Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 10

Late, because I had to host the pub quiz last night, and ended up watching no anime whatsoever for… possibly the third or fourth day this year? I’m still recovering from the shock. I’ll have to get better at multitasking, so that such strange occurrences become a thing of the past. Might be an idea for a new year’s resolution? 😛

Anyone who talks about love while making that kind of face has to be evil.

1 – Senki Zesshou Symphogear G ep 10 (↑ 7)

2 – Shingeki no Kyojin ep 22 ( 1)

3 – Genshiken Nidaime ep 10 (↑ 1)

4 – Hunter x Hunter ep 96 ( 1)

– Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi ep 10 (↑ 12)

6 – Gatchaman Crowds ep 10 ( 4)

7 – Space Brothers ep 73 ( 1)

8 – Danganronpa: The Animation ep 10 (↓ 3)

9 – Rozen Maiden Zurückspulen ep 10

10 – Gin no Saji ep 10 (↑ 1)

11 – Uchouten Kazoku ep 10 (↑ 3)

12 – Love Lab ep 10 (↓ 2)

13 – Free! ep 10 ( 6)

14 – Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku ep 9 ( 1)

15 – Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C³-bu ep 10 (↑ 3)

16 – Kimi no Iru Machi ep 10 ( 1)

17 – Mushibugyou ep 23 ( 1)

18 – Gen’ei wo Kakeru Taiyou ep 10 ( 6)

Yashirou is far too trusting! :O

Yashirou is far too trusting! 😮

Moving up:

Recent episodes of Senki Zesshou Symphogear G have been difficult to follow, as each week features some new ‘plot’ twist and cliffhanger ending. However, this week’s was really entertaining! Episode 10 featured Chris’ and Hibiki’s character songs, by far my favourites, as well as the haunting battle theme from the newly transformed Miku. There was a lot of action, laser beams, explosions, tears and drama~ Whether Symphogear truly deserves the number one spot, I don’t know, but I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt. Shingeki no Kyojin has been up there long enough. 😛

I haven’t mentioned Uchouten Kazoku in a while… For reasons unknown, I just don’t feel the same level of enthusiasm about the show as most of my friends who’re watching it, despite it having decent characters and character interactions, and the fact I struggle to list any faults with it. Maybe it’s just a little too dialogue heavy for me? But enough negatives! It moves up this week, following the revelation that Ebisugawa Souun has no intentions of holding a fair election to become nise-emon, and that he was the one who set up Souichirou and allowed the Friday Fellows to capture him! Okay, Souun was kind of an obvious bad guy, but it’s still an interesting development plot-wise, and I look forward to seeing how Yasaburou and his family will get out of this one!

It’ll be interesting to see what Rei and Rin talk about next episode! 😀

Moving down:

Free! moves down this week, because I felt the focus of the episode (the story of how Rin’s friendship with Haruka and the others turned sour) had already been pretty well explained, bit by bit over the course of the series. I suppose it was necessary for Rei to learn what happened, as he was obviously feeling left out of the group, but aside from addressing that issue (and the revelation that Ama-chan-sensei’s former job involving ‘swimsuits’ wasn’t quite what coach Gorou had imagined :razz:), I didn’t feel the episode added much.

Love Lab‘s tenth episode was more of a collection of short stories. After the rest of the school council played dress up Sayori (strange but amusing to see her as the victim of their teasing, for once), we got to learn more about her past, and how she met her unfortunate(?) boyfriend. Then, the second half focused on Suzune, looking firstly at her siblings (the ‘Tororo-san’ theme had me in stitches), and then at her unbelievable clumsiness. In-between these segments, we were introduced to Yuiko’s beloved brother… he may well be a lost cause. All in all, an entertaining episode, but it jumped around a bit too much for my liking.

I started to wonder whether I was accidentally watching Kitakubu at this point. :razz:

I started to wonder whether I was accidentally watching Kitakubu at this point. 😛

General comments:

And finally, the time came in Gin no Saji for Hachiken to part with Butadon… and be reunited with him a short while later in the form of 51 kilos of meat. This episode definitely deserves a mention, even if it was too bittersweet (and lacking in action, I won’t try and hide it) for me to want to rate any higher. 😕 I expected that the pig would end up dying, as this series hadn’t shied away from the realities of farming livestock at any point previously, but I certainly didn’t expect Hachiken to offer to buy the whole lot afterwards! It has been really interesting to see his character and opinions develop and change over time, and as has been mentioned more than once in the series, it’s probably just as beneficial for the rest of the students who’ve grown up around farming to stop and think about things from another perspective. 🙂

As long as the food scenes look this good, there's no danger that Gin no Saji will turn me vegetarian. :razz:

As long as the food looks this good, there’s no danger of Gin no Saji turning me vegetarian. 😛

<< Spring 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 9

4 Responses to Summer 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 10

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    Uchouten Kazoku and Gin no Saji are two of my favorites up there. I have been watching Genshiken Nidaime but haven’t caught up yet. Did expect the pig to die and expected him to be eaten so no surprise there but it was still fun to watch them eat with such gusto.

    • Uchouten Kazoku, Gin no Saji and Genshiken Nidaime probably have the best characters of any of the new series this season, though only the latter has ranked consistently highly in my rankings – I feel I’m very much the target audience for Genshiken. 😛 The others mostly lose out because I’m an action junkie.

      • GoodbyeNavi says:

        Haha. You may well be but it doesn’t have that much action from what I’ve seen. I think it’s funny but watching it on the train can be a little embarrassing if people don’t know what’s going on. 😊

Leave a Reply

