Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 12

Here we are at the end of yet another anime season. 😀 A few series are continuing on for a thirteenth week, but as usual there aren’t enough to warrant a rankings post (plus this time next week I’ll be too busy with the Spring season’s first eps – internet permitting!)

This post’s a bit longer than usual, and focusing only on series that ended this week. 🙂

Because it's never too late for new ultimate forms!

Because it’s never too late for new ultimate forms! Can’t go wrong with rainbow subs, either~

1 – Kill la Kill ep 24 ( 1)

2 – Hunter x Hunter ep 122 ( 1)

3 – Noragami ep 12 ( 2)

4 – Gin no Saji S2 ep 11 (↑ 2)

5 – Yowamushi Pedal ep 24 (↓ 1)

6 – Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren ep 12 (↑ 1)

7 – Love Song of a Certain Pilot ep 12 (↓ 6)

8 – Space Brothers ep 99

9 – Magi: The Kingdom of Magic ep 24 (↑ 4)

10 – Hozuki no Reitetsu ep 12

11 – Golden Time ep 24 

12 – Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil ep 12

13 – Samurai Flamenco ep 22 (↑ 3)

14 – Hamatora ep 12 (↓ 5)

15 – Nagi no Asukara ep 25 ( 1)

16 – Nobunaga the Fool ep 11 ( 1)

17 – Phi Brain S3 ep 25

18 – Witch Craft Works ep 12

Hiyori! Hiyori! Hiyori!

Hiyori! Hiyori! Hiyori!

Taking the Number 1 spot for the final week of Winter is Kill la Kill, which delivered the ridiculous, action-packed and generally OTT ending I’d hoped it would. Not quite a happy ending, with Senketsu sacrificing himself to bring Ryuko to safety, but a satisfying one nonetheless. Though seeing Ryuko, Mako and Satsuki wearing normal clothes and doing normal things at the end felt weirder than it should have. 😛 A great series overall, but it just falls short of a place in my Top 50 series of all time, and it’s unlikely anything else this season will make it either.

Noragami came second out of the shows that ended this week – can’t really call it an ‘ending’, as it left a lot of questions unanswered, but that’s no surprise as the manga is 10 volumes and ongoing. Hopefully this means we’ll get a sequel one day. :mrgreen: Either way, I enjoyed seeing Yato, Yukine and Hiyori overcoming all the challenges, enemies and drama thrown at them, and by the end I thought they had an amazing bond. A lot of series this season have one character that stands out, and that I’ll remember for a long time to come, but Noragami’s the show to have three. 🙂

Playing the first OP as the rocket blasts off... a fantastic way to end the series!

Playing the first OP as the rocket blasts off… a fantastic way to end the series!

Space Brothers is one finale I didn’t see coming. I’ve been watching this series for two years, and have gotten used to it being a constant presence in my weekly rankings… what on Earth (or the Moon, or beyond…) can I replace it with next season? 😦 The episode itself was fairly positive – despite the fact that Hibito’s panic disorder has permanently blacklisted him with certain high up staff at NASA, he hasn’t given up on returning to space, even if it means switching agencies. Meanwhile, Mutta is also making steady progress towards his dream. I REALLY hope this gets a sequel, their stories can’t be allowed to end there!

Another ending which has left me in shock is that of Phi Brain S3. Not because I didn’t know it was coming, nor because it failed to snatch first place… just because it’s finally over now. I survived the long wait between series 2 and 3 because I knew that eventually there would be more puzzle times to come, but I really can’t see there being a fourth series. As a result, I feel an indescribable emptiness, deep inside me. 😕 Surprisingly, the story didn’t have the ‘all lived happily ever after’ ending I expected, with Jin dying despite all their efforts, even if the others got out alive as I hoped and predicted they would.

I think you've already been in there since the first ep of series 1. It'd explain a lot!

I think you’ve already been in there since the first ep of series 1, Orpheus. It’d explain a lot!

The final episode of Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil wasn’t bad at all, and was the first ep to take place in the courtroom for a while! Even if the trial was a bit of a farce, with the defence trying to get the defendant prosecuted, while the prosecution desperately tried to get him off the hook. 😛 I thought that cutting the episode just as Moyoyo was about to reveal her true identity to Cecil was a fun touch. Can’t say the series was anything special overall, but I’ve seen far worse. And it feautured Wakamoto Norio voicing a frog.

Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren didn’t end with the kiss scene it had spent so long building up to, but IMO that only makes me like the series and the characters more. Rikka and Yuuta are pretty much the only anime couple who can get away with progressing so little and acting so nervously after 24 episodes, because their delusional nonsense makes them so adorable. 😀 Have to say I slightly preferred the first series, probably since it featured more and longer ‘battle’ scenes, but other than that I enjoyed this sequel. 🙂

Am I the only person who thinks Makoto should have his own series? :P

Am I the only person who thinks Makoto should have his own series? 😛

Hamatora deserves a mention – though I rated this series’s finale quite low (and spent most of the season trying to decide whether I really liked it or not), the cliffhanger ending where Art (who we were led to believe had been killed) shot Nice for entirely unknown reasons certainly left me wanting to know what will happen next, so I guess I’ll be watching the sequel. 🙂 As with all the other episodes, the action and plot twists were met with equal amounts of weird humour, and I think the resulting confusion over whether I’m supposed to be taking it seriously or not is probably the main reason why it didn’t fare better in my rankings. 😕

And finally, finally, Samurai Flamenco is over. Sadly, I spent most of the second half with my face in my palm/slammed hard into my desk, as I remembered the good old days of the start of the series. The final episode had a few laugh out loud moments (i.e. pretty much every second from when Masayoshi got naked until the end of that scene), hence why it narrowly escaped the Red Zone, but I think it’s blown its chances of ending up in this year’s Top 12… or at least I hope the seasons to come will have better things to offer! 😯

Under different circumstances, this line could have seen Samurai Flamenco's finale take the #1 spot...

Under different circumstances, this line could have seen Samurai Flamenco’s finale take the #1 spot… but who needs context?

And to finish off, here’s how they all ranked on average over the past 12 weeks (7 weeks in the case of Noragami and Witch Craft Works)! No real surprises this time, though Hozuki no Reitetsu’s strong early episodes proved enough for it to just about make my Winter Season Top 5 – there’s not a lot separating #5 – 9. The point difference between Space Brothers at 10th and Wizard Barristers at 11th is staggering, though. 😛

 

1 – Hunter x Hunter

2 – Kill la Kill

3 – Love Song of a Certain Pilot

4 – Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren

5 – Hozuki no Reitetsu

6 – Yowamushi Pedal 

7 – Noragami

8 – Magi: The Kingdom of Magic

9 – Gin no Saji S2 

10 – Space Brothers

11 – Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil

12 – Golden Time

13 – Nagi no Asukara 

14 – Hamatora

15 – Samurai Flamenco

16 – Witch Craft Works

17 – Nobunaga the Fool

18 – Phi Brain S3

 

<< Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 11

2 Responses to Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 12

  1. […] use a moving list to rate the episodes each week. If you have ever read Angryjellyfish’s blog he uses something like this which I enjoy a lot as a reader. I’ll still have the ratings like […]

  2. […] << Winter 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 12 […]

Leave a Reply

