Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 11

Once again, apologies for the delay in posting, which was due to the lack of fansubs for Kuromukuro.

This will be my penultimate post of the Spring season, with next week’s being the usual extra-long summary of all the final episodes, and of the season as a whole. With that in mind, this I’ll try to focus on the shows that WON’T be featuring heavily in that final post, either because they’re continuing into next season, or simply sticking around a week longer than most of the others.

And to think I dropped this show at the start of the season!

And to think I dropped this show at the start of the season!

1 – Kuromukuro ep 11 (↑ 7)

2 – Koutetsujou no Kabaneri ep 10 

3 – Re:Zero Kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu ep 11 (↓ 2)

4 – Ansatsu Kyoushitsu S2 ep 23 

5 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable ep 11 (↑ 5)

6 – Bakuon!! ep 11 (↑ 1)

7 – Ushio to Tora S2 ep 11 (↓ 4)

8 – Sakamoto desu ga? ep 10 (↑ 1)

9 – Bungou Stray Dogs ep 11 (↓ 4)

10 – Kiznaiver ep 11 (↑ 4)

11 – Haifuri ep 11 (↑ 1)

12 – Joker Game ep 11 (↓ 1)

13 – Macross Delta ep 11 (↓ 7)

14 – Anne Happy ep 11 (↓ 1)

15 – Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge ep 11 

16 – Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta? ep 11 (↑ 1)

17 – Kuma Miko ep 11 (↓ 1)

18 – Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn RE:0096 ep 11 (↑ 1)

19 – Mayoiga ep 11 (↑ 1)

20 – Big Order ep 10 (↓ 2)

Apparently the ending and the whole incest thing are both anime-original... so someone should take responsibility for this mess!

Apparently the ending and the whole incest thing are both anime-original… so someone should take responsibility for this mess!

Ending:

Unsurprisingly, the final episode of Big Order couldn’t do much to save it. It was as badly paced as the rest of the series, which is a shame as I feel that had it been two seasons long like Mirai Nikki, and taken its time to develop its large cast of quirky characters, I feel I’d have really enjoyed it. Instead, virtually the whole cast felt like barely-present side characters, and even those that it did try to develop seemed to have undergone personality transplants by the end. Plot-wise, I was really looking forward to watching Eiji and Co. dominate and conquer Japan, and then the rest of the world, before the whole rushed plot about his father was forced in half-way through. That was the point at which I lost all interest. Wouldn’t recommend this series to anybody.

Moving up:

Episode 11 of Kuromukuro was worth the wait… but I’m considering leaving it out of my Summer rankings lineup, simply because of the delays associated with reliance on fansubs. That’s only if there are enough good new shows on offer though, and of course I’ll continue watching it regardless! This week’s episode had more good mech action, even better sword fighting, and further development of Kennosuke and Yukina’s relationship after he saves her from the alien Fusnarnie. Well deserving of its first #1 ranking, I care far more about even the minor characters in Kuromukuro than I ever did about anyone in Big Order.

Everything on this planet seems to be related to jellyfish!

Everything on this planet seems to be related to jellyfish!

Moving down:

Keeping with the theme of character development, and how important it is to a series, Macross Delta has done an okay job so far. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m watching it more for the visuals and music and jellyfish than anything else, but I do like the members of Walkure and the Delta Squad. However, Messer was probably the one I cared about the least, and his death was very predictable. That’s my excuse for this low rating for what was effectively his memorial and everyone else’s grieving episode… I’m heartless, I know. 😛 I was more interested in Windemere’s preparations for all-out war, but that was mostly set-up for the episodes to come.

A relatively slow episode this week from Ushio to Tora S2; we’ve already seen Ushio fall into despair when faced with Hakumen and later recover, and this time it was Tora’s turn to do the same after fighting alone and failing badly. Again like Ushio, he gained a suit of armour afterwards in the form of the petrified Azafuse! With both of them now suited up and reunited, in the right mindset for taking Hakumen down, and with the humans and youkai working together alongside them, I only hope Hakumen has another trick up his sleeve so that the ending isn’t quite as generic as it’s building up to be.

Hayabusa gives a new meaning to the term 'food fight'.

Hayabusa gives a new meaning to the term ‘food fight’.

General comments:

Sakamoto desu ga? is by far the series I’ve talked about the least this season, and I’m more or less forcing myself to find something to say about it now. I really enjoy it, as the generally high rankings suggest, but it’s one of those series that you’re better off watching yourself than reading reviews of. Sakamoto’s rendition of Der Erlkönig in the first half, and his fusion with Hayabusa in the second half really have to be experienced first-hand. 😛 Fortunately, there are still three episodes of this mad series left to go, albeit with the 13th now having to be a BD special due to delays from the earthquakes in April.

I’m thinking Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn RE:0096 might be another series that I won’t carry on into my Summer lineup; though it outlived Shounen Maid and Endride to avoid being dropped this season, they were hardly tough competition, and for some reason this action-packed and beautifully animated series still hasn’t won me over in the extra time I allowed it. It’s not flawed in the same way as Big Order and Mayoiga, but still often lost to them in the rankings simply because everything going on was of little interest to me, and I haven’t a clue why that is! Little point in keeping on a series that I’m not enjoying, but I’d be very interested to hear what others are making of it so far – especially people who, like me, have watched very few other Gundam series.

WHY AM I NOT ENTERTAINED!?!

WHY AM I NOT ENTERTAINED!?!

<< Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 10

One Response to Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 11

  1. […] << Spring 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 11 […]

Leave a Reply

