Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 5

Well this week’s episodes were certainly better, on the whole. I still wonder whether my lineup could be improved though, so as ever I’ll be revisiting those anime I skipped at the start of the season, to see whether I was too hasty in writing them off. I haven’t decided for definite how many (if any) series to drop or pick up, so the 6th episodes could still sway me… first though, my thoughts on the 5th episodes.

Another interesting character joins the cast of Arslan Senki!

Another interesting character joins the cast of Arslan Senki!

1 – Arslan Senki ep 5 (↑ 1)

2 – Sidonia no Kishi – Daikyuu Wakusei Seneki ep 5 (↓ 1)

3 – Kekkai Sensen ep 5 (↑ 1)

4 – Plastic Memories ep 5 (↑ 5)

5 – Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works S2 ep 5 (↑ 13)

6 – Shokugeki no Souma ep 5 

7 – Show By Rock!! ep 5 

8 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stardust Crusaders S2 ep 18 (↑ 2)

9 – Hibike! Euphonium ep 5 (↓ 4)

10 – Tribe Cool Crew ep 29 (↓ 2)

11 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu ep 16 

12 – Ore Monogatari!! ep 5 (↓ 9)

13 – Mikagura Gakuen Kumikyoku ep 5 

14 – Re-Kan! ep 5 (↑ 1)

15 – Owari no Seraph ep 5 (↓ 1)

16 – Gunslinger Stratos ep 5 

17 – Oregairu Zoku ep 5 

18 – DanMachi ep 5 (↓ 6)

Wanderers are scary!

Wanderers are scary!

Moving up:

Things certainly escalated quickly in Plastic Memories! Now we know what happens when a Giftia remains active past its service life, and the importance of the Terminal Service really starts to sink in. We also got some back story on Kazuki and Michiru, and were introduced to private firm and rival company R. Security… and then came that cliffhanger ending! I can’t see them killing off Isla just yet, as I imagine her own impending end of service would make for a more emotional series finale, but a fantastic and repeatedly shocking episode nonetheless. 😮

It didn’t take Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works S2 long to shoot back up. Get the characters to shut their mouths, and treat me to multiple epic fights, and all is pretty much forgiven. 😛 Though, Archer’s continued betrayals keep the plot interesting as well – after surviving Lancer’s Noble Phantasm and convincing him to leave, he turns on Caster and Kuzuki, killing them both. All for the sake of his Master Rin, right? Apparently not, as he traps her in a ring of swords and gets ready to kill Shiro. Needless to say, at this late point I won’t be dropping UBW.

Certainly one of the prettiest episodes of anything all season.

Certainly one of the prettiest episodes of anything all season.

Moving down:

I thought and hoped that Ore Monogatari!! would be in my Top 5 to stay, but Gouda and Yamato getting together so early on did worry me a bit. I mean, I’d have been perfectly happy to see it end at episode 3 – I don’t want anything bad to happen to their cute relationship! 😮 The first hints of drama surfaced this week, as it became clear that Yamato was hiding ‘something’… but we still don’t know what. Aside from that build-up, and the introduction of Sunakawa’s sister, not much else happened. A bit like most of last week’s episodes. Hopefully it’ll bounce back!

DanMachi continues to frustrate me. Hints of a good story are there, and sure enough, the addition of Liliruca to the cast has helped (if nothing else, the mystery surrounding her Soma Famiglia makes her more interesting than the main duo). But, this story still feels so secondary compared to the boring romance and harem vibes. Bell’s ability to learn skills and level up fast would be far more interesting if we actually got to see him put it to use in the dungeon more often. Will that happen later on, or is this simply not that kind of series? And can I be bothered with sticking around to find out?

I say 'nothing happened' in Ore Monogatari, but what's with the weekly life and death scenarios Gouda keeps running into? :razz:

I say ‘nothing happened’ in Ore Monogatari, but what’s with the weekly life and death scenarios Gouda keeps running into? 😛

General comments:

Perhaps more frustrating than Danmachi is Owari no Seraph, since I had really high hopes for it at first. But five episodes in, and our protagonists are only just getting their weapons. This series is. Just. So. Slow. And generic. And I haven’t warmed to any of the characters much yet. Positives? The opening theme is possibly the best of the season, and as with Fate/Stay Night, the high production values mean it should look amazing once it gets going. If it gets going.

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu seems to be safely out of the red zone this season, which I think is a combination of improvement in the series itself, and weaker competition in the lower half of my lineup. Depicting the exams as gladiator fights made for an amusing start to the episode, and it was good to see Class F win their wager with Class A… and outsmart Koro-sensei with the Home Economics stunt. 😛 Seeing the confident Karma do (comparatively) badly was a surprise, but no doubt he’ll learn from that and start putting in as much effort as the rest of the class.

Karma for Karma this week... he's cute when he blushes, though!

Karma for Karma this week… he’s cute when he blushes, though!

<< Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 4

3 Responses to Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 5

  1. […] << Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 5 […]

  2. I like Owari no Seraph so far, though I know what you mean by how slow it is. Hopefully episode six will bring us more action. I’m happy to find someone else who thinks that its opening is the best one this season. 🙂

    • The pacing is definitely the main issue with Owari no Seraph for me, though it also feels like so many other action/fantasy series I’ve watched in the past, with less interesting characters. Nice action scenes could definitely save it, but hopefully they’ll do something about the character development too (besides flashbacks, please, no more!)

      It’s a close one between the opening themes for Owari no Seraph and the new Sidonia no Kishi, my favourite keeps switching back and forth depending on my mood. Both are great songs, though!

Leave a Reply

