Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 9

I was starting to think this post would never be made! Minamicon was amazing, but soon after returning, I came down with the dreaded con flu, and am still far from recovered. I figured that being stuck in bed on what would otherwise be a working day might actually help me get through the backlog of episodes sooner, but in reality I struggled to concentrate on them, actually falling asleep through two of them. Only the mounting pile of 10th episodes has forced me back into gear – let’s hope I can get through them this weekend!

Nakamura's, Karma's and my own dreams of nurse/maid Nagisa took a hard blow this week. :o

Nakamura’s, Karma’s and my own dreams of nurse/maid Nagisa took a hard blow this week. 😮

1 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu S2 ep 9 (↑ 3)

2 – Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! ep 8 (↑ 8)

3 – Schwarzesmarken ep 9 (↑ 6)

4 – GATE S2 ep 9 (↓ 1)

5 – Durarara!!x2 Ketsu ep 9 (↓ 3)

6 – Boku dake ga Inai Machi ep 9 (↓ 1)

7 – Haikyuu!! S2 ep 22 (↑ 7)

8 – Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu ep 9 (↓ 1)

9 – Active Raid ep 9 (↑ 11)

10 – Osomatsu-san ep 22 (↑ 5)

11 – Dagashi Kashi ep 8 (↑ 5)

12 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans ep 22 (↓ 11)

13 – Bubuki Buranki ep 9 

14 – Norn9 ep 9 (↓ 2)

15 – Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya wo Mezasu ep 9 ( 4)

16 – Ao no Kanata no Four Rhythm ep 9 (↑ 3)

17 – Lupin III (2015) ep 22 ( 9)

18 – Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen ep 22 ( 1)

19 – Dimension W ep 9 (↓ 13)

20 – Haruta & Chika ep 9 (↓ 2)

That unnamed pickpocket character from ep 1 keeps making cameo appearances... I have to wonder if she has some sort of story going on behind the scenes!

That unnamed pickpocket character from ep 1 keeps making cameo appearances… I have to wonder if she has some sort of story going on behind the scenes!

Moving up:

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu S2 takes the top spot for the first time! Until now the best this series had managed was 4th, while its first anime peaked at 3rd. All this is down to the introduction of Nagisa’s mother (wait, an anime character who has parents!?), whose unreasonable demands and terrifying mood swings explain why Nagisa has become so good at reading reactions, simply in order to survive this long! Koro-sensei was even more hilarious than usual, if that’s possible, as he impersonated Karasuma. I love episodes that can balance seriousness and ridiculousness, and ep 9 did a fine job of that. 😀

Given how strong my first impressions of the series were, it’s a shame that an entertaining episode of Active Raid is now something that catches me by surprise. Logos haven’t been the most interesting villains so far, but despite that, I did enjoy watching Dog/Fisherman’s antics after being kicked out of the organisation. The episode featured some good action scenes, Captain Yamabuki’s Willwear scenes in particular stood out. And then at the end, we found out the identity of the other Logos member, Bird – not what I was expecting!

I keep having to remind myself that Loser is his name, and that Kyouma hasn't stooped to petty insults. :razz:

I keep having to remind myself that Loser is his name, and that Kyouma hasn’t stooped to petty insults. 😛

Moving down:

I don’t know what happened with Dimension W, but it really didn’t hold my attention this week, despite the episode gaining overwhelmingly positive reviews elsewhere. Maybe I should watch it again when I’m less feverish? This series has been so fast-paced until this arc, so seeing another episode full of flashbacks wasn’t what I wanted. Aside from the introduction of some ‘Haruka Seameyer’ villain character, the one big revelation was that all the mechanical bodies made by Dr. Yurizaki – including Mira’s – were based on the one he built for Kyouma’s late wife Miyabi. Their relationship is certainly more complex than that of most other main characters this season. 😮

Since losing its dominance over the top spot mid-season, Durarara!!x2 Ketsu hasn’t quite managed to rise to the same untouchable levels of awesomeness. I mean, listening to Karisawa’s fangirl reactions to the Saika hoard, seeing Mikage fight both Vorona and Kujiragi, and of course the beginning of Shizuo vs Izaya were all highly entertaining, but these were quite short moments in an episode otherwise geared more towards preparing for whatever’s about to go down outside Russia Sushi. If anything can lead to Durarara!! placing 1st again, it’ll be that!

A solid life-goal if I ever heard one!

A solid life-goal if I ever heard one!

General comments:

Bubuki Buranki suddenly went international over the past couple of episodes, introducing users from America and Russia, complete with a load of the usual overblown gaijin stereotypes. I probably shouldn’t find these funny, but Epizo in particular just cracks me up, and the brother-complex twins are a close second. Shizuku is back to her normal, fantastic, OP self, and Azuma’s heart starts beating once again – their ‘True Oubu’ looks very nice, and I can’t wait to see it in action!

Going back to shows that haven’t quite managed to recover their earlier levels of success… Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu‘s first few eps really impressed me, since the setting was so different, and that double-length introduction complete with full rakugo story certainly helped! Increasingly as the series has gone by, though, I feel as though it’s not really for me. A very solid anime, with some spectacular characters and dialogue, and still the occasional great rakugo moments, hence why it’s never left my Top 10, but the release of a new episode doesn’t excite me in the same way as even some of the lower-ranked series do.

Miyokichi looked very cool in this scene.

Miyokichi looked very cool in this scene.

<< Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 8

One Response to Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 9

  1. […] << Winter 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 9 […]

Leave a Reply

