Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 3

Looks like the usual big ranking drops for the comedy series have all begun at once, as the more plot-driven shows finally get into gear… There’s not much to say about most of them aside from the fact I found them less funny this week, so I’ll ignore some of the larger drops and discuss some series I’ve hardly mentioned instead.

Now that's more like it from Iron-Blooded Orphans!

Now that’s more like it from Iron-Blooded Orphans!

1 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans S2 ep 15 (↑ 4)

2 – Kuzu no Honkai ep 3 (↑ 6)

3 – Little Witch Academia TV ep 3 

4 – Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu 2 ep 3 

5 – Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 ep 3 (↓ 4)

6 – Yowamushi Pedal: New Generation ep 3 (↑ 6)

7 – Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon ep 3 (↓ 5)

8 – Gabriel DropOut ep 3 (↓ 2)

9 – 3-gatsu no Lion ep 15 (↓ 2)

10 – Masamune-kun no Revenge ep 3 

11 – ClassicaLoid ep 16 (↑ 2)

12 – Urara Meirochou ep 3 (↓ 3)

13 – ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka ep 3 (↑ 2)

14 – All Out!! ep 16 (↓ 3)

15 – Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen ep 3 (↓ 1)

16 – Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari ep 3 (↑ 2)

17 – Onihei ep 3

18 – Chaos;Child ep 3 (↓ 2)

I'm trying to keep an open mind, there are different types of love and relationships and all... but that smile seems to be telling me I shouldn't like this character!

I’m trying to keep an open mind, there are different types of love and relationships and all… but that smile seems to be telling me I shouldn’t like this character!

Moving up:

Wow, the drama certainly kicked up a few notches in this week’s Kuzu no Honkai! With the basic character introduction out of the way for our main duo, it was clearly time to make things even more complicated for them, by having Hanabi kiss Ecchan, while Mugi’s love Akane seems to be courting more than one guy, something that he refuses to see out of sheer love-blindness. We got some good backstory for him as well, showing that he’d been in a similar non-relationship before the current one with Hanabi. More than anything though, kudos to the show for not shying away from showing gay kisses or quite graphic sex talk. Intense, depressing, and far more interesting to me than your usual flowery romance anime.

At the other end of the rankings, we have the anything-but-original Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari. The main cast look and act like your stereotypical DnD party, you can tell immediately which one is the fighter, the ranger, the cleric etc. from their clothing, and they talk and act exactly as you’d expect them to. But, I’m fine with that. I play these kinds of cRPGs, and my party members often have less personality since they’re all played by me. 😛 If anything I find the lack of complexity almost charming, though action/fantasy is pretty much the only genre that could get away with it for me. The series still looks nice enough (though the quality in the fight scenes has certainly dropped from ep 1), and having one of their allies go over to the ‘dark side’, while predictable, is always an interesting development. I can’t justify rating Chain Chronicle highly, but I’m highly unlikely to drop it mid-season.

Yumi-chan was brilliant. :D

Yumi-chan was brilliant, I hope she ends up tagging along! 😀

Moving down:

I’m surprised at the lack of rugby in All Out!! 16 episodes in, and they’ve only had the one game against another team; most of the early episodes were just practice, and recently we haven’t even seen much of that, as the focus turns towards character development and team/relationship building (this time a surprise party at coach Komori’s place). These episodes have been fun in their own way, and I like the fact that everyone on the team is inexperienced and has learned a lot from Komori, not just the complete newbies like Gion. However, I am hoping that we’ll actually get to see some matches before the series ends in 9 episodes! At any rate, I look forward to seeing in the upcoming episodes what the demon coach’s idea of a summer training camp looks like. 😮

Things aren’t looking good for Chaos;Child right now. I like horror/mystery series, and this one certainly earns full marks when it comes to gruesome death scenes – once again the guy puking up sumo stickers was almost too disgusting for me to watch! But, it’s just so rushed. I literally don’t care about the main characters, most of the early attention was on the plot and the mysteries instead of on developing them (the opposite problem to All Out!!, and apparently the bigger one for me); even now that they’re trying to make us care about Nono and Takuru, I’m not feeling much. The dialogue really isn’t anything special. I haven’t given up hope though, still early days.

To get up and continue the rant after that... there's far more to Sukeroku than his usual goofy persona.

To get up and continue the rant after that… there’s far more to Sukeroku than his usual goofy persona.

General comments:

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu 2 is one of the first things to air each week, and when I watched this third episode, I was convinced it would rank #1… only for three other series to up their game as well and knock it back to its usual spot. Sukeroku’s rant at the yakuza boss who sent him to prison and who fathered Konatsu’s child was amazing; a great use of his rakugo skills, even if he didn’t know what half of the insults he was spouting actually meant! Some great drama, and unlike the first series where I wasn’t a fan of the romance and wished it’d focus on the rakugo instead, I find myself far more interested in Konatsu and Sukeroku’s relationship – nice to see her reaffirm the fact that she considers him the father. Yakumo’s out-of-character performance at the end was the icing on the cake.

What can I say about Little Witch Academia TV? I don’t usually rate episodic shows that highly, but the weekly misadventures of Atsuko, Sucy and Lotte have been consistently enjoyable so far. The great character interactions, Harry Potter-esque fantasy setting, high production values and the unpredictability about what will happen next all appeal to me greatly, and I loved every minute of this week’s broom relay. Very fun, if not at all deep in terms of the characters or the plot.

Possible fave character of the season, right here.

Possible fave character of the season, right here.

<< Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 2

3 Responses to Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 3

  1. I’m also enjoying Chain Chronicle despite how unoriginal it all is. At least, they try to compensate by giving us great animation. I like the characters, and I also give fantasy shows a lot of leeway.

    The worst part about Chaos; Child is how sadistic they made the murders. Chaos; Head pales in comparison in terms of gore, and it was pretty violent itself. But, the sequel has far fewer lighthearted moments or an anime waifu to distract us from the grim killings.

    • Chain Chronicle hasn’t gotten much better 6 weeks onwards, but it’s still watchable enough. 😛

      Chaos;Child has improved somewhat, though I agree that the deaths are horrendous. Hard to watch at times, and I’m hardly squeamish.

Leave a Reply

