Autumn 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 3

Week 3, the time of each season when I assign each anime series a preliminary rating out of 5 ‘stars’ on Anime-Planet. Here’s my ‘Watching’ list in case anyone is interested. These scores are, of course, as subject to change over time as my weekly rankings, though I usually only update them every 3-4 weeks – I can forgive a bad episode or two. The only show I’ve yet to rate is Kyousougiga; I’m using the fact that I’m only on episode 2 of the new TV material as an excuse, but really, I just haven’t a clue what to rate it. 😛

A lot of the series that moved significantly up or down this week were the same ones I talked about last week, so I’ll focus on some different ones this time around. 🙂

There's not much to say about ep 3 of NouCome anyway, other than that it was hilarious!

Not much to say about ep 3 of NouCome anyway, it was just hilarious! I love the ‘parallel universe’ segments at the end, showing the consequences of other choices the protagonist could’ve made.

1 – NouCome ep 3 (↑ 12)

2 – Coppelion ep 3 (↑ 4)

3 – Kill la Kill ep 3 ( 2)

4 – Yowamushi Pedal ep 3 

5 – Kakumeiki Valvrave S2 ep 3 

6 – Outbreak Company ep 3 (↑ 5)

7 – Samurai Flamenco ep 3 (↑ 2)

– Galilei Donna ep 3 ( 6)

9 – Hunter x Hunter ep 101 (↑ 1)

10 – Space Brothers ep 78 ( 2)

11 – Nagi no Asukara ep 3 (↑ 5)

12 – Magi: The Kingdom of Magic ep 3 (↑ 3)

13 – Golden Time ep 3 ( 1)

14 – Little Busters! Refrain ep 3 ( 7)

15 – Phi Brain S3 ep 3 ( 1)

16 – Kyousougiga TV ep 2 ( 13)

17 – Non Non Biyori ep 3 (↑ 1)

18 – Meganebu! ep 3 ( 1)

Loving the animation style and backgrounds in Coppelion!

Loving the animation style and backgrounds in Coppelion, too!

Moving up:

Coppelion got off to a slow start, but that premise was always Top 5 material. 😛 This week’s episode shed a lot of light on what caused the nuclear disaster in the ‘Old Capital’, but I don’t think we know the full story just yet. I also liked that Denjirou, the scientist who designed the nuclear plant, chose to atone for his ‘sin’ by doing voluntary work in the highly radioactive environment, delivering food parcels and taking old ladies to shrines, allowing the people who were left behind to continue to live relatively normal lives. With everyone seemingly evacuated now, it looks as though these ‘invaders’ in their stealth bomber will be the new focus of the story from next week onwards…

Nagi no Asukara emerges from the bottom five at last, with an episode that I thought really helped to develop the characters (particularly Manaka and Hikari) and setting (the fact the underwater village has a reason besides cultural/racial prejudice for banning relationships with surface dwellers is an interesting twist). My main complaint about the last couple of episodes was that they seemed to be skipping all this ‘introductory’ material and charging full speed ahead into drama/love triangle territory, which would have been quite boring to watch if we knew nothing and cared nothing about the characters involved, but hopefully now my opinion of the series will continue to rise. 🙂

The net scene made me laugh. :D

The net scene made me laugh. 😀

Moving down:

Galilei Donna was similar to Nagi no Asukara in that it gave only the most basic character introduction before heading straight into the action and mystery… the main difference being that action and mystery don’t always require complex characters to be interesting, hence the much higher rankings. 😛 Now that it has started to develop the cast, focusing on Kazuki in particular this week, and her desire for a normal life away from oil and goldfish mechs and Galileo, the series as a whole should hopefully rank higher in future weeks as a result; but, as a standalone episode, it wasn’t as interesting as the first two.

I can’t help but feel as though I’m ranking Little Busters! Refrain a bit harshly, especially after its strong start… but the competition this season is strong, and sadly, if you’ve seen one Key adaptation (or even a single arc of a Key adaptation) you’ve pretty much seen them all. This time there’s some sort of Groundhog Day/Endless Eight time trickery going on, and nobody other than protagonist Riki and probable cause Kurugaya know that it’s happening. Hopefully the conclusion for this arc will be a good one, as I quite like Kurugaya, and (thanks largely to Riki) the Little Busters have so far managed to avoid any real disasters so far.

Clara~

Clara~

General comments:

Meganebu! is back at the bottom of my rankings again… but believe it or not, I really like the series. I really like everything I’ve picked up this season, which makes a nice change, as it’s usually the Week 3 – 4 mark that I start to regret committing to one or two shows. 😛 The reason Meganebu! can’t seem to escape the bottom two is mostly because it’s a club anime, and I’ve seen a lot of them; it’s a comedy, but it doesn’t make me laugh as much as the likes of NouCome; it’s a show featuring young bishonen that doesn’t have Free!’s high production values etc etc. But although these rankings are all about comparing different shows, if I stop doing that then I struggle to fault Meganebu! And though it might be a bit hypocritical of me, I really think its low ranking on Anime-Planet is unfair – of the 5,218 series currently ranked on the site, Meganebu! is a shocking 5,094th!? 😮

Fanservice~

Fanservice~

<< Autumn 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 2

One Response to Autumn 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 3

  1. […] << Autumn 2013 Episode Rankings – Week 3 […]

Leave a Reply

