Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 5

Week 5 already? Time is certainly flying, so this season must be good! But could it be better? As I usually do mid-season, I’ll be making some changes to my lineup (hopefully for the last time until Summer!), revisiting some of the shows I chose to leave out, and dropping some of the shows I now wish I’d left out. Will these latest episodes influence my decisions? Read on and find out…

Cleaning up blood and body parts? Sucks to be a child in a world overrun by Kabane...

Cleaning up blood and body parts? Sucks to be a child in a world overrun by Kabane…

1 – Koutetsujou no Kabaneri ep 4 (↑ 3)

2 – Kiznaiver ep 5 (↑ 1)

3 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable ep 5 (↓ 1)

4 – Macross Delta ep 5 (↑ 2)

5 – Ushio to Tora S2 ep 5 (↑ 3)

6 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu S2 ep 17 (↑ 3)

7 – Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge ep 5 (↑ 5)

8 – Haifuri ep 5 (↑ 2)

9 – Joker Game ep 5 (↓ 4)

10 – Sakamoto desu ga? ep 4 (↓ 9)

11 – Bakuon!! ep 5 

12 – Big Order ep 4 (↓ 5)

13 – Re: Zero Kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu ep 5 

14 – Bungou Stray Dogs ep 5 (↑ 4)

15 – Anne Happy ep 5 (↑ 1)

16 – Kuma Miko ep 5 (↑ 3)

17 – Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta? ep 5 (↓ 2)

18 – Mayoiga ep 5 (↓ 1)

19 – Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn RE:0096 ep 5 (↓ 5)

20 – Endride ep 5 

I can't wait for their showdown next week!

I can’t wait for their showdown next week!

Moving up:

Back at #1, Koutetsujou no Kabaneri had some fantastic fights this week! Brilliant animation, brilliant direction, brilliant soundtrack. And thankfully, despite last week’s cliffhanger ending, and the revelation that the Kabaneri need human blood to retain their sanity, the humans seem to have finally decided to trust them. Good to know that there are some interesting Kabane out there too, such as the skilled katana-wielding Wazatori, as mindless zombies can be a bit boring after a while. Bonus points for the random engineer with his Georgian wig and fabulous Engrish!

As often happens, I’ve been too busy discussing the new stuff to pay attention to our one ongoing series from the Winter season. A lot has happened in Ansatsu Kyoushitsu S2, the most significant of course being the flashbacks to Koro-sensei’s past. After Nagisa’s speech last week, I assumed the whole class would dedicate themselves to helping their teacher to survive, so it was interesting to hear some of the reasons why half the class were still pro-assassination! I mostly enjoyed this episode for the survival game, and for Nagisa and Karma’s cute falling-out, though~

Some background Gundam knowledge might have made Riddhe and Mineva's conversation more interesting, that's for sure.

Some background Gundam knowledge might have made Riddhe and Mineva’s conversation more interesting, that’s for sure.

Moving down:

Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn RE:0096 really isn’t gripping me. Maybe it’s because I’m largely unfamiliar with the Universal Century timeline, but most posts I’ve come across say that it’s perfectly accessible even without having watched any of the others (though more enjoyable if you have). Either way, the plot’s doing very little for me, I haven’t warmed to the characters at all (despite the pretty designs), so I find my brain switching off whenever there isn’t a mech battle going on. Needless to say, the fights and production values are still among the best of the season.

I feel that, objectively, Big Order is one of the worst shows of the season. Ridiculously fast pacing, characters and plot twists being introduced so frequently that it’s hard to tell what’s going on anymore, and some of the order abilities seem far too convenient. Despite all that, it is very entertaining to watch, unlike the coherent but boring Gundam. I enjoyed the interactions between adult-Murmur-lookalike rock lady and revenge-obsessed Kurenai Rin, while golems and monks grappling with nukes isn’t something you get to see often in other anime! This one’s safe.

Rin is no yandere Yuno, but I'm really starting to like her all the same.

Rin is no yandere Yuno, but I’m really starting to like her all the same.

General comments:

Kiznaiver is an odd show, but has so far managed to combine action, drama and bizarre comedy in equal measure, and to great effect. I’m finding the cast one of the more likable ones this season, though it’s clear that most of them still have secrets still to be revealed, Maki in particular. Character development and interactions are solid, which is good seeing as they’re central to the ‘connecting people through shared pain’ plot. Seems as though the Kizuna Program is aiming for a deeper connection than just that, however…

I think this is the end of the ride for Endride. While the main duo carried on bickering, we were treated to a flashback to side-character Demetrio’s past, where his Zoozian friend suffered one of the most ridiculous death scenes I’ve ever seen in anime. Other than that, the highlight was Shun’s terrible attempt to make Eljuia fall into a hole, which was at least amusing, if equally cringey. The characters are shallow and dull, and the plot really isn’t going anywhere fast. A lot of wasted potential, in my opinion.

Of all the different expressions, Hisomu's look of ecstasy made me smile the most. He's definitely my fave Kiznaiver.

Of all the different expressions, Hisomu’s look of ecstasy made me smile the most. He’s definitely my favourite Kiznaiver~

<< Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 4

7 Responses to Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 5

  1. Karandi says:

    I’m kind of amazed you made it this far through Endride. Thanks for your thoughts on this seasons anime. I also really enjoyed Karma and Nagisa’s falling out in Assassination Classroom and look forward to how this resolves.

    • Glad to hear people are interested in hearing my thoughts!

      I really like fantasy, and tend to have a bit more tolerance for weak/bad series so long as they’re set in an interesting or really pretty world (which Endride had). It’s the characters and plot that let it down, I only gave it as long as I did in the hopes that we’d see some decent development.

      • Karandi says:

        I was also pretty excited by the set up in Endride but I just can’t stand the two main characters. They both whine, a lot, and argue over absolutely nothing.

  2. I read a little of the Big Order manga, and it was not my cup of tea. Glad to hear that they manage to make it fun. The one manga I wish they’d animate from than mangaka is Hanako to Guuwa no Tera. But, I won’t hold my breath. Anime which are popular among the Japanese aren’t usually as popular with foreigners–always excepting smash hits like the Big Three, FMP, and Fairy Tail, of course.

    • I remember you recommending that in one of your manga posts – since then it’s gotten a digital release, but only the first three volumes, and Viz don’t seem to be in a hurry to release the 4th. Hopefully I’ll get to read it in its entirety some day!

      Aside from the recent trend in going back and animating popular old manga (such as Parasyte and Ushio to Tora), most anime are treated as big budget advertisements for the original manga/light novel series. Adapting the recently finished Big Order after Mirai Nikki’s success made good business sense, but I doubt they’ll go back and adapt all Esuno Sakae’s older works. Still, I could be wrong. 😛

  3. […] << Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 5 […]

  4. […] << Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 5 […]

Leave a Reply

