Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 2

We’re only in the second week of the season, and already I’ve come close to dropping a series from my lineup. 😮 Not through choice, mind, it’s just that the subtitle situation for Lupin III is ridiculous. I can only assume the English streaming sites aren’t allowed it until next season, just as Italy got it three months before Japan? Surely it’d be popular enough to warrant a simulcast otherwise? Regardless, I’m enjoying the series, so as long as passable subs continue to surface in time, it stays!

This time I’ll be focusing on anime that I didn’t cover last week, so mostly spin-offs and sequels~

Ii-cha's adorable description of the events gave the viewer some early clues - this show is already better than Ranpo Kitan. :D

Ii-cha’s adorable description of the events gave the viewer some early clues – this show is already better than Ranpo Kitan. 😀

1 – Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru ep 2

2 – One Punch Man ep 2 (↑ 1)

3 – Subete ga F ni Naru ep 2 (↑ 8)

4 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans ep 2

5 – Osomatsu-san ep 2 (↑ 5)

6 – K: Return of Kings ep 2 (↓ 4)

7 – Haikyuu!! S2 ep 2 (↑ 1)

8 – Lupin III (2015) ep 2 (↓ 2)

9 – Dance with Devils ep 2 (↓ 4)

10 – Yuru Yuri San Hai! ep 2 (↓ 1)

11 – Noragami Aragoto ep 2 (↑ 5)

12 – Young Black Jack ep 2 (↓ 5)

13 – Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen ep 2

14 – Comet Lucifer ep 2 (↑ 1)

15 – Owari no Seraph: Nagoya Kessen-hen ep 2 (↓ 3)

16 – Ushio to Tora ep 15 (↑ 1)

17 – Concrete Revolutio: Choujin Gensou ep 2 (↓ 3)

18 – Lance N’ Masques ep 2

And we thought the parodies were over...

And we thought the parodies were over…

Moving up:

I know, I talked about Osomatsu-san last week, but that one-off parody of modern anime gave me no way of knowing what to expect from the rest of the series, aside from the fact that it would probably be very funny. And actually, I found the Matsuno siblings funnier when they were being themselves! Though they’re impossible to tell apart visually without the colour coding, they all act and speak very differently… now I just need to remember which name goes with which personality. 😛 The first segment saw them trying to find work (as someone who has been in that situation for a year now, I’d take a job in that factory!), but it was the second half during which the titular Osomatsu-san got in the way of all his brothers’ activities that made me laugh the most.

Noragami Aragoto didn’t get off to the best of starts in my rankings, and even now is quite low, considering it was the sequel I was most looking forward to; I think this is because the focus has been largely on Bishamon and her large shinki family, who were little more than side-characters in the first series, and haven’t been as amusing to watch as Yato’s group usually is. Hard to feel that much emotion over the death of Suzuha either, since he wasn’t even around for a full two episodes, though I do feel sorry for (the still blissfully unaware) Yukine. There’s a serious plot building up here, and I expect Noragami to place much higher once it gets going.

Pretty sure my cats would answer the same way if asked about me. :razz:

Pretty sure my cats would answer the same way if asked about me.

Moving down:

The first episode of K: Return of Kings featured gorgeous animation and plenty of fighting; the second, above-average animation and plenty of talking. A lot of exposition, some of which seemed to be filling in the gaps for people who haven’t seen the movie, while some of it was new information. Less fanservice was certainly a positive, K is a good enough series without having to zoom in on Seri’s breasts every time she’s on screen… Anna and Neko’s interactions are just adorable, while I also liked that Neko and Kuroh both reached the same conclusion when offered protection by the Red and Blue Kings respectively – their loyalty to Yashiro is wonderful. And speaking of Yashiro, I hope he’ll be done falling in time for the third ep! 😛

I said at the end of the spring season that there was no way I would be picking up the continuation of Owari no Seraph… so take the presence of Owari no Seraph: Nagoya Kessen-hen in my list as an indication of how underwhelmed I was by the other Autumn offerings that didn’t make the cut. So far, it’s been enjoyable enough, and could continue to be as long as the focus remains on the plot, and not on low-budget action scenes like those that plagued the first half. The little we’ve seen of Yuu, Yoichi and Kimizuki’s new abilities did leave me impressed, though, so maybe even the battles will be more fun to watch this time around. Can’t say I’m as big a fan of the new themes as I was the previous ones, however. 😦

At least the character designs and backgrounds for Seraph are usually very pretty!

At least the character designs and backgrounds for Seraph are usually very pretty!

General comments:

Thinking about it afterwards, maybe I should have included Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans in my Week 1 post? Gundam is an old franchise, sure, but (as far as I know) this is a new alternate universe with no relation to any series that have come before it, so perfectly suitable for newbies! It’s at #4 in my rankings for a second week, despite having quite a standard plot – this is largely thanks to the great characters, pacing, and animation. Mikazuki, Orga and Biscuit seemed immediately likable, have already received quite a bit of development in just two episodes, and it’s nice that they’re already trained soldiers as opposed to uber-gifted civilians for a change! Not sure what to make of the Princess just yet, but at least she means well.

Also a non-mover, Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen. I feel bad rating it so low for a second week, as it really isn’t that bad… it just doesn’t have much of a story yet. Lots of travelling, working and killing giant insects – at least the animation is pretty good for those action scenes, and particularly for the slime-like ‘curse’. Aside from that, Haku and Kuon’s interactions are amusing enough, though they’ve not received as much development as some other characters this season (with good reason in Haku’s case, being an amnesiac and all). I guess it’s just a bit slower-paced than most of the other new anime, another one with plenty of potential to rise up the ranks later on. 🙂

Something tells me that Maroro is the comic relief character. :razz:

Something tells me that Maroro is the comic relief character. 😛

<< Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 1

One Response to Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 2

  1. […] << Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 2 […]

Leave a Reply

