Summer 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 5

A little more movement this week… but mostly from the same series I talked about in the previous post. Meanwhile, the top two and bottom two seem to be making themselves comfortable in their positions. 😛

Next week however, I’ll be dropping at least one of the series on this list, and finding a replacement from amongst the anime I gave a miss at the start of the season. Hopefully that’ll shake things up a bit!  Nobunaga Concerto and Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance get priority, since I’ve not watched a single episode of either, but feel free to suggest in the comments if there are any other Summer 2014 offerings that you feel I should give a second chance. 🙂

My face when I compared this week's list to last week's.

My face when I compared this week’s list to last week’s.

1 – Zankyou no Terror ep 5

2 – Aldnoah Zero ep 5 

3 – Hunter x Hunter ep 141 ( 2)

4 – Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus ep 5 

5 – Tokyo Ghoul ep 5 ( 1)

6 – Barakamon ep 5 (↓ 3)

7 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders ep 18 ( 1)

8 – Haikyuu!! ep 18 (↓ 1)

9 – Tokyo ESP ep 5 ( 2)

10 – Re:␣Hamatora ep 5 (↓ 1)

11 – Free! Eternal Summer ep 5 ( 2)

12 – Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun ep 5 ( 3)

13 – Love Stage!! ep 5 (↓ 3)

14 – Akame ga Kill! ep 5 (↓ 2)

15 – DRAMAtical Murder ep 5 ( 1)

16 – Bakumatsu Rock ep 5 (↓ 2)

17 – Persona 4 The Golden Animation ep 5

18 – Rokujyoma no Shinryakusha!? ep 5 

I love Nagisa's ability to come up with such a wild excuse on the spot, and I love Makoto for falling for it. :razz:

I love Nagisa’s ability to come up with such a wild excuse on the spot, and I love Makoto for falling for it. 😛

Moving up:

Free! Eternal Summer still isn’t performing as well as the first series did… definitely in part due to this summer having stronger competition, but also I miss the drama of Rin and Haruka’s rivalry in the original. While Free! also does comedy very well, Eternal Summer hadn’t offered much else, up until this episode at least. This week we learned of Nagisa’s situation outside of his swimming club life, and while it wasn’t the darkest of back stories compared with some of the season’s other characters, it was believable, and certainly explains his happy-go-lucky nature when with his friends. A decent balance of drama and comedy, and character development is always good. 🙂

Moving down:

This week in Akame ga Kill!, we were shown Sheele’s back story – certainly darker than that of Nagisa, but the lacklustre scriptwriting failed to really make it interesting. TBH I think the only thing that’s really drawn me to her character up to this point has been Noto Mamiko’s voice. 😛 Later on, Tatsumi tried out the imperial relic they took from Zank, and quickly unlocked its unknown 5th ability… yep, it let him see through clothes. Yawn. The relic later rejected him though, so we’ve yet to see whether he’ll get one of his own. The second half of the episode saved it somewhat, introducing new characters and furthering the plot, but it’s the negatives that stick in my mind. 😕

These relics really are varied in their appearances and abilities!

These relics really are varied in their appearances and abilities!

General comments:

Aldnoah Zero is a strong series, and the production values are some of the best I’ve seen in a TV anime series. I’d say the main reasons it’s stuck in second are firstly that the plot is less original and slightly more predictable than that of Zankyou no Terror, and secondly that the protagonist Inaho, for all his brilliant strategies, just isn’t that interesting to watch. There were some intriguing developments this week though, with the introduction of the Emperor of Vers, who’s clearly not being informed of the true situation on Earth. Initially calling a ceasefire to properly investigate the ‘death’ of his granddaughter, he soon calls an end to it after Slaine is set up by Saazbaum. 😦

Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus was also really good this week – I figured that ‘Freckles’ was likely to be female from the voice, but didn’t predict that she was Doll! Ciel collapsing due to an asthma attack was another interesting twist (though it was easy to see it coming – anime characters don’t usually start coughing unless it’s plot relevant 😛 ). William and Sebastian’s hatred for each other made the trapeze act hilarious, but with the shinigami blocking the demon’s path at the end of the episode, we’re reminded that it’s not just there for comedy.

Another character I love - the different voices he puts on for each snake are ingenious. :D

Another character I love – the different voices he puts on for each snake are ingenious. 😀

Despite being stuck in the Red Zone for most of the season, DRAMAtical Murder is unlikely to be dropped next week. While the pacing is slow, the plot is really starting to develop now, and I’m interested in seeing where it goes. I can’t say I’m a fan of Mink at this point, what with him ordering his minions to beat up Aoba, but Aoba’s strange ability/other personality briefly awakened as a result. Following this, the two agree to work together to rescue Aoba’s grandma, and are also joined by Noiz, Clear and Koujaku. This weird bunch make a surprisingly good team, quickly locating her and clearing the way for Aoba to get there… and it turns out that Mizuki of ‘Dry Juice’ is behind the kidnapping! Turns out he merged the group with Morphine in a bid to win back some of the members who left to play Rhyme, but soon regretted the decision…

Persona 4 The Golden Animation has more of a reason to be worried. I’ve not really warmed to Marie, which I don’t think is any fault of the character herself. I think it may be because the series is forcing her into the forefront, making every episode revolve around her… but despite this, she doesn’t feel like a protagonist, because that’s not the role she played in the game this is being adapted from. She feels like a side character being given too much attention, to the detriment to the rest of the cast, which wouldn’t have been the case if they’d edited in some of the events from the first series instead of skipping past it all. And you know a series is bad when I’M actually ASKING for recap episodes. 😮

Ep 5 ended on an intriguing note, but it might be too little too late.

Ep 5 ended on an intriguing note, but it might be too little too late.

<< Summer 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 4

5 Responses to Summer 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 5

  1. Concerning Akame ga Kiru, the action should be getting better pretty soon. We just got a glimpse of Esdeath, who’s this series’ most interesting character. Now that she’s defeated the rebellion in the North, she’ll be returning to the capital. And Seryu is pretty interesting herself. Watching her in episode five reminds me how I never would have guessed that she would become one of the most despicable characters in the series. Expect good things in episode six!

    What anime were you thinking of adding to your list after you drop one show?

    • Akame ga Kiru is definitely my kind of series in theory, as I’ll give anything tagged action/fantasy a go. I’m looking forward to the next few episodes now. 😀

      I’ve not decided what I’ll be picking up, though if you have any suggestions, that’d be great! Like I said, I’ll be giving Nobunaga Concerto and Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance a look before anything else, but I doubt I’ll be keeping on the latter. 😛

      • If you want a zany comedy, I’d recommend Sabagebu. That show ranks as the best comedy this season, which is helped by the fact that all the characters are amusingly flawed. The heroine in particular cannot resist the urge to take revenge, even if the one at fault is a middle school girl.

        Then again, I’s also recommend Rail Wars! It’s fanservice is a little excessive, but the show has likable characters and a few of the episodes have been exciting. Basically, if you liked You’re Under Arrest, you’ll also like Rail Wars.

        • Funny you should mention You’re Under Arrest – I started watching it just over a week ago, and I’m completely hooked. Definitely my kind of comedy. I’ll give Rail Wars another look, and Sabagebu too if I get the chance. 🙂

  2. […] << Summer 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 5 […]

Leave a Reply

