Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 10

I can’t remember the last time I agonised so much over my Top 5. 😮 Two good episodes missed out on places they’d have easily earned had they aired any other week, and I’m not entirely happy with the order of the five that did make the cut… but I’m not going to resort to joint positions. That’s a cop-out, and I know full well that if I did it one week, I’d keep doing it.

Guess that’s the one advantage of the new editor messing up my posts if I try to edit them – once I’ve made a decision and published it, I can’t go back!

#1 was no contest, this has to be one of the greatest final showdowns ever.

#1 was no contest, this has to be one of the greatest final showdowns ever.

1 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure – Stardust Crusaders S2 ep 23

2 – Kekkai Sensen ep 10 (↑ 1)

3 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu ep 21 (↑ 2)

4 – Sidonia no Kishi – Daikyuu Wakusei Seneki ep 10 (↓ 2)

5 – DanMachi ep 10 (↑ 1)

6 – Hibike! Euphonium ep 10 (↑ 2)

7 – Arslan Senki ep 10 (↓ 3)

8 – Etotama ep 10 (↑ 1)

9 – Show By Rock!! ep 10 (↑ 1)

10 – Ore Monogatari!! ep 10 (↑ 1)

11 – Shokugeki no Souma ep 10 (↓ 4)

12 – Plastic Memories ep 10 (↑ 5)

13 – Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works S2 ep 10 (↓ 1)

14 – Gunslinger Stratos ep 10 (↓ 1)

15 – Re-Kan! ep 10 (↓ 1)

16 – Tribe Cool Crew ep 34 

17 – Mikagura Gakuen Kumikyoku ep 10 (↓ 2)

18 – Owari no Seraph ep 10 

Chance!

Chance!

Moving up:

Plenty of drama following the auditions in Hibike! Euphonium! Reina got the solo trumpet part over 3rd year and section lead Kaori, which a lot of her groupies didn’t approve of. Add in the revelation that Taki-sensei knew Reina before coming to the school, and allegations of fixing inevitably follow. The two will be re-auditioning for the role in the next episode, with the winner this time being based on a show of hands from the whole band. Hopefully (and presumably) Reina’s playing will be good enough to win over the majority of the dissenters. The other main revelation was that Reina loves Taki-sensei – this is completely one-sided, and had no impact on the first audition, but it did manage to shatter plenty of yuri goggles. 😛

The mastermind behind the artificial virus was revealed this week in Ansatsu Kyoushitsu… I wasn’t expecting it to be Takaoka-sensei! I thought he was scary in his episode 13 debut, but now he’s absolutely terrifying! His initial plan to assassinate Koro-sensei using Kayano, cement and a ton of anti-Koro BBs was cruel, but his treatment of Nagisa, and subsequent destruction of (what is assumed to be) the only antidote to the virus was pure sadism. I imagine he’ll live to regret messing with Nagisa, though! Before all this was the showdown with the gun-sucker, which was equally entertaining to watch. 🙂

The look on Nagisa's face after Takaoka pushed him to the edge... wait, wrong screenshot. Such a shame I can't edit anymore. :razz:

The look on Nagisa’s face after Takaoka pushed him to the edge… wait, wrong screenshot. SUCH A SHAME I CAN’T EDIT ANY MORE!

Moving down:

Mikagura Gakuen Kumikyoku is a weird one. I enjoy the club battles, and I enjoy the slice of life/comedy antics between the characters, but is it going anywhere? I never know what to expect from the next episode, aside from weird pacing. This week got off to a good start with Bimi’s creepy human transformation method revealed, but the ghost hunt didn’t add much IMO (aside from the real(?) ghost Usamaru ran into, though I can’t tell whether that was just for fun or whether it’s relevant to a larger plot that may or may not exist). The fight between Otone and Seisa while all this was going on was also anticlimactic, with the latter holding her ability back for some reason. Surprised to learn Otone didn’t actually live abroad, though!

Picking on Arslan Senki again, because I’ve got slightly more to say about it than the others that are moving down (all series I’ve talked about a lot in recent weeks). This is the first time it’s fallen out of my Top 5! The episode featured some great action scenes as Arslan’s party first tried to seek refuge from Lord Hodir’s castle, and then tried desperately to escape… but you could see Hodir’s betrayal coming from a mile away. Definitely your generic villain type. Guess I’ve come to expect more from even the minor characters in this series. 😛 The best part was probably when Arslan freed Hodir’s slaves, only to have them respond with anger – the boy is still learning, and will hopefully make a better leader as a result!

Here we see the head of the Newspaper Club talking to Eruna... or the blank space where she should be. DERP.

Here we see the head of the newspaper club talking to Eruna… or the blank space where she should be standing. DERP.

General comments:

I said in Week 5 that I didn’t want anything bad to happen to Takeo and Yamato’s relationship in Ore Monogatari!!… and so far, nothing has. Moments which could have led to drama, such as misunderstandings between the two, or Suna’s father’s ill-health, ended well for everyone involved. But perhaps I should be careful what I wish for, because without drama, it’s little more than a moe ‘cute couple does cute things’ show! 😛 Don’t get me wrong, it is cute and very funny, and seeing them both trapped on a mountain this week was a nice change of scenery… but presumably something’s going to have to change at some point, since another season of this could get repetitive.

I could be overrating Kekkai Sensen here, as its wackiness makes it difficult to compare it objectively with anything else, but this week’s tour of Hellsalem’s Lot’s eating establishments had me in stitches. Aside from the strange otherworldly foods, Zed and Zapp’s interactions were hilarious – normally adding a new character this late on in a series would be a risky move, but I really like Zed now. 😀 And in the background, the main story continued to progress, with the ending providing quite a change in tone! Sadly, next week’s episode will be recap, so I won’t be including it in my rankings… we came close, but it seems as though a whole season without breaks is too much to ask for~

Eat, or be eaten!

Eat, or be eaten!

<< Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 9

3 Responses to Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 10

  1. foshizzel says:

    Jojo: Wow that episode! I swear that series has some of the craziest fights of all time in any anime and it helps that Dio is such a interesting villain ❤

    • I agree, the series lives up to the ‘bizarre’ part of its name, where no plot twist or sudden development is too weird to happen. 😛 It was interesting to see Dio critically injured, and trying all sorts of desperate measures to escape… only to end the episode fully healed again. 😀

  2. […] << Spring 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 10 […]

Leave a Reply

