Summer 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 11

It’s the penultimate weekly rankings post of the season already… I’m sure that weeks are getting shorter as I get older, it still feels like these anime have only just begun! Or maybe it’s just the series’ that are getting shorter, as it seems only one out of my current lineup is continuing into Autumn!

How do her feet even reach the pedals!?

How do her feet even reach the pedals!?

1 – Aldnoah Zero ep 11 (↑ 5)

2 – Re:␣Hamatora ep 11 (↑ 7)

3 – Zankyou no Terror ep 10

4 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders ep 24 

5 – Tokyo Ghoul ep 11 

6 – Akame ga Kill! ep 11 (↑ 6)

7 – Free! Eternal Summer ep 11 (↑ 1)

8 – Barakamon ep 10 (↓ 1)

9 – Tokyo ESP ep 11 (↑ 4)

10 – Haikyuu!! ep 24 

11 – Hunter x Hunter ep 147 (↓ 10)

12 – Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun ep 11 

13 – Nobunaga Concerto ep 9

14 – Sabagebu! ep 11 (↑ 1)

15 – DRAMAtical Murder ep 11 (↑ 1)

16 – Bakumatsu Rock ep 11 (↑ 1)

I can't tell whether Jotaro is silently amused, or embarrassed to have anything to do with them. :razz:

I can’t tell whether Jotaro is silently amused, or embarrassed to have anything to do with them. 😛

Ending:

It’s only JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders that’s ending this week, and only for a short break until Winter. 🙂 All the same, I’ll miss it while it’s gone! The High Priestess’ Stand was one of the more dangerous ones, but while watching Jotaro’s Star Platinum bash through her giant teeth was entertaining, it was the amusing discussions between the characters that made this episode for me. Both the hand signs (and epic handshake) at the beginning, and the obvious attempts at charming Rose, ensured that this series ended high up in my rankings. 😀

Moving up:

Re:␣Hamatora makes its Top 5 debut! I’m amazed at just how little we knew about major characters’ backgrounds until the last few episodes – when they weren’t brought up in the first series I assumed they weren’t relevant. Who knew that Master, Moral and Doktor were former colleagues? And that Koneko was a former test subject at Facultas along with Hajime? And suddenly Art has (had?) a brother, who seems to be a big part of his current objectives. Objectives that include betraying Freemum, killing Nice (again!), and robbing all Holders’ of their Minimums in the most quick and efficient manner, using Hajime’s Nihilist power. Wow. Is this series really ending next week!?

Action, character development and plot twists, a ridiculously good episode!

Action, character development and plot twists, a ridiculously good episode!

Akame ga Kill! is the only anime that isn’t ending or taking a break this season, and though I had my doubts about it early on, I find myself enjoying it now on the whole. MAD SCIENTIST characters are always a good thing, so of course I was going to enjoy Dr. Stylish and his creations’ attack on Night Raid’s HQ. Shame he couldn’t have stuck around for longer, but at least the Jaegars have plenty of other interesting members… I definitely still prefer the villains in this series. 😛 Night Raid has been joined by two new members of its own, however, so hopefully I’ll like them too. 🙂

Moving down:

Moving Hunter x Hunter down always makes me feel terrible… but as the rest of the season’s series build up to epic conclusions or frustrating cliffhangers, Hunter x Hunter’s many episodes have allowed it to spend more time tying up loose ends, focusing on side characters, and generally winding things down at a slower pace. The action is presumably over for this series, so all that remains is discussions, greetings and farewells. It was nice to see Killua and Alluka walking around normally and unaccompanied, though. 🙂

Most of the episode was taken up by the monologues of a pink koala hit man... why did I rate this so low again?

Most of the episode was taken up by the monologues of a suit-wearing, tea-drinking, pink koala hit man… why did I rate this so low again?

General comments:

Nobunaga Concerto has been suffering in my rankings as the focus shifts away from comedy to the more serious battles Saburo is now faced with… most of which have forced him to retreat! And since the fights themselves aren’t the focus either, only the results, there’s not much left for me to get excited about. It was a shame to see Mori Yoshinari die, though even without prior knowledge of Sengoku era history, his death flag was pretty high, what with him having kids and recently being promoted. 😦

Karasuno’s defeat in Haikyuu!!, while not a life-or-death situation, hit me harder. The match was so close that it could have gone either way, but that just makes their loss more frustrating. SO MANY TEARS over their meal at the end! 😦 I’ll miss Haikyuu!! when it ends next week, but surely there’s enough material and demand for a sequel… and surely the manga-ka wouldn’t let them lose again? I’m not sure I could cope with that!

SO MANY TEARS!

SO MANY TEARS!

<< Summer 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 10

6 Responses to Summer 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 11

  1. Aaaah I spoilered myself.Smh
    my fault for not being up to date on haikyuu.

  2. That was a great week for anime! Episode eleven of Akame ga Kiru in particular featured a great battle. Even the eleventh episode of Rail Wars! stood out as the best episode in that series.

Leave a Reply

