Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 9

Late, because the subs for Kimi no Iru Machi were later than usual. At least everything aired this week, though. 😛

Despite ‘officially’ dropping Blood Lad a few weeks ago, I ended up marathoning it after finding out it was only 10 episodes long, so I’ve finished one Summer series already! It took some willpower, though. I have absolutely nothing positive to say about that series. Not even the vocal talents of Wakamoto Norio-sama could save it. 😕

I don't just keep ranking Attack on Titan at #1 as an excuse to use awesome screenshots at the top of each post. Honest.

I don’t just keep ranking Attack on Titan #1 as an excuse to use awesome screenshots at the top of each post. Honest!

1 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 21 

2 – Gatchaman Crowds ep 9 

3 – Hunter x Hunter ep 95 (↑ 1)

4 – Genshiken Nidaime ep 9 ( 1)

5 – Danganronpa: The Animation ep 9 (↑ 6)

6 – Space Brothers ep 72 ( 1)

7 – Free! ep 9 

8 – Senki Zesshou Symphogear G ep 9 ( 2)

9 – Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen ep 9 (↑ 7)

10 – Love Lab ep 9

11 – Gin no Saji ep 9 (↑ 2)

12 – Gen’ei wo Kakeru Taiyou ep 9 (↑ 3)

13 – Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku ep 8 ( 4)

14 – Uchouten Kazoku ep 9 

15 – Kimi no Iru Machi ep 9 ( 3)

16 – Mushibugyou ep 22 (↑ 1)

17 – Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi ep 9 (↑ 1)

18 – Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C³-bu ep 9 ( 10)

I'd probably faceplant as well. Then vent my frustrations on Facebook.

I’d probably faceplant as well. Then vent my frustrations on Facebook.

Moving up:

Only last week I was criticizing Danganronpa: The Animation for being predictable, but episode 9 was full of unexpected twists! The fact that the latest ‘murder’ took place in a sealed room, and that everyone still alive was either too obvious or too important to the overall plot to be the killer (it’s still predictable in that respect :razz:) should have made me consider that Sakura committed suicide, but it didn’t even occur to me, likely due to all the other, red herring evidence. The in-fighting during the trial was thrilling to watch, but I felt that by the end of the episode, the remaining ‘players’ had grown closer, united by their desire to escape alive. Which made it the perfect time to throw another, unknown person into the mix! 😀

As we near the end of the season, Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen FINALLY feels as though it’s getting started! The creepy Kirakishou finally has a body, Suigintou and Shinku have formed a temporary alliance against her (still can’t quite believe that), and Suiseiseki has made her appearance, but is complicating matters by protecting the seventh doll, because the body she’s borrowing is in fact that of Souseiseki! Kanaria is also getting screen time, which is always good. 🙂 I only hope the series is going to carry on into next season, as otherwise it doesn’t have much time left to impress me.

Alter Ego's 'death' was another plot twist that came from nowhere... love the animation style in the punishment scenes, though!

Alter Ego’s ‘death’ was another plot twist that came from nowhere… love the animation style in the punishment scenes, though!

Moving down:

Last week I praised Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C³-bu for actually being entertaining once again, but it didn’t last long. The early, fun-filled airsoft battles are a thing of the past, Yura’s power also seems to have been sidelined, and all we’re left with is an angsty main character and a side cast who seem to be just as annoyed with her as I am. Now I’m fine with previously happy series turning darker or more dramatic later on, so long as it’s handled well… but in C³-bu, it isn’t. The show has just become really boring.

The drama in Kimi no Iru Machi is never boring, but this week it did feel a tad cliché. Rin seems set on destroying Haruto’s relationship with Asuka, which may end up being for the best considering his obsession with Yuzuki is as strong as ever, and she’s actually single now… but I doubt Rin is doing this to benefit anyone, she just seems like a troll to me. Can’t see this series ending happily for Asuka. 😦

I definitely feel I'm getting more critical and less tolerant of genericness as time goes by. Yes, 'genericness' is actually a word.

I definitely feel I’m getting more critical and less tolerant of genericness as time goes by. Yes, ‘genericness’ is actually a word.

General comments:

Shingeki no Kyojin is enjoying a long spell at the top of my rankings. No surprise really, since the female human-controlled titan episodes (while slower than previous ‘arcs’) have been full of action. And character deaths. Pretty major character deaths this week. I mean, the elite members of the survey/recon corps. were only introduced fairly recently, but the show did a good job of developing their personalities in that time. Add in the fact that they’re supposedly the best of the best when it comes to killing titans, and it was a shock to see them all fall so quickly. And then, Eren got eaten again. That’s probably not a good habit to get into.

...or not alone, as the case may be...

…it’s best to make sure you actually ARE alone…

<< Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 8

6 Responses to Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 9

  1. Justin says:

    DUDE…

    …Love Lab should be higher =p

  2. I think that I’ve finally caught up again with your reviews. I could never get in to Attack on Titan. That series, while it did string me along for 9 episodes, irritated me far too much with its slow pacing and rather annoying characters.

    Anyway, I nominated you for an award! You can see it on my blog.

    • Attack on Titan is definitely formulaic, relying on huge plot twists and cliffhangers at the end of each episode to mask the slow pacing in the episodes themselves… it’s definitely not perfect, but the story and action are interesting enough for me to overlook that. 🙂

      Many thanks for the award nomination! Reminds me that I still need to get around to answering your Liebster Award questions… I’ll try my best, after I’ve caught up with this season’s anime! 😛

Leave a Reply

