Autumn 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 9

Back to a full set of 20 series once again~

Since we’re now in December, expect to see my 2016 Top 12 OP and ED theme posts before long! For now though, the usual. 😛

I can't tell whether Hardgore Alice is this series' 'Homura' character. or part of some evil plot by Fav... I'm scared, and I don't know why!

I can’t tell whether Hardgore Alice is this series’ ‘Homura’ character. or part of some evil plot by Fav… I’m scared, and I don’t know why!

1 – Mahou Shoujo Ikusei Keikaku ep 9 (↑ 3)

2 – Drifters ep 9 

3 – JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure Part 4 ep 36 

4 – Bungou Stray Dogs S2 ep 9 (↓ 3)

5 – Shuumatsu no Izetta ep 9 (↑ 2)

6 – Flip Flappers ep 9 (↓ 1)

7 – Haikyuu!! S3 ep 9 (↑ 1)

8 – 3-gatsu no Lion ep 8 

9 – Yuri!!! on Ice ep 9 

10 – Hibike! Euphonium S2 ep 9 (↓ 4)

11 – All Out!! ep 9 (↑ 1)

12 – Lostorage incited WIXOSS ep 9 (↑ 1)

13 – Bubuki Buranki: Hoshi no Kyojin ep 9 (↑ 2)

14 – Bloodivores ep 9 (↑ 4)

15 – Occultic;Nine ep 9 (↓ 1)

16 – Udon no Kuni no Kiniro Kemari ep 9 (↓ 6)

17 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans S2 ep 9 (↓ 6)

18 – Show by Rock!! # ep 9 (↑ 1)

19 – Nanbaka ep 9 (↓ 2)

20 – ClassicaLoid ep 9 (↓ 4)

 

The downside to Haikyuu!! being all serious: less silly faces! :(

The downside to Haikyuu!! being all serious: less silly faces! 😦

Moving up:

Once again, all the big movers are series I’ve discussed regularly, so I’ll take the opportunity to look at Haikyuu!! S3 instead. The next episode will be the last of this short, match-focused series, and I’m glad they’ve kept the decisive match winning point for then – win or lose for Karasuno, it’s going to be close. The players on both sides are suffering from fatigue, their timeouts and substitutions are used up, but of course neither team is going to give up, and that’s what makes it so exciting! I hope the finale takes this series into the Top 5, but we’ll have to wait and see.

All Out!!‘s Kanagawa High School rugby team are far from ready for such high level tournaments just yet, but thanks to coach Komori (still my fave character), they are at least starting to score points against a team that came second in the prefectural preliminaries… got to start somewhere, I guess. 😛 If nothing else, their determination is starting to win over their club adviser, who was pushed away by the carefree, ‘play for fun’ team members of previous years. Gion is still benched, which has given us a great opportunity to get to know other members of the team a bit more.

All Out!! has picked up the slack in the funny face department, at least!

All Out!! has picked up the slack in the funny face department, at least!

Moving down:

My patience with Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans S2 finally ran out this week, landing it in the bottom 5. Sure, the animation is great, the characters are still likable, and the long-winded political discussions will probably go somewhere eventually… but if all the drama with Tekkadan’s Earth Branch couldn’t get me excited, then more eps of sitting around talking won’t do it either. I really hope this next storyline, which may see Tekkadan go on to govern the entirety of Mars, is a bit less predictable.

ClassicaLoid finally ends up at the bottom of the pile. I’ve given up on there being any interesting story behind the Classicaloids, why they were brought back and what they (or Bach at least) are trying to achieve, so I just take each ep as it comes. Some have been amusing, highlights being Schubert’s introductory episode, and last week’s ‘Girls Day Out’, but even those didn’t prove enough to escape the bottom 5, as I prefer plot and action after all. This week’s episode… wasn’t funny, and that’s all I can really say about it. Some late character development, but late is the key word.

'Gyoza' was pretty much Beethoven's entire character up until now, so without that. some development was absolutely essential!

‘Gyoza’ was pretty much Beethoven’s entire character up until now, so without that. some development was absolutely essential!

General comments:

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure Part 4‘s Yoshikage Kira leveled up, and thanks to Bites The Dust is surely OP now! Things have definitely improved since this villain became the main focus of Josuke’s group, and the series regained some direction. I have mixed feelings about Rohan’s death, he was never the nicest of characters, but I guess I was warming to him a little. And unless Hayato can defeat Kira alone, the rest of our heroes will meet the same fate! I loved his use of the cat-plant, I was wondering when that thing would reappear. Can’t wait to see where this goes next!

I feel I’m rating Yuri!!! on Ice lower than a lot of people still – I have to admire how well it introduced the two Yuris’ skating rivals in such little time, enough for me to understand their motivations, most of which are on the weird side. 😛 Animation quality also remains high, the performances are always nice to watch, if a little repetitive after a while. I guess I just prefer team sports as I’ve mentioned before; the scoring and qualification process for figure skating doesn’t mean much to me, so I have to just take their word for it that Katsuki did well and qualified.

...I think Yuri!!! on Ice beats the team sports this time, though!

…I think Yuri!!! on Ice beats the team sports this time, though!

<< Autumn 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 8

One Response to Autumn 2016 Episode Rankings – Week 9

Leave a Reply

