Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 11

It’s almost the end of the season, and of the year… I’m impressed, for once none of my lineup have skipped a week or done anything else to mess up the numbering, which makes life easier. 😛 Here’s hoping they don’t start now, as I don’t like delayed endings.

One series has done the opposite, by ending a week early; for the others, I’ll focus mostly on shows that are unlikely to end in Week 12, since I’ll be covering all the ones that do in my next post.

Comet Lucifer: proving that bread-making and battles aren't mutually exclusive. Take note, Rick Elwood!

Comet Lucifer: proving that bread-making and combat aren’t mutually exclusive. Take note, Rick Elwood!

1 – Comet Lucifer ep 11 (↑ 6)

2 – Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ep 11 (↑ 1)

3 – Noragami Aragoto ep 11 (↑ 1)

4 – One Punch Man ep 11 (↓ 3)

5 – Subete ga F ni Naru ep 11 (↓ 3)

6 – Owari no Seraph: Nagoya Kessen-hen ep 11 (↑ 2)

7 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans ep 11 (↑ 2)

8 – Osomatsu-san ep 11 (↑ 5)

9 – K: Return of Kings ep 11 (↓ 3)

10 – Lupin III (2015) ep 11 (↑ 7)

11 – Dance with Devils ep 11 (↑ 3)

12 – Yuru Yuri San Hai! ep 11

13 – Haikyuu!! S2 ep 11 (↓ 2)

14 – Young Black Jack ep 11 (↓ 9)

15 – Ushio to Tora ep 24 (↓ 5)

16 – Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen ep 11 (↑ 2)

17 – Shin Atashin’chi ep 11 (↓ 1)

18 – Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry ep 11 (↑ 1)

19 – High School Star Musical ep 11 (↓ 4)

20 – Peeping Life TV: Season 1?? ep 11

More anime should feature Asano Inio's character designs. Or better yet, I'd love to see some of his manga adapted to anime!

Most people’s faces when seeing Comet Lucifer top my rankings probably looked something like this.

Ending:

This year’s mystery offerings have been a mixed bag, with the amazing Rokka no Yuusha at one end of the spectrum, and the episodic and predictable Ranpo Kitan at the other. The jury’s still out on Sakurako-san, but I’m hopeful the verdict will be positive. Subete ga F ni Naru focused on one mystery from start to finish, which to me is a good thing. I also like to be able to play along and try and work out the mysteries myself… no chance of that happening this time, with the meaning of ‘everything becomes F’ referring to hexadecimal code in the computer system. Still, can’t blame the series for my own lack of knowledge. I liked the character interactions, particularly between Saikawa and Nishinosono; Saikawa and Magata’s discussions were interesting, but occasionally went over my head. I don’t really understand why, but I’m glad she escaped in the end. 😛 Overall, maybe too complex for my poor brain, but entertaining nonetheless.

Moving up:

Comet Lucifer’s fairly generic storyline can’t really justify a place in my Top 5′ is the line I chose to end last week’s post. For that, I would like to apologize. I’ve seen people tearing episode 11 apart on other sites, complaining of the sudden increase in pace, info-dumping and general confusion… but I don’t care, I found it by far the most entertaining episode of the week. It makes sense that we’re only getting key info at this late stage – Felia herself has no memories, Sougo’s mother is dead, and Zoneboyle doesn’t seem the type to share his secrets with anyone (unless its via the medium of evil monologue)! Other than that, friends and old enemies working together against a common foe, plenty of great action scenes and music, Moura’s human form, melon bread hand grenades, sudden ‘True Final Boss’ appearance, and imminent planetary collision certainly made this episode an experience, whether you liked it or not. 😀

Doesn't this just scream 'Merry Christmas!' to you?

Doesn’t this just scream ‘Merry Christmas!’ to you?

A Christmas episode from Osomatsu-san, featuring lots of mini-segments! But it was anything but merry… that opening scene could have been mistaken for a Hallowe’en horror! Things toned down from outright terrifying to just unsettlingly creepy for the next part, with ‘Black Santa’ sitting next to and bothering a happy couple. Then, a surprise return from the bishounen Matsuno siblings from episode one, who (again in a perfect parody of reverse harem anime) took it in turns to give Totoko her perfect Christmas. After this strong start, a lot of the second half’s segments didn’t do much for me, with the exception of Juushimatsu’s encounter with Santa, and the sextruplets’ attempts to ask Totoko out for Christmas (which turned out to be far harder in ‘reality’ than in the rose-tinted part from earlier), but a highly entertaining episode on the whole. Looking forward to more of this series in the New Year! 😀

Moving down:

Despite the drop, I’m still really enjoying Ushio to Tora at the moment. It’s just a shame it took a season and a half to budge from the bottom of the pile! A return to the old ‘monster of the week’ formula this time, but following on from the dramatic Elzaar Scythes episodes, this change of pace wasn’t actually too bad. Tora and Mayuko had great chemistry together… I think I actually liked their interactions in this episode more than Tora’s relationship with Ushio! The enemies were among the more interesting ones as well, asking humans ‘What is a satisfying death?’, and devouring the brains of those who cannot answer. The series seems to be ending on a comparatively high note, but is it too little too late to convince me to pick up next year’s sequel? Meh, Owari no Seraph’s second half made my lineup after I swore it wouldn’t, and that’s been surprisingly good, so only time will tell.

Such a wonderful couple <3

Such a wonderful couple ❤

K: Return of Kings is showing some similarity to Gatchaman Crowds – all of a sudden, everybody has acquired the same dangerous powers that were previously guarded and used only by the Kings and their clans. Is giving this level of power to the masses a good thing? K seems to think the answer is no, with the Green Clan who stole and unleashed the power of the Slates presented as the enemies that the others are teaming up against. The focus this week was mostly on the recently-fired Munakata, and the current members of SCEPTER 4, who launch two independent attacks against JUNGLE’s HQ… aided by former Blue Fushimi, who is either still loyal to SCEPTER 4, or is simply incapable of showing loyalty to anyone, I can’t tell at this point. 😛 An interesting and nice-looking episode, but largely buildup for the big final battles to come.

General comments:

Not the best week for my four late additions to my lineup, though I’ve no doubt Lance N’ Masques would be bottom of the pile if I was still forcing my way through that each week. As for Concrete Revolutio, harder to tell, it might have eventually won me over. With the other three likely to end at 12 episodes, I’ll focus on Shin Atashin’chi again. Presumably, this series isn’t going to end this season – in fact, the original Atashin’chi series lasted for 330 episodes over seven years! Though I’ll continue to watch Shin Atashin’chi regardless of how long it goes on for, I may remove it from my blog ranking from next season onwards. Other long series I’ve followed over the years (Space Brothers, Hunter x Hunter, and even Tribe Cool Crew) always gave me something to talk about, but the only thing that’ll ever affect Atashin’chi’s ratings is how funny it happened to be that week. I’d recommend it though, highly entertaining and unfairly overlooked.

Cleaning windows is serious business!

Cleaning windows is serious business!

<< Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 10

One Response to Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 11

  1. […] << Autumn 2015 Episode Rankings – Week 11 […]

Leave a Reply

