Autumn 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 3

I don’t think I’ve ever struggled so much to put my Top 5 episodes of the week in order, can’t really fault any of them! But here’s my best effort. Hopefully there will be many more frustratingly good episodes to come for the rest of the season, too. 😀

I think I might have to make this my backup cosplay, if all other plans fail. :razz:

I think I might have to make this my backup cosplay, if all other plans fail. 😛

1 – Hitsugi no Chaika – Avenging Battle ep 3 (↑ 4)

2 – Parasyte -the maxim- ep 3 (↓ 1)

3 – Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis ep 3 (↓ 1)

4 – Psycho-Pass 2 ep 3

5 – Yowamushi Pedal: Grande Road ep 3 (↓ 2)

6 – Akame ga Kill! ep 16 (↑ 1)

7 – Gugure! Kokkuri-san ep 3 (↑ 1)

8 – Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works ep 2 (↓ 2)

9 – Amagi Brilliant Park ep 3

10 – Donten ni Warau ep 3 (↑ 4)

11 – Selector Spread WIXOSS ep 3

12 – Akatsuki no Yona ep 3 (↓ 2)

13 – Shirobako ep 3 (↓ 1)

14 – Kaitou Joker ep 3 (↓ 1)

15 – Nanatsu no Taizai ep 3 (↑ 1)

16 – Grisaia no Kajitsu ep 3 (↑ 2)

17 – Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu ep 3 (↓ 2)

18 – Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo ep 3 (↓ 1)

Subtle.

Subtle.

Moving up:

Can’t say I expected Hitsugi no Chaika – Avenging Battle to take 1st this week, but as with the previous episode, it managed to fit a lot of good things into a regular length episode without it feeling rushed. Tooru and Akari’s ‘comedy act’ in front of Clay Morgan was hilarious, but the tone shifted the instant the former hero saw Chaika. And when backed into a corner, Clay could certainly fight! The next hero, Stephan Hartgen, seems like serious business – and he has two ‘daughters’ who look like Chaikas, and Gillette’s working for him for reasons unknown. Can’t wait to find out what’s going on there. But first, treasure hunting on an invisible island! The party splits after an argument, with (main character) Chaika and Fredrika heading there by air, and the saboteur siblings by ship… which the Red Chaika’s party sneaked onto. Keep the quality and quantity of plot developments coming! 😀

Donten ni Warau got off to a surprisingly boring start, considering its interesting Meiji-era prison-transport setting and bishonen cast. The first ep was a slow-paced slice of life introduction, while the second couldn’t live up to this season’s high standards when it came to the fight scene. However, there were hints throughout those first two episodes that there was something interesting going on behind the scenes, and this week it all started to kick off. Soramaru infiltrates Gokumonjo, the intriguing lake prison, in order to investigate rumors that ‘someone’ in there was collecting ‘something’… and inside he meets a sinister fox-mask-wearing guy, who triggers his dark memories. Oh, and the older brother Tenka may also be a vessel for Orochi. Seems my choice to stick with this series might just pay off after all!

Something to look forward to in episode 3!

Something to look forward to in episode 3!

Moving down:

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works is still very much in its introductory stages. While the double episodes introduced main characters Rin, Archer, Shirou and Saber, this week’s focused on explaining the rules of the Grail War. All this is effectively recap for me, hence the gradual drop in the rankings, though it’s a lot prettier than Studio DEEN’s effort. The fights between Archer and Lancer in ep 0, and Lancer vs Shirou/Saber in ep 1 were easily on the same level as those in Fate/Zero, so when this show finally gets going it should definitely be a contender for the Top 5 positions. 😀

While the third episode of Akatsuki no Yona wasn’t bad, I do wish the series would stop jumping forwards in time, or going into flashbacks, right after Princess Yona and Hak escaped the palace – I’d rather know more about what they’re going to do now, in the ‘present’! Still, it did give us a more light-hearted look at the past relationship between these two characters and Soo-Won. And it’s clear that Yona’s feelings for her father’s killer still persist even now… must be a bit awkward for Hak. 😦

These adorable flashbacks are making it difficult for me to dislike Soo-Won as well...

These adorable flashbacks are making it difficult for me to dislike Soo-Won as well…

General comments:

I get the feeling that Kaitou Joker might be a one-trick pony, as these three episodes have all felt almost identical, with pretty much every joke, trick and great escape revolving around his ‘Image Gum’. I’d hoped that the addition of a rival this week (Spade) would shake things up a little, but it turns out he also uses Image Gum. Still, seeing as it’s a family-friendly show, this repetition wasn’t entirely unexpected. And while it’s unlikely to move up my weekly rankings, it is still amusing, and will continue to beat any show that goes overboard with fanservice by default. 😛

Parasyte -the maxim- drops from first place, but there wasn’t much in it at all. The introduction of a parasyte that isn’t necessarily an enemy, and that has picked up enough information about human society and behaviour to flawlessly blend in is an unexpected development, and I look forward to seeing future interactions between ‘her’, Shinichi and Migi. First though, our main characters will have to face a parasyte that is definitely an enemy, and who is in the process of invading Shinichi’s school! I get the feeling that if anyone is going to learn about his secret, it’ll be now, as Satomi is already suspicious of his changes in personality…

Charming.

The cheek of it!

<< Autumn 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 2

6 Responses to Autumn 2014 Episode Rankings – Week 3

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    Glad to see someone else watching Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis. It was an unexpected watch for me and I am enjoying it more than I expected. Who knew there would be zombies? The most recent episode of Parasyte looked liked it was just a set up for the next episode. We all knew Mr. A was going to go after Migi and Shinichi but I didn’t expect it to be so soon.

    • Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis was definitely the season’s big surprise for me, too. The characters and their antics are hilarious. 😀

      I’m loving the interactions between Migi and Shinichi in Parasyte, too – a great mix of comedy and horror. The fight against Mr. A next week should be brilliant!

      • GoodbyeNavi says:

        I love how they are always screaming each other’s name in Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis.

        The interactions between Migi and Shinichi have a good balance. Migi has accepted his fate a lot easier than Shinichi. I won’t spoil you with the fight between them and Mr. A. I’ll be interested in seeing your thoughts.

        • My thoughts on Parasyte ep 4 (I’ll put them here in case I end up focusing on other shows in my next post):

          I was surprised that the fight went as well as it did – despite the speed and ferocity of A’s attacks, none of them were focused on Shinichi, and he just walked up to him unopposed. I’m guessing that Migi’s instincts and understanding of the way his kind think will continue to come in very handy.

          Though there wasn’t as much action as I was expecting (and hoping for), the situation with the parasyte formerly known as Tamiya Ryouko kept things interesting. Though, I’m with her in thinking that a teacher having a baby shouldn’t be such a big issue in this day and age… Still, this ep proved that even the smartest of their kind can’t flawlessly imitate their former host. I wonder how long Shinichi will be able to keep his own act up…

          • GoodbyeNavi says:

            I was surprised how quickly Mr. A was dispatched. But it does seem that Migi is very understanding of his kind. He knows they are not a match for Ryouko and I find it interesting her deciding not to kill them because “you are no longer as pure”. I wondered if she was referring to Shinichi with that statement and not Migi.

            Ryouko couldn’t fool her host’s mother because a mother truly knows her child. Since Shinichi still has control over his brain, its a bit harder for his parents to pick up that things have changed. Though, his mother does seem to intuit that he is not the same.

            In terms of the child Ryouko is carrying, I’m guessing she (the parasyte) may become attached in a way that she does not expect. I look forward to finding out more.

Leave a Reply

