Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 5

I booked last Thursday off, in hopes of checking out a few of the Winter season’s first eps that I didn’t get around to. And what happens? More storms, more power cuts, and a wasted day of annual leave that I won’t be getting back. I can only assume that fate is trying to prevent me from watching one of the aforementioned first episodes. Perhaps the world would end if I watched Sakura Trick? Maybe there’s a really good reason why I should never watch the Nationals arc of Saki, one so vitally important that nature itself would prevent me from doing so? Or I could just be overthinking things. Again.

Regardless, though I do now have electricity and internet again, WordPress seems to be playing up for me – I’m only seeing a couple of random images here and there, whereas my blog’s banner and all my other screencaps are refusing to display. 😕 To get around this, I’ll be hosting images on Photobucket for this and any other new posts I make until the issue is sorted out.

Welfin is proving to be an interesting character – didn’t expect Meleoron’s pause for breath to freak him out so much, and I’m sure Meleoron himself didn’t either!

1 – Hunter x Hunter ep 115

2 – Magi: The Kingdom of Magic ep 18

3 – Kill la Kill ep 17

4 – Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren ep 5 (↑ 1)

5 – Hozuki no Reitetsu ep 5 (↑ 1)

6 – Love Song of a Certain Pilot ep 5 ( 2)

7 – Gin no Saji S2 ep 5 (↑ 2)

8 – Yowamushi Pedal ep 17 ( 1)

9 – Space Brothers ep 92 ( 1)

10 – Hamatora ep 5 (↑ 4)

11 – Samurai Flamenco ep 16 (↑ 4)

12 – Nagi no Asukara ep 18

13 – Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil ep 5 ( 3)

14 – Golden Time ep 17 ( 3)

15 – Nobunagun ep 5 ( 1)

16 – Space Dandy ep 5 ( 3)

17 – Nobunaga the Fool ep 5

18 – Phi Brain S3 ep 18

That was pretty much my reaction throughout the episode.

Moving up:

Last week I complained about the lack of complex mysteries and character development in Hamatora, saying that it’d take more than just crazy antics to hold my interest. After watching episode five, I take that back. We got to see just how diverse the different minimum abilities can be, as the villain this time (yet another artificial holder) used the power of his sweat to turn other men into his obedient slaves… so he could capture the influential prince of a foreign country… so that he could use said influence to restore his favourite idol to fame. No, really. Though it wasn’t quite up to the standards of the zombie episode of Space Dandy, it probably made me laugh more. Hamatora, please stay the way you are!

Also moving up is Gin no Saji S2! There was plenty of laughs to be had with this episode too, from Nishikawa’s very professional-looking (if a little inappropriate) painting of the Ban’ei sledge to the return of Tamako’s amazing weight loss. 😛 And FINALLY, with a little help from her friends, Mikage realizes that Hachiken has feelings for her! Hachiken is kept very busy throughout the episode, taking on more and more responsibilities, which at first is just another source of hilarity… but unsurprisingly, all this work and lack of sleep eventually takes its toll on his body, and the episode ends with him collapsing while taking the dog for a walk in the evening. 😮

The aforementioned sled art… love the fact he tried to make it relevant to farming by naming them after the chemical elements most used in fertilizers!

Moving down:

I didn’t think much of this episode of Golden Time, at least compared with last week’s, which saw Koko and Banri reconcile, and also properly introduced Koko’s father (who despite his serious manner in all his previous brief appearances, is just as mad as the rest of the cast). Ep 17 started with the rest of the Festival Club trying to convince both Koko and Banri not to quit, as they were under the false impression that they’d split up. This was then followed by another misunderstanding, where they congratulated a former club member for finding a job, when he was still unemployed. These jokes dragged on a bit too long, IMO. The second half was mostly romance and drama, which as I’ve said before, isn’t the series’ strong point. Overall, my thoughts on Golden Time are largely unchanged – it’s fun, but by no means a must-see.

I think I’d be more scared if the cast of Golden Time STOPPED acting weirdly!

General comments:

Space Brothers is brothers in space… wait, wrong series. 😛 As with last season, it’s keeping fairly stable at the middle of my rankings each week, with plenty of humour and the introduction of yet more interesting characters. This week we met the rest of the backup crew who’ll be training alongside Mutta – seemingly all ‘problem astronauts’ who struggle to fit in with other groups for whatever reason. No doubt Mutta will once again be called upon to help keep the peace and get them working together as a team. However, it seems there’s still one more member yet to be introduced, who’ll end up being the captain of this ragtag bunch… good luck to them, whoever they are!

A lot happened in this week’s Nobunaga the Fool. I know it did, I was watching the episode, I saw it all happen… but my mood was pretty constant throughout. Neither positive nor negative, just mildly entertained. You’d think that important plot points such as our protagonist being paralysed by his own subordinate in an attempt to save him from a worse fate, or the death of his father Nobuhide, would have some sort of impact, but it didn’t. The one thing I am starting to find a little irritating is the forced tarot card drawing in each episode, though it does make me wonder whether the cards are truly predicting events, or somehow causing them… Da Vinci is an enigmatic fellow. But in summary, Nobunaga the Fool still isn’t doing much for me, despite being very pretty.

Mutta being overlooked in the ‘Identify the Astronaut’ game was a predictable gag, but somehow that didn’t make it any less funny.

<< Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 4

One Response to Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 5

Leave a Reply

