Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 8

Some seasons, there’s so little change in my rankings from week to week that I wonder why I even bother with them. Then, you get seasons like this. At this point, I’ve given up trying to predict what shows will rank where in advance. More seasons like this, please! 😀

I’m aware I got the numbers wrong in last week’s post, listing both Re-Kan! and Tribe Cool Crew as 14th when the latter should be 16th. Unfortunately I spotted it too late, and to my knowledge there’s no way of going back and editing a post now without using WordPress’ ‘improved posting experience’, which completely screws up the formatting and makes everything look horrible. Guess I’ll just have to proof-read more carefully in future…

You’ve got to love that no matter how serious things get, the JJBA cast still come out with the most inappropriate lines. 😛

1 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stardust Crusaders S2 ep 21 (↑ 1)

2 – Arslan Senki ep 8 (↑ 3)

3 – Kekkai Sensen ep 8 (↑ 1)

4 – Sidonia no Kishi – Daikyuu Wakusei Seneki ep 8 (↓ 3)

5 – DanMachi ep 8 (↑ 2)

6 – Etotama ep 8 (↑ 3)

7 – Hibike! Euphonium ep 8 (↑ 3)

8 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu ep 19 (↓ 5)

9 – Plastic Memories ep 8 (↑ 3)

10 – Shokugeki no Souma ep 8 (↑ 5)

11 – Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works S2 ep 8 (↓ 3)

12 – Ore Monogatari!! ep 8 (↓ 1)

13 – Gunslinger Stratos ep 8 

14 – Show By Rock!! ep 8 (↓ 8)

15 – Mikagura Gakuen Kumikyoku ep 8 (↑ 2)

16 – Re-Kan! ep 8 (↓ 2)

17 – Tribe Cool Crew ep 32 (↓ 1)

18 – Owari no Seraph ep 8 

Brilliant use of military tactics, 'surrounding' an army with only six people!

Brilliant use of military tactics, ‘surrounding’ an army with only six people!

Moving up:

Arslan Senki was stuck at 5th for the past couple of weeks, due to slower pacing than other shows and fewer big plot twists or action scenes. Neither of which were issues this week! I loved the fight between Daryun and Kharlan – the latter almost falling from his horse, using his spear to recover, only to have that spear then snap and its head impale him… that sort of bad luck is almost entirely absent from other anime fight scenes, which are usually about making both the hero and villain look as cool as possible throughout. Learning the identity of the masked mastermind this early on was unexpected as well. 😮

Nearly breaking into my Top 5 this week is Etotama! This ep featured the Takamagahara Commemorative Maid Cafe Eto Manager’s Cup… basically a Mario Kart-style race, in their 3D ‘pretty modes’ of course, with the winner having virtually any wish they desire granted. Hilarious stuff, though not quite as long as I’d have liked, with most of the characters dropping out early on to turn it into a one horse, one cat race between Uma-tan and Nya-tan (inevitably turning into a Sol/Lull Seal battle). Plenty of amusing commentary on the state of the TV industry, with so many programs still reliant on viewer counts that don’t include people who record them. And don’t get Usa-tan started on Blu-rays…

Piyo-tan's episode next week should be brilliant too. :D

Piyo-tan’s episode next week should be brilliant too. 😀

Moving down:

Once again, no problems with this week’s Show By Rock!!, other episodes were just more eventful. Though I was a bit disappointed by how easily the issue of Aion’s possession by a dark monster was resolved – he quit the band and disappeared, the rest of ShinganCrimsonZ and Plasmagica spent much of the episode looking for him, he was eventually found, and was soon convinced to rejoin with some heartfelt (if fairly generic) lines, getting rid of the monster before it matured. Apart from that, the episode served as preparation for Plasmagica’s second battle of the bands, and we got a glimpse of Rom’s past with Trichronica lead Shu Zo.

All slice-of-life and no action in Sidonia no Kishi – Daikyuu Wakusei Seneki sees it drop to a record low position… 4th really isn’t bad though. Am I overrating this? Possibly, but these are my rankings! I spent most of the episode pausing to take screenshots of Izana’s many amusing facial expressions, love that Tsumugi is developing a rebellious streak, and now Nagate is taking Izana out on a date secret mission, all the while terrified that his head could blow off at any minute. The Blame! anime turned out to be a short clip the characters watched on TV, but it’s left me hoping Polygon will give it a proper adaptation some day. 😀

Those dresses, though.

Those dresses, though.

General comments:

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stardust Crusaders S2 could be on track to hold the top spot for as long as the fight with Dio continues… but again, I probably shouldn’t make such predictions. We got to hear him say the first ‘ZA WARUDO’ and ‘MUDA MUDA MUDA’ of many, that alone counts for a lot! The senator’s internal monologues were amusing, but Dio’s stand abilities are nothing short of terrifying – at least Kakyouin managed to come up with a plan quickly! Unlike earlier encounters, I do remember some of how this went in the 90s OVA, but I look forward to seeing it again along with any scenes that might have been cut out to save time. 😀

In the same way I wonder whether I’m overrating Sidonia no Kishi, I also had to stop and think carefully about Owari no Seraph. It spent the last two weeks at 18th, was it really bad enough to deserve that a third time? Am I bullying it? Trying to remain as unbiased as possible, I did enjoy seeing the cast fooling about in the jeep… but that was over quickly. Before that, a sequence of slow pans, no music and an anti-climactic battle with vampires that was concluded off screen. After it, another encounter with much stronger vampires was cut short, to quote the enemy, ‘just when things were getting interesting’. Not entertaining, I’m sorry! This series apparently ends at 12 episodes, can’t see myself watching Autumn’s sequel at this rate.

Seeing Shinoa shaken up was a first, at least.

Seeing Shinoa shaken up was a first, at least.

<< Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 7

3 Responses to Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 8

  1. I’m glad to know that there’s someone else who doesn’t like “the improved posting experience.” If anything goes to prove the old adage “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it,” that does!

    I absolutely love Seraph of the End, though I feel like I am rather alone in praising the show. To me, it has very likable characters, the setting is pleasantly reminiscent of “I am Legend,” and some of the action is great. Then again, the story moves very slowly, covers much of the same ground as other shows with high school aged characters, and lacks something in the realm of production value. How they cut out what should have been an awesome fight in the last episode was on the level of swindling. For all that, I still love it.

    • I still manage to use the old editor when creating my posts, by going to the dashboard and clicking ‘Copy a Post’. That’s the feature I rely on the most to preserve the formatting from week to week – the fact that the new editor can’t do it is proof enough that it’s no improvement. I live in fear that they’ll remove it entirely one day, though. 😦

      Glad to know you’re enjoying Seraph! I personally thought I was in the minority for NOT liking it, as it seems highly rated on Anime-Planet and similar sites. I’m just not seeing much originality from it personally, just a lot of tired tropes and wasted potential. I truly hope it has something good lined up for its season finale!

  2. […] << Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 8 […]

Leave a Reply

