Happy New Year! 2015

A belated Happy New Year to all readers! 😀 2015, Year of the Sheep. I may be from Wales, but that doesn’t mean you have to fill the comments with jokes linking these two facts. Unless they’re funny. 😛

Image by mikku

Image by mikku

Since the beginning of this decade, I’ve been setting myself anime or manga-themed New Year’s Resolutions, goals that I hope to stick to for the year, and possibly beyond. Before 2010, I avoided long anime series like the plague, but I’ve watched quite a few in the years since. In 2011, I decided to read more manga, and haven’t stopped since. ‘Flash Back 2012‘ was spent watching as many anime series from the 1980s or earlier as possible, and in 2013, I made up my mind that I’d start stalling series I don’t like instead of forcing myself to finish them before moving on to anything new (which had nothing to do with all the older anime I started the year before, honest!)

Last year, 2014, the focus turned to manga once again, as my lack of shelf space for physical books forced me to invest in a Kindle and turn to the UK ebook market + various scanlations for reading material. And that was probably my most successful resolution to date. Apart from the odd new volume for a series I was already collecting before 2014, all the manga I read was digital. And I read a lot – my Goodreads account now lists 1,000 volumes, and over 300 of those were read last year, almost one a day. And while I still dream of having a manga library full of empty space for printed books one day, I’m certain my Kindle will always be by my side too, because why shouldn’t I have both? 😛

Umezu Kazuo's 'The Drifting Classroom' was one of my smartest digital manga purchases of last year!

Umezu Kazuo’s ‘The Drifting Classroom’ was one of my smartest digital manga purchases of last year!

This year, in July, the 10th to be exact, I’ll have been a manga fan for 10 years. Regrettably, I can’t quite remember when I watched my first anime episode/movie, but it wasn’t long afterwards, so I consider July the 10th as the day it all started. It’s also my birthday, which makes the description all the more accurate! Err… where was I going with this again? Ah, right! I’ve been a fan for almost a decade, but despite my best efforts, I’ve not managed to watch all the anime or read all the manga. In fact, there are still several major, influential, highly popular and/or otherwise noteworthy titles that I’ve not touched at all. This year, I hope to fix that by resisting the urge to go digging up shows that nobody else has heard of, and watch something I can actually discuss with other fans instead!

I will watch or read another of the ‘Big Three’ shounen series, that’s the one thing I can’t really duck out of if I’m serious about committing to this. At least I’m already watching One Piece, which makes the other two far less intimidating by comparison. Even moreso now that the Naruto manga has ended! 😀 But obviously I’ll be checking out a lot of other big series and franchises throughout the year, and will continue to do so beyond July 10th and until 2016. Let me know in the comments if there’s anything you’d like to suggest, as so far I’ve only got a small list of ‘priority’ series, which probably won’t be enough to last the whole year. 🙂

Nodame Cantabile is a glaring omission in my otherwise impressive anime list. This must be dealt with.

Nodame Cantabile is a glaring omission in my otherwise impressive anime list. This must be dealt with.

So yeah, that’s pretty much it. By the end of 2015, if I can reduce the number of people saying “You’ve been an anime fan for 10 years and you haven’t even watched *popular show*? WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU!?” to me by a reasonable amount, then I’ll have considered this year’s resolution a success. And since I assume these shows are popular for a reason, I may end up with some new favourites! 😀

One Response to Happy New Year! 2015

  1. […] time for another anime-themed New Year’s Resolution! But first, how did last year’s promise to watch as many popular series as possible end up going? Well, in many ways it was a success – I can now count the likes of […]

Leave a Reply

