Winter 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 5

Not much movement this week, but at least everything aired, and we’re back to twelve series! This number will increase further in next week’s mid season shakeup, though how much by, I’ve not decided yet (a lot of series I’d planned on picking up have proven disappointing). 😦

This week’s post will focus on series I haven’t mentioned in a while, since it could well be the last time I talk about some of them…

Anubis had to be one of the series' most terrifying villains... though his defeat was hilarious. :razz:

Anubis had to be one of the series’ most terrifying villains… until he was defeated. From then on he was just hilarious. 😛

1 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders S2 ep 5 (↑ 3)

2 – Durarara!!x2 Shou ep 5 (↓ 1)

3 – Parasyte -the maxim- ep 17 (↓ 1)

4 – Death Parade ep 5 (↓ 1)

5 – Shirobako ep 17

6 – Tokyo Ghoul √A ep 5

7 – Yowamushi Pedal: Grande Road ep 16 

8 – Akatsuki no Yona ep 17

9 – Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love! ep 5 (↑ 1)

10 – Aldnoah Zero S2 ep 5 (↓ 1)

11 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu ep 4

12 – Yuri Kuma Arashi ep 5 (↓ 1)

If Chikage can take four punches from Shizuo and survive, the Dollars could be in big trouble!

If Chikage can take four punches from Shizuo and survive, the Dollars could be in big trouble now they’re in his sights!

Unsurprisingly, Durarara!!x2 Shou is in no danger of being dropped. The series remains as interesting as ever, by taking the amazing cast from the first series, along their already complicated relationships, and adding new wacky groups and individuals every week! The Dollars are due to be attacked by another rival gang, Celty got decapitated de-helmetised, and now some crazy child is trying to kill Shizuo! At least he was able to hold himself back from going berserk on this occasion. I also like that getting Shinra and Celty involved seems to have become the default solution to every problem that the others find themselves facing. 😛

Death Parade is also safe. So far, the episodic judgements have been varied enough to prevent the series from getting repetitive, which was my main worry. Last week’s arcade episode was particularly good. This week, however, we got introduced to more of the staff of this limbo/place of judgement, as well as learning that our female protagonist (who I’ve only just realised has no name other than ‘Kurokami no Onna’) is a human who could not be judged, as she already knew she was dead. Seems her past has something to do with this Chavvot story… hopefully it’ll make for a good conclusion to the series.

I want that pool table! :o

I want that pool table! 😮

Aldnoah Zero S2 hasn’t been performing anywhere near as well as I hoped and expected. I honestly don’t know whether this second half is worse than the first, or whether it’s just dragged on long enough that I’ve gotten bored and am less forgiving of flaws that were always there. This week’s episode forwarded the plot by having Inaho convince a captured Versian noble that his Princess was in another castle, before helping him escape to investigate the matter further, while His Excellency Count Slaine Saazbaum-Troyard may be in danger of losing control over Lemrina, as he’s challenged to a duel by Marylcian. It didn’t have any of the predictable battles I’ve been rolling my eyes at… so why don’t I like this more? 😮

Most seasons seem to have that one anime series at the bottom of the pile that just can’t seem to climb any higher – this season it’s  Yuri Kuma Arashi. It feels very much like the director’s previous works (Utena, Penguindrum), but not as good. If there’s any symbolism there (aside from the lilies and nectar licking), it’s lost on me, and still wouldn’t change the fact the characters don’t interest me. Plot-wise, things are starting to make more sense as the flashbacks fill in the gaps, I’d say that’s the one area in which this series is improving. Am I still intrigued enough to see this through to the end? Honestly, I’m undecided.

If Slaine somehow loses, I wonder how Marylcian will react once he learns Asseylum is a fake? That might make things interesting again...

If Slaine somehow loses, I wonder how Marylcian will react once he inevitably learns this Asseylum is a fake? That might make things interesting again…

Bonus:

Gau! Shock! Kuma Shock!

Bears are in the human world!

Deliciousmell~

For Medieval Otaku. 😛

Ginko's delusions were amusing, at least.

Ginko’s delusions were amusing, at least.

<< Winter 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 4

3 Responses to Winter 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 5

  1. I liked the haiku there! I don’t know how you can stand watching Yuri Kuma Arashi. I can only view your perseverance with admiration. 🙂

    On the other hand, I need to watch Death Parade. The show has gotten many positive reviews, and it’s about time that I added it to my watch list. What I’ve heard reminds me a lot of Jigoku Shoujo (aka Hell Girl). I loved the first two seasons of Jigoku Shoujo, thought that the second season had a brilliant ending, and was flabbergasted to find that they made a third season. A couple of episodes of season three rather convinced me that they should have made no more after the ending of the second season.

    • Like I say, Yuri Kuma Arashi has style, and the plot is going somewhere. I’ve picked up much worse in previous seasons, and have seen much worse this season in my search for new anime to add to my list.

      I can see some similarities between Death Parade and Jigoku Shoujo, with their episodic judgements of humans by non-humans, but it has plenty of differences to keep things interesting. The participants are people who happened to die at the same time, so in some cases they know each other, and in others they’re complete strangers. And rather than being about revenge, with both parties doomed to enter hell eventually, Death Parade offers one person a chance at reincarnation.

Leave a Reply

