Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 8

The Autumn 2015 season continues to be the most dynamic season ever since I started these weekly rankings posts! Since most of the really big jumps and drops are series I’ve recently talked about, moving back to their old positions, I’ll again focus on some of the smaller ones. As ever though, feel free to ask me my thoughts about any of these 20 shows in the comments! 🙂

Yato is moving up in the worlds of gods and humans!

Yato is moving up in the worlds of gods and humans!

1 – Noragami Aragoto ep 8 (↑ 1)

2 – One Punch Man ep 8 (↑ 7)

3 – Haikyuu!! S2 ep 8 (↑ 5)

4 – Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ep 8 (↑ 14)

5 – Subete ga F ni Naru ep 8 (↓ 2)

6 – Comet Lucifer ep 8 

7 – K: Return of Kings ep 8 

8 – Young Black Jack ep 8 (↑ 11)

9 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans ep 8 (↓ 8)

10 – Yuru Yuri San Hai! ep 8 (↑ 3)

11 – Owari no Seraph: Nagoya Kessen-hen ep 8 (↑ 3)

12 – Dance with Devils ep 8 (↓ 2)

13 – Shin Atashin’chi ep 8 (↓ 1)

14 – Osomatsu-san ep 8 (↓ 10)

15 – High School Star Musical ep 8 (↓ 4)

16 – Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen ep 8 (↑ 1)

17 – Lupin III (2015) ep 8 (↓ 12)

18 – Peeping Life TV: Season 1?? ep 8 (↓ 2)

19 – Ushio to Tora ep 21 (↓ 4)

20 – Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry ep 8 

Great to see these two get some screen time!

Great to see these two get some development!

Moving up:

This week’s Haikyuu!! S2 was just brilliant. Tsukishima has always been a bit of a non-character for me, always present but never really saying or doing much, overshadowed by Karasuno’s many louder personalities, so it was nice to have an episode focusing on him. The flashbacks, which saw his older brother lie to him about being a player on Karasuno’s (then much stronger) team, were very good, and explained his apathy about the club and lack of desire to try and compete with Hinata. But what I liked the most was the players from Fukurodani and Nekoma helping him improve and rekindling his interest in the sport. Yamaguchi was also very cool, I hope he gets more opportunities to play in future games himself. Loving the Sun vs Moon thing too. 😀

I’m still amazed at how much I’m enjoying Owari no Seraph: Nagoya Kessen-hen! I guess that with all the introductory stuff covered in the first series, this second part has been mostly action. That, and my expectations were far lower to begin with this time. 😛 I really like Crowley Eusford as a villain. He’s always smiling, but doesn’t come across as sadistic or anything like that. He just knows that the humans he’s fighting are no threat to him, or to Ferid’s plans, so doesn’t let them spoil his mood. I’m looking forward to finding out what Kureto’s ‘secret weapon’ and overall plans are, however – perhaps they’ll start being a threat very soon! Pacing and the hardly amazing animation continue to hold Seraph back, but it looks good when it needs to.

The illusory volcano made for a nice battle scene... shame it couldn't have gone on for longer.

The illusory volcano made for a nice battle scene, shame it couldn’t have gone on for longer.

Moving down:

Ushio to Tora has certainly picked up since Hakumen no Mono started to act, whether it was in flashbacks to Ancient China or through avatars in the present. Unfortunately, it continues to stick to the shounen tropes so strongly that it’s painfully predictable. Ushio meets and befriends Oyakume-sama, who succeeds in planting anime’s biggest death flag from the moment the episode starts… needless to say, she does actually die. The episode also introduced Kirio, yet another spear-wielder candidate; at least this guy seems different from the others in that he already has a weapon, and a youkai partner… but he’s being manipulated by that obviously evil ‘mama’ of his, so will surely try to seal or destroy the spear in the coming eps. Or not. Prove me wrong for once!

The eighth episode of High School Star Musical was mostly buildup to the school festival performance; not a lot happened, but it was still amusing enough to stay out of the red! Team Otori managed to get their venue of choice (even if it wasn’t poor Nayuki’s choice), but not the ideal time, thanks to a typical Hoshitani blunder. A lot of the episode was then spent trying to figure out exactly what kind of performance to give. Finally, Akatsuki stirred up some drama by trying to get Otori kicked out of the Kao Council, on the grounds that his team’s performances threaten the school’s traditions… doubt that’ll stop them putting on a great show!

Nayuki's stage fright could be quite the obstacle on the big stage...

Nayuki’s stage fright could be quite the obstacle on the big stage…

General comments:

I’ve not mentioned K: Return of Kings in a while. The last few episodes have had a lot of action, though with animation nowhere near as pretty as the opening episodes, unfortunately. More than that, it’s the plot that’s kept it as high as it is: last week the Green King made his move, and was one-hit-KO’d by Reishi… thankfully, this wasn’t a huge anticlimax but a part of Nagare’s plan, as it was then revealed his ally Iwa was in fact the Grey King! This week saw him fighting against and defeating Reishi, before making off with the all-important Dresden Slates – not good for Shiro’s alliance. The other major twist was Fushimi ragequitting Scepter4 to join Jungle! Hopefully he’s planning to destroy them from the inside or something, it’d suck if he actually betrayed.

Finally (here as well as in the rankings themselves), we have Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry. Second week at the bottom, third in the red. I’d like to think this is just bad timing, the episodes between the terrible first ep and when I decided to add this to my lineup in Week 6 were quite good! The last few have all been part of the same arc, focusing on Ayatsuji Ayase, probably my least favourite character so far; even then, they weren’t terrible, just a bit generic, and it loses out to Ushio to Tora on animation quality. I do hope this series bounces back, and that those few good early episodes weren’t the exception. Either way, miles better than Lance N’ Masques!

One thing Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry still has is cool abilities and weapons. I do love whip swords!

One thing Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry still has is cool abilities and weapons. I do love whip swords!

<< Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 7

6 Responses to Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 8

  1. Zane says:

    Hi AngryJellyfish it’s me pinkteddyx64 from The Student Room!

    Really enjoy seeing you on my forum!

  2. Zane says:

    Ever considered settings up your own forum? I can help you set up one if you like.

    • Cheers for the offer, but I’d rather post on forums that are already active and have a lot of members. Not to mention the fact I’d have to moderate it – managing this blog takes enough of my time. 😛

  3. Zane says:

    Somebody has been creating impostors of spotify95 again by the way! 😦 Check the last person to post thread and you’ll see a spotify95santa! 😦

    I wish they’d stop, the Community Team hate me as they blamed me me for the impostors including those of you. I wish I could have my pinkteddy account back as it’s far from ideal coming back under various different names just for spotify95 to report my comebacks and see me banned again.

    If there is any way you could help me get my original account back would you?

  4. […] << Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 8 […]

Leave a Reply

