Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 6

Still have electricity, images are displaying correctly on WordPress again, and I was finally able to sample a few more of the season’s shows! I had a look at six first episodes altogether, but the two that really stood out, and that will be joining my list from this week onwards, were Witch Craft Works and Noragami!

As usual though, I’ll be stalling two series to make room for these late entries. And after a lot of thought, the two I settled on were Nobunagun and Space Dandy. Phi Brain was never in any danger, despite coming dead last four out of the previous five weeks, Hamatora appealed more to my sense of humour and has some promise in the plot department as well, while Nobunaga the Fool… simply too pretty to go. 😛 Chances are I’ll marathon both when they’re finished, since there’s only 6 – 8 episodes left to go, but I no longer feel much of a desire to keep up with them weekly.

Plot twist after plot twist has restored Kill la Kill to the #1 spot!

Plot twist after plot twist has restored Kill la Kill to the #1 spot!

1 – Kill la Kill ep 18 (↑ 2)

2 – Hunter x Hunter ep 116 ( 1)

3 – Gin no Saji S2 ep 6 (↑ 4)

4 – Hozuki no Reitetsu ep 6 (↑ 1)

5 – Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren ep 6 ( 1)

6 – Yowamushi Pedal ep 18 (↑ 2)

7 – Magi: The Kingdom of Magic ep 19 ( 5)

8 – Noragami ep 6

9 – Love Song of a Certain Pilot ep 6 ( 3)

10 – Space Brothers ep 93 ( 1)

11 – Nobunaga the Fool ep 6 (↑ 6)

12 – Witch Craft Works ep 6

13 – Nagi no Asukara ep 19 ( 1)

14 – Golden Time ep 18

15 – Samurai Flamenco ep 17 ( 4)

16 – Hamatora ep 6 ( 6)

17 – Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil ep 6 ( 4)

18 – Phi Brain S3 ep 19

Half-way through the season, and it's still introducing new, fun characters each episode!

Half-way through the season, and Witch Craft Works is still introducing new, fun characters each episode!

Witch Craft Works is a series that could have easily slipped under my radar if a friend hadn’t actually sat me down and showed me the first two episodes. I guess I like it for the same reasons I enjoyed Date A Live – it’s basically a glorified harem show, but low in ecchi and high in action and comedy, and it has decent animation and character designs to boot! So much has been kept from poor male protagonist Takamiya Honoka for all these years (the existence of magic, the fact his sister is a mage, and that he’s been engaged to Kagari since childhood)… really leaves me looking forward to the next surprising development. 😛

Noragami has been receiving quite a bit more attention and praise, so I thought I’d see what all the fuss was about, and was immediately hooked. Here’s another show with a good balance of action (such as the ep 6 battle against Bishamon), comedy (that never-ending drop from the building in episode 4 had me in stitches! 😀 ), and interesting characters (a failure of a god with a dark past, a martial-arts-loving female protagonist who’s prone to leaving her body behind, and a rebellious teenage ghost who is also a sword). Basically, any show which fits these criteria is a guaranteed hit with me.

Looks like Yato has a long, hard struggle ahead of him if he wants to be a well-respected, popular god...

Looks like Yato has a long, hard struggle ahead of him if he wants to be a well-respected, popular god…

Moving up:

Despite last week’s rant, I’d more or less made up my mind that I’d be keeping on Nobunaga the Fool. This week’s episode certainly helped make that decision easier to justify, though! While poor old Nobuhide’s death didn’t really impact me (probably because he’d have had to have died at some point for the sake of the plot, what with all the focus on the power struggle between his sons’ followers and all), the deaths in this episode of both Himiko and Nobukatsu both took me by surprise, even with the tarot prediction.

Moving down:

Samurai Flamenco is really going to have to work hard to regain my interest now. Sure, it’s crammed full of plot twists. I like plot twists. The revelation that the Prime Minister who ordered the arrest of all heroes has super powers himself, and that Mr Justice is in fact a villain called ‘Alien Flamenco’ SHOULD be interesting. But there’s just no depth or impact behind any of it. All these new changes and friends and enemies are in and out so quickly that I just don’t care. I loved it back when it was just Goto having to deal with the hero-wannabe antics of Hazama and the others. I didn’t even mind it when King Torture appeared and shook things up. But everything since then just hasn’t impressed me at all. I just hope that the secret behind ‘Flamenco’, the one word that keeps cropping up, is good enough to justify it all.

Can't say I really like Mitsuhide anymore, but it'll be interesting to see what other dark deeds he'll be forced to do for his master's sake...

Can’t say I like Mitsuhide much anymore, but it’ll be interesting to see what other dark deeds he’ll resort to for his master’s sake…

General comments:

Kill la Kill, meanwhile, is the perfect example of how to do plot twists. Focus three-quarters of the series on building a character up to be bent on world domination, making her the arch rival of our protagonist… then bring the whole lot crashing down by revealing that it was all so that she could defeat her evil, creepy and virtually immortal mother. Satsuki’s attacks on Ryuuko and Nudist Beach? Just a test to see if they were worthy of being called allies. To say nothing of the whole ‘I am your mother’ revelation at the end. My mind is blown. I spent most of the early episodes complaining that the series was all style and no substance; how wrong was I!? 😮

The return of the stationary-themed weapons, however, I do like.

The return of the stationary-themed weapons, however, I do like.

<< Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 5

One Response to Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 6

Leave a Reply

