2014 Anime – Top 12 OP Themes

It’s December again, which means it’s time for more lists! Starting as usual with my favourite opening themes of the year. If you’re curious enough to find out whether my taste in music is as dubious as my taste in anime in general, read on, and there will be links to all the songs provided (until they get taken down, at any rate). 😀

Image by orange lore.

12: Amagi Brilliant Park (“Extra Magic Hour” by AKINO with bless4)

Gotta love Tiramie~

LOOK AT THIS GUY HE’S MAGICAL! One of several misheard lyrics before the official words were released. 😛 This may well be my usual bias towards shows that are still airing, and OPs that I’m still hearing on a weekly basis, but either way it’s a great song that fits the series well!

 

11: Gugure! Kokkuri-san (“Welcome!! DISCO Kemo Kemo Ke” by Kokkuri-san (CV: Daisuke Ono))

This might have benefited from the same bias as Amagi Brilliant Park’s… but it features a well-dressed, dancing bishonen fox with Daisuke Ono’s voice. What’s not to like about that?

 

10: Break Blade TV (“Junction heart” by Sayaka Sasaki)

[Emi] Break Blade (2014) - 01 - [720p] [404780D4].mkv_snapshot_03.55_[2014.12.01_20.12.33]

I can’t remember whether I mentioned how much I liked this theme in my weekly rankings posts. Probably didn’t have space left after I’d finished fangasming over the fact that the MECHS AND GUNS WERE MADE OUT OF QUARTZ. And over Girge. But yeah, nice song too!

 

9: Tokyo Ghoul (“unravel” by TK from Ling Tosite Sigure)

[Chyuu] Tokyo Ghoul - 02v2 [720p][01312F47].mkv_snapshot_02.31_[2014.12.01_20.26.47]

Now that one was particularly hard to find a music link for, one that hadn’t had its pitch increased at least. Though it was hard to tell which ones HAD been sped up, as the guy can certainly hit some high notes! More from Ling Tosite Sigure later.

 

8: Aldnoah.Zero (“heavenly blue” by Kalafina)

[Vivid-Watashi] Aldnoah Zero - 02 [FBC05FD6].mkv_snapshot_01.57_[2014.12.01_20.34.44]

It’s Kalafina, so of course it’s on my list! Though, not quite as good as some of their Kara no Kyoukai EDs in my opinion. Or as good as some of this show’s own insert themes, or it’s second ED theme… all the music in Aldnoah.Zero is just superb.

 

7: Selector Spread WIXOSS (“world’s end, girl’s rondo” by Kanon Wakeshima)

[Asenshi] selector spread WIXOSS - 02 [9FAD3D84].mkv_snapshot_02.55_[2014.12.01_21.17.48]

Both series had good OP themes, but I chose the one for ‘Spread’ over ‘Infected’ as it’s just that little bit more sinister, fitting the increasingly terrifying plot revelations well.

 

6: Psycho-Pass 2 (“Enigmatic Feeling” by Ling Tosite Sigure)

[Commie] Psycho-Pass 2 - 03 [95DAD514].mkv_snapshot_03.14_[2014.12.01_21.24.51]

In spite of the possible bias, Enigmatic Feeling is actually the highest ranking of this season’s themes, so my Top 5 have all managed to stay in my mind and on my playlist for at least one season!

 

5: Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin (“Butterfly Effect” by Shiritsu Ebisu Chuugaku)

[FFF] Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin - 03 [6DEFA72E].mkv_snapshot_03.06_[2014.12.01_21.34.04]

A very catchy song that has gotten a lot of plays since the Spring season! Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin itself was fairly hit and miss, but I’d definitely watch a sequel if it got one. 🙂

 

4: Nobunagun (“Respect for the dead man” by Pay money To my Pain)

[orz] Nobunagun 02 (720p 10-bit H.264 AAC).mkv_snapshot_02.18_[2014.12.01_21.46.35]

The only OP in the list that comes from a series I dropped from my weekly rankings! I did go back and finish it afterwards, but it wasn’t fantastic. Though it did give me this song, so I can’t complain too much. 😛

 

3: Phi Brain S3 (“Destiny” by neko)

[WhyNot] Phi Brain - Kami no Puzzle S3 - 24 [38170528].mkv_snapshot_00.55_[2014.12.01_21.53.09]

The only OP in the list that was also in last year’s, since the series aired over the Autumn and Winter seasons, and kept the same themes throughout! It only ranked 12th last year, but it seems my liking for the song (and probably my nostalgia for Phi Brain) has grown a lot since then.

 

2: Mushishi Zoku Shou (“Shiver” by Lucy Rose)

[Vivid] Mushishi Zoku Shou - 02 [6E0930E7].mkv_snapshot_01.42_[2014.12.01_21.57.18]

Well this is a fair bit slower and more relaxing than anything else in this list! I guess I usually associate such songs with ending themes, for winding down after the episode is over, but it suits Mushishi well.

 

1: Sidonia no Kishi (“Sidonia” by angela)

[Underwater] Knights of Sidonia - 02 (720p) [AAB13532].mkv_snapshot_02.12_[2014.12.01_22.05.52]

I do love it when OP themes remind me what I’m about to watch by repeatedly shouting out the title. 😛 angela has been providing themes for a lot of anime series in recent years, but this has to be my favourite song of hers so far. 😀

So that’s one half of what I’ve been listening to this year! The other half, my Top ED themes list, will be up sometime early this month~

One Response to 2014 Anime – Top 12 OP Themes

  1. […] lowercase, a nice change! Quite the drop from the #1 spot held by the first series’ OP last year, but still […]

Leave a Reply

