Happy New Year! 2016

Happy New Year everybody! And yes, I even remembered to change the tag to 2016. 😀

Year of the monkey~

Year of the monkey~

So, time for another anime-themed New Year’s Resolution! But first, how did last year’s promise to watch as many popular series as possible end up going? Well, in many ways it was a success – I can now count the likes of History’s Strongest Disciple KenichiGANTZ, Skip Beat!, Gundam SEED, Witch Hunter Robin, Nodame Cantabile, Blood+ and Air Gear as part of my watched anime list. 😀 I *may* have mentioned something about watching one of the big three shounen series, however… still on the backlog, I’ll get around to it, I promise.

But now, it is 2016, and I have unfinished business. Aside from the backlog, that is. Because I’m forever looking for new and interesting series, I very rarely seem to go back and watch sequels, spin-offs, movies, DVD specials etc related to series I’ve already finished. This will (hopefully!) be the year I sort that out, as aside from the usual ongoing weekly series, I’ll be focusing on franchises I know and enjoyed, and watching any outstanding series relating to them.

The Slayers is a priority - loved the first series and the movies I've seen, but haven't touched the franchise since 2011!

The Slayers is a priority – loved the first series and the movies I’ve seen, but haven’t touched the franchise since 2011!

Series I’ve picked out so far (with help from Anime-Planet‘s ‘related anime you haven’t marked’ function) include Slayers Next, Those Who Hunt Elves II, the Akazukin Chacha OVAs, and a few others that may or may not be fantasy/comedy shows from the 90s. 😛 And going back to that backlog again, sequels that have sat there gathering dust for years (Sisters of Wellber ZweiSpace Battleship Yamato 2, Ginga Densetsu Weed etc) will of course get bumped up the priority list as well.

So that’s my long-term plans for 2016 sorted! Now to make a start, quickly, before the Winter Season starts and my short-term watching list takes up all my free time. 😀

6 Responses to Happy New Year! 2016

  1. Timlah says:

    You did a great job with the series you watched last year! Here’s to an even more otaku filled 2016 🙂

    Me personally..? ASSASSINATION CLASSROOOOOOM! Ahem. I might be a bit overly excited for the next installation of that series 🙂

    • I’m still on track to hit my usual target of one actual month of anime watched per year – the equivalent of two hours per day, every day. Having side goals like this going throughout the year, as well as all the newly airing series I follow weekly has helped me get there with ease. 😀

      Assassination Classroom is among my most anticipated series for the coming season. Number 1 has to be the continuation Durarara!!x2, though. And out of the all-new anime, Boku Dake ga Inai Machi really has me interested.

  2. Ooh, all that anime watched in a year! I hope Slayers is grand, as I know some people who loved it a ton. I can’t wait until you start your thoughts and rankings of the new season. Happy New Year!

    • I really liked the first Slayers TV series, and the 3-4 movies I’ve watched, so I’m certain I’ll enjoy Next as well! Revisiting the franchise has taken me far too long.

      Glad to hear people appreciate my weekly rankings posts! I can’t wait for the new season to begin so that I can fall back into my usual routine. That week between seasons is a boring, empty time for me. 😛

  3. Happy New Year! You should love Slayers Next. The finale of that season is possibly the most gripping anime series finale ever made. And Those Who Hunt Elves is a ton of fun also. The second season takes itself a little too seriously, but I enjoyed it.

    Good luck in chipping away at your backlog!

    • Happy new year to you too! 🙂 I expect to start my first sequel today, once I’ve finished the last of my Anime-Planet Secret Santa reviews. Haven’t decided what to go for, but as long as they all live up to their original series’, I can’t really go wrong.

Leave a Reply

