Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 2

Once again, WordPress seems to be trying to force me to switch to their ‘improved posting experience’ by removing the route I’d found of getting onto the old editor. Thankfully, I’ve found another way of getting there. 😛

Part of me thinks that maybe I should try using the new one (which seems to have changed again since I last looked at it), since who knows how much longer the old editor will be available? It’s a new year, why not try something new? But then I double check and see that the new editor STILL can’t do something as simple as copy an existing post, and all motivation to move on immediately disappears… anyway, rant over, onto the anime~

Yuri confession!

Yuri confession!

1 – Durarara!!x2 Ketsu ep 2

2 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans ep 15 (↑ 8)

3 – GATE S2 ep 2 (↑ 2)

4 – Boku dake ga Inai Machi ep 2

5 – Schwarzesmarken ep 2 (↑ 4)

6 – Dimension W ep 2 (↑ 2)

7 – Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu ep 2 (↓ 5)

8 – Osomatsu-san ep 15 (↑ 4)

9 – Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm ep 2 (↑ 6)

10 – Lupin III (2015) ep 15 (↓ 4)

11 – Haikyuu!! S2 ep 15

12 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu S2 ep 2 (↓ 5)

13 – Haruta & Chika ep 2 (↑ 4)

14 – Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya wo Mezasu ep 2 (↓ 1)

15 – Active Raid ep 2 (↓ 12)

16 – Norn9 ep 2 (↓ 2)

17 – Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen ep 15 (↓ 1)

18 – Bubuki Buranki ep 2

What convincing acting. :P

What convincing acting. 😛

Moving up:

Now that the shininess of the new season’s series is beginning to dull (doesn’t take long!), Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans jumps back up to reclaim its place in my Top 5, where it will likely stay I’d imagine. Another exciting episode filled with action, violence, plot-twists and betrayal! And also, at last the old Gundam staple that is a masked villain has made his appearance. I fear for Fumitan, her death flag is certainly on the rise… at least that’d help develop Kudelia, as she’s still highly dependent on her servant and friend.

Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm was the second big positive mover – I’m really warming to the characters, all aside from the generic male lead, who (while probably reluctant to take part/help out with Flying Circus for a good but so far unexplained reason) comes across as a bit annoying a lot of the time. I love the secluded club room in an old caravan, and continue to be surprised by how good the series looks, and how much fun the Flying Circus games are to watch. I can only imagine the actual, non-practice games against experienced teams will be even better!

Plus points for chibi demonstrations~

Plus points for chibi demonstrations~

Moving down:

I wondered what direction Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu would take after the great first episode – what we got was a flashback to Yakumo’s own apprenticeship alongside Sukeroku. A rushed but still decent amount of backstory, and a snapshot of their relationship from childhood to when they started to perform in public. Great that we got to see TWO more rakugo shorts, though Yakumo’s debut was (intentionally) quite bad… fast-pacing and the lack of Yotarou made this episode less fun than last week’s, but still very enjoyable.

I can’t ignore Active Raid‘s huge drop! My thoughts on the second episode match the majority opinion about the first episode almost perfectly, yet a lot of people preferred ep 2? Have I watched them out of order!? Less gags, most of the characters I liked from last week were absent or barely in it, and the ‘villain in a mech of the week’ was more serious (read: boring). Still had a lot of style, but it made me realize how much of my enjoyment of last week’s episode was reliant on the humour. Maybe that’ll change as the plot develops.

The Liko-chan app is cute, if a bit distracting when dancing next to news reporters! Do wonder if she's as harmless as she seems, though.

The Liko-chan app is cute, if a bit distracting when dancing next to news reporters! I do wonder if she’s as harmless as she seems, though.

General comments:

Durarara!!x2 Ketsu reigns supreme, and I do wonder whether anything will challenge it. Izaya’s conversation with Anri was very intense and gripping, good thing Karisawa was there to stop things escalating further! Meanwhile, all the guy’s ‘underlings’ seem to be plotting against him – I can’t wait to see what the knock-on effects of Celty’s head suddenly showing up in public will be. And then we got some additional backstory on Kujiragi, who’s still a bit of a mystery to me, but will clearly be a major character in this part. All strong, as usual.

Three series are currently competing to demonstrate the horrors of war – GATE and Schwarzesmarken did fairly good jobs this week, but Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen less-so. I really expected to like this sequel more, but after a first half full of underwhelming slice of life/comedy antics, the sudden switch to serious slaughter just feels weird. Feels like they haven’t gotten the balance right at all. Oh well, back to the comedy next week by the looks of the next episode preview, which I think is an improvement.

At least Haku's harem gained yet another member. :razz:

At least Haku’s harem gained yet another member. 😛

<< Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 1

4 Responses to Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 2

  1. Well, that’s some good news that Utawarerumono’s stopped the boring slice-of-life antics. You’re making me look forward to the next season. I still need to decide what new stuff I need to watch.

    • What little action there was in Utawarerumono looked quite good, but it felt like too much of a sudden change of tone and pace to me.

      There’s some quite amusing series on offer, but based on these first two weeks I wouldn’t say it’s the strongest season ever. Nothing other than Durarara!! feels like Top 50 material.

  2. […] Angryjellyfish tells me that the second season is jarringly violent compared to the first.  That gives me some hope of the sequel not being a complete […]

  3. […] << Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 2 […]

Leave a Reply

