2016 Anime – Top 12 ED Themes

Merry Christmas Eve~ I left this far too late this year, but at least now I’ll only have to worry about Autumn’s Week 12 post and my Top 12 Anime of 2016 list before the new year…

Anyway, here’s my favorite EDs of the year. As usual, Youtube linksare in the titles.

Maybe this would have been more appropriate for the OP one, which actually featured SB69... ah well. (art by yamyom)

Maybe this would have been more appropriate for the OP one, which actually featured SB69… ah well. (art by yamyom)

12: Arslan Senki: Fuujin Ranbu (“blaze” by Kalafina)

horriblesubs-arslan-senki-s2-03-720p-mkv_snapshot_24-37_2016-12-24_21-15-18

Obligatory Kalafina… but right at the bottom. Maybe because it reminds me of Sprinter, but isn’t quite as good; maybe because Fuujin Ranbu was so short, so I didn’t hear it weekly for very long. I don’t know, but it didn’t stick in my mind the same way the group’s earlier themes have.

 

11: Berserk (2016) (“Meimoku no Kanata” by Nagi Yanagi)

 

horriblesubs-berserk-01-720p-mkv_snapshot_22-01_2016-12-24_21-17-22

Both the Japanese and English versions are great, but since I usually find myself listening to the latter more often, that’s what I’ve linked to here.

10: Kuma Miko (“KUMAMIKO DANCING” by Machi Amayadori (Natsumi Hioka) & Natsu Kumai (Hiroki Yasumoto) feat. Kumaide-mura no Minasan)

maxresdefault

Another fun song by the characters of the show themselves. This catchy tune might have been the only reason I picked up the lacklustre Kuma Miko. 😛

 

9: Occultic;Nine (“Open your eyes” by Asaka)

maxresdefault-1

Yes, Norn9 and Occultic;Nine both taking 9th for OP and ED respectively was a coincidence. Didn’t even notice that until afterwards, when I needed something to write here. 😛

 

8: Lostorage incited WIXOSS (“undeletable” by Cyua)

horriblesubs-lostorage-incited-wixoss-10-720p-mkv_snapshot_22-26_2016-12-24_21-21-30

Another from the current season… I like both this and Occultic;Nine’s ED, but I do wonder whether I’ll still be listening to them in almost a year’s time, a test that the Winter and Spring season EDs on this list have clearly passed.

 

7: Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn RE:0096 ( “bL∞dy f8 -eUC-” by SawanoHiroyuki[nZk]:Aimer)

horriblesubs-mobile-suit-gundam-unicorn-re-0096-21-720p-mkv_snapshot_22-54_2016-12-24_21-23-28

It wasn’t long after the half way point and switch to this ED theme that I dropped the series; as a result, I forgot all about it. Good thing I go back and check every series just to be on the safe side, as this is too good to leave out!

 

6: Bubuki Buranki (“ANGER/ANGER” by MYTH & ROID)

horriblesubs-bubuki-buranki-03-720p-mkv_snapshot_23-18_2016-12-24_21-25-16

Back in January, I was convinced this would be my #1 ED of 2016, but clearly the year was just getting started… feels bad having to pick this over Shizuru’s ‘so beautiful ;-)’, but favourite characters aside, this is the better song.

 

5: JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable (“I WANT YOU” by Savage Garden)

horriblesubs-jojos-bizarre-adventure-diamond-is-unbreakable-21-720p-mkv_snapshot_23-08_2016-12-24_21-29-18

Not one I knew beforehand, as was the case with ‘Walk Like an Egyptian’, but I’m glad I’ve heard it now!

 

4: Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu (“STYX HELIX” by MYTH & ROID)

horriblesubs-re-zero-kara-hajimeru-isekai-seikatsu-05-720p-mkv_snapshot_20-48_2016-12-24_21-30-46

A double entry for MYTH & ROID! Again, back in Spring I’d have have predicted this to be taking the top position, but it wasn’t to be.

 

3: Flip Flappers (“FLIP FLAP FLIP FLAP” by TO-MAS feat.Chima)

horriblesubs-flip-flappers-05-720p-mkv_snapshot_22-36_2016-12-24_21-32-11

As with my #3 OP theme, here’s one that just fits the series beautifully. Lovely animation, cute lyrics and vocals, I can’t get enough of it~

 

2: Macross Delta ( “Rune ga Pikatto Hikattara” by Walküre)

gg_macross_delta_-_03_f342ecea-mkv_snapshot_22-24_2016-12-24_21-33-52

I know I preferred STYX HELIX to this back when they were both airing, but it’s Freyja’s energetic performance that I find myself playing the most these days, by a long shot!

 

1: Mahou Shoujo Ikusei Keikaku (“DREAMCATCHER” by nano)

horriblesubs-mahou-shoujo-ikusei-keikaku-06-720p-mkv_snapshot_23-47_2016-12-24_21-36-15

If you were expecting Mayoiga or Taboo Tattoo, sorry to disappoint. 😛 DREAMCATCHER breaks tradition, allowing a series I actually liked to place 1st for once! Again, I might be biased somewhat since this song’s so recent, but who cares. It’s my list!

Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

