes be an advantage!

Chihaya’s hand injury is an interesting twist, too – it would’ve never occurred to me that such a thing could sometimes prove to be an advantage!

2 Responses to Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 5

  1. All the series I am watching, I think I will be watching until the end. The only thing that I did not watch/give chance (with the exception of Chuhayafuru 2, since I am waiting for it to finish before I watch) is Mushibugyou. Doubt I will pick it up any time soon. And just like yourself, I still find Red Data Girl interesting despite not knowing what the heck is happening, lol.

    • I watched the first episodes of everything this season, and made up my mind what to watch purely based on how much I liked those episodes. Now that we’re nearing the halfway point, some of the series I picked up aren’t impressing me as much anymore, so I’ll revisit a few of the anime I dropped and see if their second and third eps are better than their firsts. If they’re not, I’ll probably keep things just the way they are.

      I can’t put my finger on why Red Data Girl is so enjoyable, when most of the flaws in my bottom three series also apply to it… maybe it’s just the high production values and awesome ED theme? 😛

Leave a Reply

