Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 2

Every season I come up with a few minor changes to my rankings posts. Earlier examples include the addition of screenshots, the addition of captions to the screenshots, the addition of up and down arrows to indicate how each anime has changed in my rankings compared with the week before… I like to think they’re improvements. My early attempts look pretty boring in comparison. I mean, I didn’t even include episode numbers first time around!

This season’s change/hopeful improvement is a small thing, something that should probably have been an obvious thing to include from the start… but clearly, I’m very good at missing the obvious. So from now on, I’ll be including a simple link to the previous week’s rankings post at the end of this one, to make it easier for people to find earlier posts and see how my thoughts have changed throughout the season. Just in case anybody’s bored enough to actually want to do that. 😛

Best. Character. Ever.

Best. Character. Ever.

1 – Genshiken Nidaime ep 2

2 – Senki Zesshou Symphogear G ep 2 (↑ 3)

3 – Danganronpa: The Animation ep 2 (↑ 4)

4 – Hunter x Hunter ep 88 ( 1)

5 – Free! ep 2 (↑ 5)

6 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 14

7 – Space Brothers ep 65

8 – Gatchaman Crowds ep 2 ( 6)

– Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi ep 2 ( 1)

10 – Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C³-bu ep 2 ( 1)

11 – Gen’ei wo Kakeru Taiyou ep 2 ( 7)

12 – Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen ep 2 (↑ 4)

13 – Gin no Saji ep 2 ( 7)

14 – Mushibugyou ep 15

15 – Uchouten Kazoku ep 2 ( 3)

16 – Love Lab ep 2 ( 3)

17 – Blood Lad ep 2 ( 2)

18 – Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku ep 2 ( 7)

Had to pause at this point, just to double check I was still watching Rozen Maiden. :razz:

I had to pause at this point, just to double check I was still watching Rozen Maiden. 😛 I assume they’ll explain the relevance of this scene eventually.

Moving up:

Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen placed at the bottom last week, as episode 1 was essentially recap. But though it is getting off to a slow start, I really like what I’ve seen so far! An alternative reality, with Jun still acting as protagonist, but with some obvious differences. As he chose ‘not to wind’ as a child, he never received Shinku through the post, and as an adult he is now instead building her himself (which adds a whole new level of weirdness to the setting)! For what purpose? Apparently the Jun we know from previous series is struggling against Kirakishou, and needs help from his alternative future self. I can’t help but think this help is unnecessary, though – Kanaria is blatantly awesome enough to handle things on her own!

Also moving up is Danganronpa: The Animation! While I was never going to say no to a new survival game anime, the first ep didn’t exactly blow me away. Aside from the crazy character designs, it seemed pretty standard – a group of people placed in a situation where they have to kill each other to escape. I couldn’t help but feel the show needed something more, another twist to make the game more interesting. Episode 2 delivered. Rather than being allowed to walk out the moment they kill someone, the classmates must first go through a trial. If the guilty person is correctly identified, they die. If an innocent person is wrongly convicted, however, all the innocent people die, and the killer gets away scot-free! We also learned this week that blood is pink, and that Principal Monokuma is not to be messed with…

Ridiculous as it seemed at first, the pink blood doesn't actually make the death scenes any less effective IMO.

As ridiculous as it seemed at first, the pink blood doesn’t actually make the death scenes any less effective, in my opinion.

Moving down:

I don’t know what it was about Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku that made me laugh so much in the first episode, but it wasn’t present this week. Maybe they only had 20 minutes of decent jokes. Maybe I was just delirious due to the heat last week. Maybe I still am… Anyhow, episode 2 was not very funny, was barely animated, and (worst of all), was just painfully generic. I’ll give a while longer though, give it a chance to redeem itself, as even some of my favourite comedy series had their bad episodes.

Gen’ei wo Kakeru Taiyou‘s second episode explained a lot of the mysterious goings on from last week, developed the setting, introduced a host of new characters, and even managed to fit in a short battle against the series’ antagonists, the Daemonia… my main complaint would have to be that too much happened, too quickly, as the show bounced from one scene to another. The setting dark and interesting, very reminiscent of Madoka Magica (cute-looking chibi animals manipulating the humans, enemies who grant wishes at a terrible cost etc), but the pacing could be an issue with this one.

Kitakubu gets so desperate, it even attempts to turn its own repetitiveness into a gag.

Kitakubu gets so desperate, it even attempts to turn its own repetitiveness into a gag.

General comments:

The eagerly awaited Shingeki no Kyojin returns, after what seemed far longer than a week… and fails to make my Top 5 for the first time. While the fact four of the shows ranked above it are shinier and newer may have had some impact, I think most of the blame lies with the series itself this time. From the first episode, all the way through last season, Attack on Titan has kept me entertained with epic action scenes and shocking cliffhangers. Episode 14 had none of this. In fact, not a lot happened at all really. I hope the trials in Danganronpa are more interesting… Still, I have no doubt we’ll see Shingeki back up there once it regains its momentum.

I'm particularly looking forward to seeing these two work together. :D

I’m particularly looking forward to seeing these two work together. 😀

<< Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 1 <(NEW FEATURE! Isn’t it amazing? Clearly, I must be some kind of genius)

One Response to Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 2

  1. […] << Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 2 […]

Leave a Reply

