Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 4

Week 4, and finally my lineup is back to normal. All 21 series aired, and as I said I would, I’ve dropped the one that was impressing me the least – Shounen Maid. I found I didn’t look forward to a new episode each week in the same way that I do for the others, I didn’t warm to the characters or find the gags as funny as other slice of life/comedy series… I’m still curious about those characters in the ED sequence, but not enough to continue with it.

While on the subject of slice of life/comedy, I’ve skipped talking about them so far to focus on the more plot-driven shows, so I might as well dedicate this post to those series~

Best hiding place. Ever.

Best hiding place. Ever.

1 – Sakamoto desu ga? ep 3 (↑ 13)

2 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable ep 4 (↑ 4)

3 – Kiznaiver ep 4 (↑ 1)

4 – Koutetsujou no Kabaneri ep 3 (↓ 2)

5 – Joker Game ep 4 (↓ 2)

6 – Macross Delta ep 4 (↓ 1)

7 – Big Order ep 3 (↑ 6)

8 – Ushio to Tora S2 ep 4 

9 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu S2 ep 16 (↓ 2)

10 – Haifuri ep 4 (↑ 1)

11 – Bakuon!! ep 4 (↓ 2)

12 – Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge ep 4 

13 – Re: Zero Kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu ep 4 (↓ 12)

14 – Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn RE:0096 ep 4 (↓ 4)

15 – Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta? ep 4 (↑ 4)

16 – Anne Happy ep 4 (↓ 1)

17 – Mayoiga ep 4 (↓ 1)

18 – Bungou Stray Dogs ep 4 

19 – Kuma Miko ep 4 (↓ 2)

20 – Endride ep 4 

Assuming Sette also goes to their school, Akane's friend is the only person she could be... but why she'd cling to Rusian instead of her is a mystery.

Assuming Sette also goes to their school, Akane’s friend is surely the only person she could be… but why she’d cling to Rusian instead of her is a mystery.

Moving up:

I was not expecting a comedy series to take #1, especially in a season full of strong action shows with really great settings, but that third episode of Sakamoto desu ga? was by far the funniest thing I’ve seen in a long time. The first half, where Sakamoto proved himself too helpful a servant to a second year bully, was already very good, but it was his attempts to hide from Kubota’s mother in the second half that really got me. Loved the Winter Sonata drama parody as well.

Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta? remains amusing enough that it should be safe from mid-season dropping, though I still haven’t a clue how their club activities are supposed to help Ako appreciate the differences between real life and gaming… I like her character a lot, especially her borderline yandere tendencies, which I think we’ll be seeing more of now that another in-game love interest has appeared! Akane’s reaction to her friend discovering her gaming hobby was great, and I like most of what the president says and does as well.

Seems legit.

Seems legit.

Moving down:

Bakuon!! has been the highest scoring comedy on average at this early point in the season, though it leaves my Top 10 for the first time this week due to there being less jokes and more fanservice than usual. Highlights included further demonstration of Rin’s father’s outstanding parenting skills, Hane’s meeting with Biker Jesus, and Hijiri’s unlimited Ducatis. I’m still confused as to why this series’ average score is so low on MAL and A-P, when the individual episode scores and comments shower it with praise, but hopefully that won’t put people off from watching this gem.

Probably the least eventful of all the shows on my lineup, Kuma Miko‘s unique setting and style of comedy has me intrigued, but in all honesty it mostly went over my head this week. Machi, who usually seems to have limited knowledge of the modern world or urban lifestyle, suddenly turned out to be an expert on Shimomura chain stores and the clothes they sell? A lot of facts and dialogue, but nothing much of interest to me. I was expecting new character Hibiki to be another of those ‘looks like a delinquent, is actually nice’ types, so again I was surprised to see how aggressive she was towards Machi… but that’s not a positive thing! This episode needed more Natsu.

Natsu's superior knowledge about technology always makes me smile.

Natsu’s superior knowledge about technology always makes me smile.

General comments:

I wasn’t overly interested in Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge before the season began, as he just sounded so boring compared with Sakamoto. But Tanaka-kun has turned out to be quite amazing in his own right, with his hard work and dedication towards laziness and not standing out. He’s one of those characters who comes across as endearing, cute and adorable on screen, but who would be the most irritating guy ever if he was your real-life friend. Still, I really like his relationship with Ohta, and all the new characters they’ve introduced each week have been great so far.

Anne Happy is another series where I like the characters, but never know what to expect from the setting. It seemed a normal enough high school series in the first episode, albeit with a strange system of measuring and ‘curing’ bad luck. Then they introduced robo rabbit Timothy, and had the girls take part in a giant underground board game! Compared with the madness of the last couple of episodes, this week’s ‘find the flower’ was a bit underwhelming, but I like that Hibari’s group are interacting more with Ren and Hibiki.

Shiraishi's 'true form' caught me by surprise!

Shiraishi’s ‘true form’ caught me by surprise!

<< Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 3

3 Responses to Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 4

  1. mirrorpurple says:

    You should drop Kumamiko or Flying Witch over Shounen Maid to be honest.

    • I’m not watching Flying Witch, that didn’t make my list to begin with. 😛 As for Kumamiko, episode 4 was certainly weaker, but on the whole I’ve quite enjoyed it so far. Endride was the only other show in the firing line TBH, but being a plot-driven show in an interesting fantasy world, I felt it still had some potential.

      Shounen Maid must be doing something right, as it’s rated quite highly on most sites, but it just wasn’t appealing to me.

  2. […] << Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 4 […]

Leave a Reply

