Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 6

As I mentioned in my previous post, last weekend was a busy one for me, as I was off visiting a friend for his birthday celebration (same friend that got me hooked on Pokemon again… clearly he doesn’t want me to blog :razz:). It was fun, and a lot more social than anything else I’ve done this year. And while three whole days without anime was tough on my body and brain, no doubt I’ll catch up with everything again soon. 🙂

Ekistics:  the scientific study of human settlements, drawing on diverse disciplines, including architecture, city planning, and behavioral science.

Ekistics: The scientific study of human settlements, drawing on diverse disciplines, including architecture, city planning, and behavioural science.

1 – Kakumeiki Valvrave ep 6 (↑ 1)

2 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 6 ( 1)

3 – Date A Live ep 6 (↑ 6)

4 – Hataraku Maou-sama! ep 6 ( 1)

5 – Uchuu Kyoudai ep 57 (↑ 1)

6 – Suisei no Gargantia ep 6 ( 1)

7 – Chihayafuru 2 ep 18 ( 3)

8 – Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride ep 6

9 – Mushibugyou ep 6 (↑ 4)

10 – RDG: Red Data Girl ep 6 ( 3)

11 – Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge ep 6 (↑ 6)

12 – Hunter x Hunter ep 79 (↑ 3)

13 – Devil Survivor 2 The Animation ep 6 (↑ 5)

14 – Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko ep 6 ( 3)

15 – Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% ep 6 ( 5)

16 – Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W ep 6 ( 4)

17 – Aku no Hana ep 6 ( 3)

18 – Karneval ep 6 ( 2)

Tempura: A Japanese dish of vegetables and shrimp or other seafood dipped in batter and fried in deep fat.

Tempura: A Japanese dish of vegetables and shrimp or other seafood dipped in batter and fried in deep fat.

Moving up:

When I saw the preview in last week’s Date A Live, I braced myself for that staple of all ecchi series, the generic hot springs episode. What I wasn’t expecting was for the whole episode to focus on the JOURNEY to said hot springs, a journey fraught with danger, traps around every corner, and corners where there shouldn’t have been corners! The poor AST members were attacked by food missiles, caught in SLIME, knocked out with sleeping gas… but none of this was enough to stop their captain, Ryoukou, from fighting her way there. She’s a fun character, good to see her play a larger role in this ep. 🙂 And for those who wanted ecchi bathing scenes, there’s always the ED~

Finally escaping the second-from-last position it has held since Week 2, Dansai Bunri no Crime Edge was actually pretty entertaining. As I said in an earlier post, one of my main gripes with the series was the lack of any real villain/antagonist, but the vice-president and her “Pet Whip of Submissive Butchery” was a step up from the sledgehammer guy at least, and Seigi’s “Rulebook of Sentencing and Execution” should be interesting too – even if it is a poor man’s Death Note. 😛 At this midway point in the season, when I’m considering dropping one of the weaker shows I’m watching, even the smallest of improvements could make a huge difference…

True dominance: A kind of dominance wherein the dominant allele completely masks the effect of the recessive allele in heterozygous condition. Oh, wait a second...

True dominance: Wherein the dominant allele completely masks the effect of the recessive allele in heterozygous condition.

Also working its way slowly out of the danger zone is Mushibugyou, a series that has really grown on me. I’d probably go as far as to say its the most underrated show of the current season – in A-P’s series rankings, out of all the shows I picked up, it only beats the polarizing Aku no Hana, and is also the least watched series after UtaPri (which naturally has less viewers due to it being a sequel). Certainly, the series doesn’t bring anything new to the table, but I still find that the enthusiastic protagonist, fun side characters and battles against giant bugs are all just really fun to watch. 🙂

Falling asleep while reading books: Yeah, I've done that before.

Falling asleep while reading books: Yeah, I’ve done that before.

Moving down:

Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000% took a tumble, partly because the whole bishie of the week thing is starting to get a little old now (and there’s still a fair few to go…), but also because I just don’t find Ren as fun as most of the other characters. Despite moving up and down my rankings like a yo-yo, UtaPri is actually very consistent, but that also means it’s in danger of becoming boring. 😕 Aside from that, episode six was amusing in the usual, over the top, sparkle-filled and facepalm-inducing way.

I don’t know what my problem with flashback episodes is. Even when they’re providing important plot information or character development, I just never seem to get on with them. Probably because the main story has to be put on hold in order to fit them in. And after the completely unexpected twist at the end of Attack on Titan episode 5, the last thing I wanted was for the main story to be put on hold. That’s the only ‘issue’ I had with the sixth episode, an episode which was more or less essential for introducing our previously mysterious new protagonist, but it was enough to make me hold back on giving the show a 5th consecutive week at number 1.

A third son: just a fabulous, sparkly, bonus.

A third son: Just a fabulous, sparkly, bonus.

Leave a Reply

