Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 6

Here we are, midway through the season! Or close enough for me to do my usual mid season swap & drop anyway. Delaying it any further would have been pointless, since Blood Lad has quite clearly been the anime I’ve enjoyed the least over the last few weeks… it’s gone from my lists and watching schedule now. I could easily have dropped two this time around, but since I’m already 3/4 of the way through Mushibugyou, I’ll watch it until the end.

To replace Blood Lad, I went back and watched the first episodes of three Summer series that I didn’t get around to at the start of the season. Hyperdimension Neptunia was awful – that’s all that needs to be said. Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya didn’t impress me either – I read the manga years ago, and didn’t feel that the story was strong enough to warrant revisiting. Which left Kimi no Iru Machi… Low-budget, and occasionally featuring pointless fanservice, but the same could be said for the series it’s replacing. And unlike Blood Lad, Kimi no Iru Machi’s story and characters quickly caught my interest. There’s certainly space for a serious romance/drama series in my comedy-heavy lineup, so I didn’t have to think hard about this one. 🙂

I'm really looking forward to finding out what this human-controlled Titan's motives are...

I’m really looking forward to finding out what this new human-controlled Titan’s motives are…

1 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 18 

2 – Genshiken Nidaime ep 6 (↑ 2)

3 – Gatchaman Crowds ep 6 (↑ 2)

– Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi ep 6  (↑ 2)

5 – Free! ep 6 (↑ 2)

6 – Hunter x Hunter ep 92 ( 4)

7 – Senki Zesshou Symphogear G ep 6  (↑ 2)

8 – Space Brothers ep 69  (↑ 2)

9 – Danganronpa: The Animation ep 6 ( 1)

10 – Love Lab ep 6 (↑ 1)

11 – Kimi no Iru Machi ep 6

12 – Gin no Saji ep 6  ( 9)

13 – Gen’ei wo Kakeru Taiyou ep 6 ( 1)

14 – Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku ep 6

15 – Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen ep 6 ( 2)

16 – Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C³-bu ep 6 (↑ 1)

17 – Uchouten Kazoku ep 6 ( 2)

18 – Mushibugyou ep 19 ( 2)

Kimi no Iru Machi is pretty dark in places, and is certainly no romantic comedy!

Kimi no Iru Machi is pretty dark in places, and is certainly no romantic comedy!

So, Kimi no Iru Machi. A series focusing on protagonist Haruto’s attempts to steal back his old girlfriend from her new, terminally ill partner. Okay… it’s a lot more complicated than that. 😛  There’s all sorts of love triangles, friendships and rivalries, that we’re only just beginning to understand after the revelations over the last couple of episodes. The series isn’t even set in one time period, it constantly flashes back and forth between the characters’ childhoods and the present. Needless to say, I’m interested in finding out more about this cast, and how they’ll resolve this messy situation!

Kuchiki-kun thought long and hard before deciding this course of action.

Kuchiki-kun thought long and hard before deciding this course of action.

Moving up:

Genshiken Nidaime… what a series. It is getting to the point where I’m seriously considering tying myself to my chair, and securing the chair to the ground before watching it, as otherwise I’m going to keep falling out of it in fits of uncontrollable laughter. I don’t think any comedy series has impressed me this much since Nichijou… but even then, it couldn’t take first place this week. I’m just too much of an action junkie. 😛

Love Lab has also fallen foul of my preference for plot over comedy – while it got off to a slow start, the last few episodes have been very funny, yet this is only the show’s first week in my Top 10! This week, the first male side characters (excluding Dakky) were introduced, giving Riko a chance to prove her status as the Student Council’s ‘love expert’, as well as giving Maki a chance to put all her practice into action! Unfortunately, neither does particularly well. Meanwhile, the number of students turning to them for advice is increasing rapidly… I look forward to seeing how they handle all the requests. 😀

The shower battle was amusing, though. :razz:

The shower battle was amusing, though. 😛

Moving down:

It feels like I’m still waiting for Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen to start… after the overly-rushed intro, where 8 volumes of manga were squeezed into 20 minutes, the pacing has ground to a halt. Six episodes in, and the only real progress is that the un-wound Jun finally built Shinku, Suigintou showed up (and the two haven’t stopped arguing since), and Jun himself is slowly regaining his social skills thanks to Saitou. The threat of Kirakishou is forever looming in the background, creepily, but she hasn’t made any real moves yet… I’m just hoping the pace will pick up sooner rather than later. 😕

General comments:

I think I’ve finally sussed Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku out – it’s basically like Gag Manga Biyori, with its crazy cast, crazier situations that said cast just run with, and one character whose sole purpose is to act as tsukkomi, pointing out the numerous, obvious problems with what the others are saying and doing. The animation isn’t much better than Gag Manga Biyori’s, either. 😛 Either way, while I doubt Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku will get very far out of the red zone any time soon (if at all), it has really grown on me. 🙂

One of the more ridiculous concepts the series has raised so far.

One of the more ridiculous concepts the series has raised so far.

<< Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 5

One Response to Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 6

  1. […] << Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 6 […]

Leave a Reply

